We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated hotel”
Review of Hotel Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Budapest
Ranked #164 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Ardingly
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dated hotel”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

My stay was due to having dental work in Budapest so I wasnt that bothered about the hotel to be honest. In its hayday this hotel would have been wonderful with very nice finishes, features and funiture. Unfortunatley it is now very dated and needs a lot of work to get it up to a reasonable standard. I had room 1303 and had a great view out of the window that could not be closed due to having no window catch fitted to it, the room was OK, clean and tidy and everything you expect from a 2 star hotel. The bathroom was clean but showed signs of mildew around the seals.
The breakfast as always in Budapest was very interesting i.e the usual pickled cauliflower but that aside you could always find plenty to eat, the fruit juice is not juice but what do you expect for 37 euros a night.
What is good are the staff they are very helpful and very attentive, its a busy hotel with coach loads of people arriving on mass at all times of the day and the night but the staff always managed a smile.
What is bad are the prosiitutes that offer their sexual services, this made sitting on the hotel patio a rather amusing experience as the prostitutes made their way around their unsuspecting next victim! and as this was the only place along with the reception area to get free wifi you kind of have to put up with it. They werent rude and took no for an answer so not a major issue.
As the hotel are fully aware of whats going, as aparently, charges can be added to your bill it is kind of up to the hotel to clean up their act.
Having said all of this you can do a lot worse for 37 euro a night.
Many thanks

Room Tip: Go High, quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sinners72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    297
    244
    113
    101
See reviews for
167
275
74
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I used metro to reach the city center and it wasn't that close. The reception was helpful and the room service was ok too, but rooms and and the location of the hotel are not good for a tourist.
But don't forget to try the croissants at the breakfast, I was surprised to realize how delicious they were.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ece N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MezeyTamas, Manager at Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.
Our staff and the croissants are always waiting to welcome you back in the Hotel Budapest.

Kind regards,

Tamás Mezey
Operations Manager - Hotel Budapest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Budapest hotels

Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We booked for 5 nights. First night the air con. didn't work and it was 33 degrees celcius! I went to front desk. He explained "Sorry we have technical problems with the air conditioner". "OK can we open the window please?" I asked. "NO! That is not permitted!". First time I swore to anyone in 10 years! The next morning all sweaty with bags under our eyes from lack of sleep (my daughter slept on the floor because the sofa bed was so uncomfortable). Then came a terrible breakfast; cheap slices of no-name brand processed meat that I wouldnt feed to our dog, let alone people - yuk! Lots of boiled eggs, actually the scrambled eggs were eatable. As a family we decided to check out. The manager asked us to please re-consider, he gave us a new room with air con. - that surpriingly worked. OK - we decided to give them one more chance. We shouldn't have!
The positives are few: It is super cheap and the rooms are clean. Caters primarily for bus tours 4 to 5 bus loads come in every evening and very quickly smiles change to frowns in the lobby. The negatives - here is the list;
1) NO WIFI - in rooms. If you want it you have to pay 3,300 HUF (11 Euro) per machine. So my kids iPads and my laptop would cost us 10,000 HUF (33 euro) per night, if we wanted internet.
2) Each room has a kettle and two cups BUT NO coffee, sugar or tea bags. So i went and bought some packet coffee. Came back and realised there is no-where to plug the kettle except the floor!
3) The showers pulse hot and cold water; one second hot, next cold, then hot then cold again.
4) Could not find the front desk number - so had to walk down to ask about air conditioning and WIFI.
5) Using the WIFI in the lobby decided to order a coffee. The sign on the table says "See reception to order". Went to reception and asked him for a laitte. He said "You want a coffee? Well walk upstairs go to the coffee bar, order it and bring your own coffee back down if you want it." As I turned around the recpetion staff laughed at my obviously stupid request for a coffee.
6) No ashtrays at entrance of hotel so everyone throws their butts near the stairs - hasn't been cleaned for atleast a week! How difficult can it be to put a large ashtray near the stairs?
7) No laundry bags in rooms.
8) Elevators: Really slow and are used by service staff even though they have their own service elevator (perhaps their elevator isnt working - dont know).
The list continues.... we checked out after our second night. It is the WORST Hotel in Budapest. We now call it "Hotel Crappiest" Trip advisor should start a new award "The Worst Hotel" Hotel Budapest would win this award for sure!!!!! Just avoid it......

Room Tip: Find another hotel and avoid being disappointed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 101Tourism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MezeyTamas, Manager at Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear Guest,

With regret I have read your comments and experiences during your stay in our Hotel Budapest.

Of course it is the policy of our company to have all our guests to enjoy their stay in our hotels, however as it looks we have failed several times during your recent stay with us, and the services were not at all according to our policies and procedures.

I would like to apologize for all happenings, however to see the details is equally important as it is the basis in order to improve our procedures and/or focus our training efforts. After our investigation we will take the necessary steps immediately.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write to us and detailing the experiences during your stay.

Tamás Mezey
Group Quality Manager
Operations Manager - Hotel Budapest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

I hated it its one of the worst hotels I've been to. On the first night I sleeped on the floor beacause the couch bed was so dad.
In the room 5 the air conditioner was broken so it was very hot. In the rooms there is NO WIFI you have to go down to the lobby to access to it. The food was poor. Over all it is very cheep, and I think it could not be a four star hotel.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MezeyTamas, Manager at Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Guest,

As the Operations Manager of the hotel I must express my deepest regret and say that I am sorry, moreover I am extremely sorry that after all my colleagues efforts to make your stay more pleasant you had such a bad time with us.
Danubius Hotels – as the leading spa & wellness company in Hungary – has achieved several awards and certificates acknowledging highest standards and good service. The feed-back of our customers, clients, guests is therefore from greatest importance for us, as we can immediately focus on concrete deficiencies and improve all fields of our services without any delay.
Having read your comments and the importance of the case I have ordered a special examination without delay. In the course of this we have interviewed all colleagues concerned. The investigation revealed several shortcomings that needed immediate attention.
We do hope, that we will work out all the necessary changes very soon.

Sincerely Yours

Tamás Mezey
Operation Manager - Hotel Budapest
Quality Manager - Danubius Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bacolod, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Our group stayed in this hotel early May 2013. Our agent specifically stated a no smoking floor for our group but when we got there. They placed us all on a smoking floor.

- The rooms were cramped
- The bathroom wasn't clean enough. Think dirt spots here and there.
- The bedding might have had mites. I had bites and red spots when I woke up.
- The air conditioning was non existent.
- The cleaning staff just barge into your room without knocking.
- The door lock was irritating. The room's key chain was big, clunky and heavy. First time I have encountered this in my travels.
- The hotel had only 2 lifts. It took ages to get from floor to floor and when it does reach your floor it's usually full of people and luggage. We had to use the stairs a number of times. We were on the 11th floor and I was with senior citizens!
- The breakfast buffet. Well... It was a race to get something to eat. Better be fast or you will not get anything nice to eat.

The hotel was somewhat full when we stayed there so a lot of the problems we encountered was due to the fact that they just couldn't service that many guests efficiently. Specifically, the lifts and the buffet.

The hotel pictures on this page is not what you get. It's old and not as clean. This hotel should not even be marketed as a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wt1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MezeyTamas, Manager at Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments via Tripadvisor.

In almost 40 hotels of the Danubius Hotels Group operating in five countries, the requirements in connection with our Guests are regulated by standards of operation and services. These standards, the observation of which is obligatory for all our employees, list about 2700 professional criteria and ensure the satisfaction of our Guests, with the exception of certain rare cases.

Having read your comments and considering the importance of the case I have ordered a special examination without delay. After it we will make the necessary actions immediately.

Thank you and best regards,

Tamás Mezey
Group Quality Manager
Operations Manager - Hotel Budapest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Nice hotel! Maybe not a 4 star hotel (3.9? :D), but if you are planning a trip to Budapest, you should consider this one!. A real gem! I could "complain" about few things, but since i didn't complain them to hotel staff when i was there, i wont do it here either :) If visiting Budapest at the summer time, and staying in this hotel, try to get a room which is facing Gellert Hill, maybe a bit towards right, and screw the parlament view - the room can/will get quite hot :) And big thanks to guys in the reception - they were very helpful!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiLaSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MezeyTamas, Manager at Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Guests from Turku, Finland,

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We read them with a big smile on our face...
We all hope, that you will visit us again in the near future.

With best regards,

Tamás Mezey
Group Quality Manager - Danubius Hotels Group
Operations Manager - Hotel Budapest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We booked this hotel thinking that we managed to obtain a bargain price for a four star hotel. Bad mistake. Looking at the comments on tripadvisor we did not expect much. The expectation was of a clean, older type of a hotel with good service. The professional pictures and description at Daunubius Hotels website looked promising: relatively well furnished room, interesting shape of the building, and good connection to the sights. The reality proved to be far worse. Although the outside and connection to public transport was o.k. and allowed us to take full advantage of the beautiful Budapest, the inside of the hotel was a disaster. To name just a few negatives: room furniture resembled that of a skiing lodge – worse than in a hostel, the carpet was totally worn out everywhere, there was dirt all-over (for example under the flushing button at the toilet there was so much dirt that it looked like this part was not cleaned for ages), curtains in the room showed no washing, there was sponge coming out of arm chairs in the lobby. The positive was a free Wi-Fi in the lobby, but if you wanted to print something there was a high charge to use the computer booth. On the other hand the employees at the front desk were very helpful and sympathetic. All in all it is a mystery to us why it has a four stars rating. In all cases in our opinion the hotel should be thoroughly cleaned and refurbished.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoHey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MezeyTamas, Manager at Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear Guest,

With regret I have read your comments and experiences during your stay in our Hotel.

Of course it is the policy of our company to have all our guests to enjoy their stay in our hotels, however as it looks we have failed several times during your recent stay with us, and the services were not at all according to our policies and procedures.

I would like to apologize for all happenings, however to see the details is equally important as it is the basis in order to improve our procedures and/or focus our training efforts. After our investigation we will take the necessary steps immediately.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write to us and detailing the experiences during your stay.

Tamás Mezey
Group Quality Manager
Operations Manager - Hotel Budapest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Danubius Hotel Arena
#117 of 334 in Budapest
1,233 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Hotel Hungaria City Center
Hotel Hungaria City Center
#133 of 334 in Budapest
1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Benczur Hotel
#160 of 334 in Budapest
478 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#46 of 334 in Budapest
596 reviews
Hotel Chesscom
#105 of 334 in Budapest
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Budapest

Property: Hotel Budapest
Address: Szilagyi Erzsebet fasor 47, Budapest 1026, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at one of the capital’s iconic buildings! Hotel Budapest – formerly called Round Hotel – caused a major stir as soon as it was built. The high-rise circular building full of windows was considered an architectural oddball, and so in time became one of the symbols of Budapest and a favourite with visitors. With its 15 stories and 64 metres in height, it’s still the tallest hotel in the country. From its higher floors, you get a breathtaking panoramic view of the various landmarks of the Buda and Pest sides of the city. The hotel, located in green surroundings at the foot of the Buda hills, is an excellent choice whether you want to go sightseeing, or you’ve come for a professional event, or if you want to go for a walk in the Buda hills: the buses or trams stopping in front of the hotel will take you to the M2 metro in Széll Kálmán Square in a few minutes, and also to many nice place in Buda, without having to change. The cog-wheel railway, a major tourist attraction in itself, stops right opposite the hotel, offering easy access to the Buda hills. The nearby Városmajor park is a great place for long walks, jogging and other outdoor exercise. Those arriving by car or coach can park their vehicle in the car park in front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing