We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our unforgettable trip!”
Review of Hotel Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Budapest
Ranked #152 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our unforgettable trip!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning of out trip to Europe so this one was the first on our way. We left it very pleased and satisfied. Rooms were clean and well-equiped. Breakfasts were delicious! And the most important thing was that the patient and sincere stuff was always ready to help you. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yuliya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Csaba_Pokol, Manager at Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Guest!

Thank you for taking your time to write down your experiences about your stay at Hotel Budapest!

We are happy to know that you were satisfied with our hotel!

We hope that those great breakfasts and friendly staff contributed to the start of a great journey!

Thank you once again for your visit, we hope to see you again in our Hotel Budapest!

With kind regards,

Csaba Pokol
Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    265
    219
    98
    85
See reviews for
141
254
66
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I would like to stay in this hotel. This hotel had friendly staff , a good breakfast . It did not have a minibar but thats okay. If you are looking for a late night coffee, you have to go the nearby student discos which may be a bit noisy. When I checked in the fitness center was under renovation . But overall it was a pleasant stay in the hotel. The rooms have very good views of Budapest Heros square across the Danube. One tip for trvellers , whi visit Budapest in general, If you are paying in cash, pay only in Forints. The reason being is that for a dinner of 3000 forints you can be charged 16 Auros when the actual price is less than 10. The location is nice near a main square , garden and lots of restaurants around.

Room Tip: While using restaurants , pay in Forints only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amolsainis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Csaba_Pokol, Manager at Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Guest!

Thank you for your review of Hotel Budapest!

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Hope to see you again soon in Hotel Budapest!

With kind regards,

Csaba Pokol
Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Good location, good price, friendly staff, unusual shape. Aircon is not so cool and it is not great to ask you to pay extra for WIFI when you can get free WIFI almost everywhere in the city. I found a picture of my brother in the book they supplied about Hungary.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pau l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Csaba_Pokol, Manager at Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing this review of your stay in Hotel Budapest!
We are happy know that overall you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Regarding the air conditioning our best advice is to inform the hotel staff immediately, so my colleges can repair it or offer you a room change if the repair work can not be made in a few minutes.
We are happy to inform you that we offer free WiFi internet to all our guests in the pubic areas of our hotel (lobby, bar, restaurant), unfortunately this network is not available in the rooms.

Once again thank you for your interest in Hotel Budapest, we hope that you will choose us for your future visit to Budapest!

Best regards,

Csaba Pokol
Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We visited Danubius Hotel Budapest for 2 nights just before Christmas on an organized trip. The hotel is big, a bit old-fashioned, but providing good value for money. We were on the 7th floor, in a cozy and perfectly warm room, though the weather was cool and misty. There was no noise from outside, as the room was looking over a quiet neighbourhood and even had a distant view to the Parliament. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious. There is perfect transport connection with the central parts of Buda and Pest by tram or the metro from Szell Kalman ter (hope I wrote it correctly) for those who want to trip on their own and in Mammuth shopping centre there are various fast food restaurants, nice shops, bookshops and a big supermarket.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosi83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Csaba_Pokol, Manager at Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Rosi,

Thank you for leaving a review on your stay at our hotel!

We are happy to know that our hotel and services were up to your expectations, and you were able to take those great pictures from the room!

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel!

With kind regards,

Csaba Pokol
Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We booked the hotel shortly before the silvester night /New Year's Eve/ because many others were fully booked or ridiculously expensive. Reviews were mixed, so we were not sure about our choice. However, the hotel was comfortable and without any serious issues.

Pros:
We liked the room. It was of a decent size. The room was reconstructed, comfortable, warm, and super clean. Beds and mattresses were really good. The check-in and check-out were quick and efficient and staff was friendly. Free internet in the lobby worked well. The location is on the Buda site, but with easy access to more touristy parts of the city.

Cons:
The hotel was older and needed some major investment. I.e. soundproofing - the noice from the street was always present (if you are easily disturbed at night, you may ask the room facing the backyard, but probably you rather choose a different hotel). It was fidgety to set the warm water right. Two times the towels were OK, once they were worn-out. No free internet in the room and the price for the paid one was crazy.

Conclusion is that the Budapest Hotel was a well-managed hotel, good for comfortable tourist stay (it was full of well-off Ukrainian tourists). It needed a major investment to compete with newer 4* hotels.

Helpful?
3 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Csaba_Pokol, Manager at Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us!
We are happy to know that overall you were satisfied with your stay at Hotel Budapest. We are working hard to improve those fields what you mentioned, to offer our best for our valued guests!

With kind regards,

Csaba Pokol
Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We had a decent sized room on the 13th floor with a SPECTACULAR view. We booked through hotels.com and got a great deal, much cheaper than we would have paid had we paid upon arriving. The hotel staff was very kind, friendly and courteous. Our room was very clean, and the hotel is close to trams that can take you to the heart of the city (the hotel itself is located on the Buda side of the city). There's no wifi in the room unless you wish to pay, but there is wifi in the main lobby which worked fine.

My criticisms: Traffic from the outside can be loud at times, and as our room was unbearably warm, we had to have the window open, which did not help keep the noise level down. The free version of breakfast (coffee & croissants) was out of croissants 2 of 4 mornings. During our stay it appeared that there were several classes (or one bus-full) of teenagers also staying there who were extremely loud in the lobby and would often congregate in the halls, and the staff did not appear to do anything to remedy this, even after the fire alarm was set off at 11:30 pm one night. Had we paid the true amount for the room and not the discounted hotels.com price I would have been disappointed.

Room Tip: Room 1308 has a magnificent view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STrojan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Csaba_Pokol, Manager at Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing down your experiences about your stay at Hotel Budapest!

We are happy to know that you appreciated the scenic view from our room!
As you mentioned or hotel might be a bit off from the city centre but due to the excellent public transportation (tram stops right at the entrance of the hotel) the downtown can be reached in 15 minutes.

We are sorry about the inconvenience what some of our guests caused, please be assured that we learned a lot from that event and we are more careful when allowing groups to stay at our hotel.

Once again thank you for your review of Hotel Budapest!

With kind regards,

Csaba Pokol
Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The overall impression I have of this hotel, is one that it is just on its last legs. The hotel is clean and the staff are very helpful and the view from the room is amazing. If you only need a stopover then this hotel will suit you fine. If however, you are staying for a week, then you may want to reconsider. Most people at this hotel for more than one night are staying to access treatment of some kind. In this kind of situation you need a hotel which provides something more than just somewhere to sleep as you spend the majority of your time at the hotel. The rooms have a TV with one English channel and nothing else. The decor in the rooms is reminiscent of 1970's heavily varnished, pine school furniture. Wifi is not available in the rooms, so there is your entertainment. Is it really so expensive to supply free wifi to a room!!!! Wifi is available in the foyer.....if you want to spend your time lounging there. There are no tea/coffee facilities in the rooms.....another thing I find useless given the rest of the facilities in the hotel. The noise from sirens goes on all day and all night making sleep difficult. The onslaught of overnight bus tours made breakfast something else. Every morning it was a challenge to find a table. My partner has celiac disease, and before booking the hotel I specifically asked about gluten free options. I was assured there was no problem as an alternative was available. The breakfast consisted of a variety of breads, cereals, and little else. When the staff were asked about a gluten free option they were very confused....then returned with some cardboard slices. Eggs, fruit and croissants were constantly empty and almost never refilled. there is a flurry of staff running around at breakfast looking busy, but nothing seems to change. Possibly the worst breakfast I have ever experienced. A very disappointing stay at this hotel, which will never be repeated. This is not a 4 star hotel, either that or Hungary has a different star rating from the rest of the world.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reni_p_n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Csaba_Pokol, Manager at Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your stay at our hotel!

We are sorry to hear that we were not able to fulfil your expectations!
Please be sure that we take every review seriously, and are constantly working to offer better services!

We hope that you will trust us again, and we will not miss the chance to correct the image what you have of our hotel.

With kind regards,

Csaba Pokol
Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Budapest hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#46 of 333 in Budapest
576 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Hotel Hungaria City Center
Hotel Hungaria City Center
#133 of 333 in Budapest
1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Danubius Hotel Arena
#114 of 333 in Budapest
1,106 reviews
OnRiver Hotels - MS Maribelle
#115 of 333 in Budapest
49 reviews
Leonardo Hotel Budapest
#124 of 333 in Budapest
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Budapest

Property: Hotel Budapest
Address: Szilagyi Erzsebet fasor 47, Budapest 1026, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at one of the capital’s iconic buildings! Hotel Budapest – formerly called Round Hotel – caused a major stir as soon as it was built. The high-rise circular building full of windows was considered an architectural oddball, and so in time became one of the symbols of Budapest and a favourite with visitors. With its 15 stories and 64 metres in height, it’s still the tallest hotel in the country. From its higher floors, you get a breathtaking panoramic view of the various landmarks of the Buda and Pest sides of the city. The hotel, located in green surroundings at the foot of the Buda hills, is an excellent choice whether you want to go sightseeing, or you’ve come for a professional event, or if you want to go for a walk in the Buda hills: the buses or trams stopping in front of the hotel will take you to the M2 metro in Széll Kálmán Square in a few minutes, and also to many nice place in Buda, without having to change. The cog-wheel railway, a major tourist attraction in itself, stops right opposite the hotel, offering easy access to the Buda hills. The nearby Városmajor park is a great place for long walks, jogging and other outdoor exercise. Those arriving by car or coach can park their vehicle in the car park in front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing