We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good & confortable stay in Budapest!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Medosz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Medosz Hotel
Ranked #76 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good & confortable stay in Budapest!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

My wife and me were visiting Budapest from 17-19 Sep 2012 for three nights and we were staying with the Medosz Hotel.

This is very convenient that there is having so many supermarkets, pubs, food store, Cafe, restaurant within a short walking distance. The hotel is just 3 mins away from Metro statin and very closed to the tram station.

We were given a double room at 8/F facing to the inner garden therefore this is surprisingly quiet at night, we felt so good especially in a busy city like Budapest.

The bedroom is very clean and new, it seems this is just finished from a renovation. Room was clean, toilet was nice...everything is up to our satifaction.

Breakfast was in buffet style and with lots of food variety. Food was fairly good although some of them can be presented in a nicer way......

It is not costly and we only paid for $62 euro per night...(in compare with other similar grade hotel nearby.....they were asking for $80-90 euro per night)

It was a pleasant and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EH613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedoszH, Manager at Medosz Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Dear EH613,

Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear, that you enjoied the stay in our hotel, and that you have such a good opinion about the hotel, we hope we can welcome you again next time you visit Budapest.

Medosz Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    228
    68
    17
    5
See reviews for
88
183
41
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kecskemet, Hungary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

At the hotel when we arrived, thay said, they have a maintanence problem, we thught we will not get a room, but they said, instead of geting a normal double room we will get a nicer room. We thought it is just what they say, so we would have no complaints, but surprisingly we did get a very nice room on the top floor, with a balcony, and a nice view. The staff was very friendly, at breakfast, there was a big group when we arrived to the restorant, so we had to wait for the kichen staff to refill a few thing, and I felt like there are not enough fresh vegetables, but the rest was very good. It is not too cheap for our budget, but we wanted to be close to the center, so we would not need to travel too much with bus, or tram, within the city. It has a good location. If you have only a few days in Budapest it is a good place to stay.

Room Tip: For those who are on their honeymoon: ask for the rooms on the top floor! :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karolina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedoszH, Manager at Medosz Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Dear Karolina B,

Thank you for shareing you experience with us. We are pleased to hear, that you had a good time, and that we were able to make your honeymoon even memorable as it already was.
We are trying to provide the best for our guests, and it is important to us to get positive feedback from the guests.
We hope next time you visit you will choose Medosz again, and thank you one more time for staying in our Hotel.

Medosz Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

We visited Budapest in September and stayed in Medosz for a week. If you are not in pursuit of luxury and if you are interested in exploring the city and its sights, Medosz will undoubtedly suit you. The location is marvellous. The area is teeming with shops and cafes, sights and museums. It is quite noisy even at night. But we enjoyed it, as this noise only added to the whole atmosphere of the city. The room was ok, however it looked a bit like an old flat. For example, we needed to pull the rope to flush the toilet:) We had standard rooms. It's clear that all the facilities in superior rooms are much better. We had a fabulous view from our window and we really adored this street that is parallel to Andrássy út. Breakfasts were good. I really liked their scrambled eggs and toasts. What we didn't like about breakfasts was the interior of the breakfast hall with many stuffed animals. The staff is quite friendly.
All in all we were satisfied with our accommodation. They even have the garage so we were allowed to leave their our bikes.

Being located in the very center of Pest, Medosz is a really good choice for those who are eager to immerse into the atmosphere of the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aglaya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedoszH, Manager at Medosz Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Dear Aglaya S.,

We are very thankful for your kind words. We are sorry about the noise from the square. We had a few complaints about it, unfortenetly this area is very popular among young people. We are nearly finished with the room renovations, the ones you were in are currently being made, hopefully the new window isulation will help us with the noise problem.
We are also happy to inform you, and all the visitors of Tripadvisor, that our breakfast room is also under renovation. Next time (we sure hope there will be a next time), you stay with us you can see for yourselfe how much have we improved.
Thank you one more time for choosing Medosz Hotel.
Medosz Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

We visited Medosz in may, and we really enjoyed it. I would recommend this hotel if you want to stay in Hungary and look around the city, because the Medosz is in the heart of Budapest. I really liked the rooms, they are clean and modern, and the view was excellent from our room. The prices are good, quite cheap, I have to say. We enjoyed it pretty much.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KenB34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedoszH, Manager at Medosz Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Dear KenB34,

Thank you very much for your short and kind review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that you would recomend it to others.
We hope we can welcome you or even your friends in our Hotel.

Medosz Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

I would recommend this hotel for ones who want to explore the city because it is a few minute walk from the tram and the underground as well. The hotel is friendly and clean, and it is renovated by the look of it. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the prices are ok. I'm sure we will come back if we have the opportunity.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LukasB03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedoszH, Manager at Medosz Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Dear LukasB03,

Thank you for your short, but kind review. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We are also happy to hear, that you would come back to us next time when you visit Budapest.
We are glad that you chose Medosz Hotel.

Medosz Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed here last week for a few days and we had an amazing time. The newly renoveted rooms were clean and stylish. The staff are friendly and the location was perfect for us. The airconditioning was useful because it was quite hot in the city. We loved it!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dora182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

I have no hesitation recommending this hotel. I stayed here recently with a group, and found the facility and the staff to be both excellent. Although the floor above me was under heavy renovation, making for some noise during the day, it was hardly a problem. My room was quite nice, clean, comfortable, with a view over a small square. Very close to a main subway line. Breakfast buffet was quite lovely. The staff was very agreeable and helpful. For the price paid, this was a great value. I would return here without a doubt should I come back to Budapest in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Terézváros
Star Inn Hotel Budapest Centrum, by Comfort
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#46 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Terézváros
Six Inn Hotel Budapest
Six Inn Hotel Budapest
#57 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Budapest City
Ibis Budapest City
#54 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Central Hotel 21
#60 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
District V / Inner City
Budapest Panorama Central
Budapest Panorama Central
#86 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medosz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medosz Hotel

Property: Medosz Hotel
Address: Jokai ter 9, Budapest 1061, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#51 Business Hotel in Budapest
#74 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#82 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Medosz Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Medosz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medosz Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing