We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Quiet, Convenient, and good Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Medosz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Medosz Hotel
Ranked #74 of 340 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Quiet, Convenient, and good Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

I stayed over a weekend, Thursday-Monday, in February while on a business trip. The hotel is set back from the main "Androsy" street (Budapest Champs Élysées) by about 50m separated by a very small park..

I originally got one of the newest rooms on the 9th floor. Very nice, stylish – and had a small balcony with a few over the park. While this room is great for vacation stay, there is no desk, but a counter with high stool chairs. The chairs are too high, the desk too low and so not suitable for the many hours of work I needed to do over the weekend.

Changed to a room on the 7th floor. It wasn't quite as stylish but had a desk. Actually, this room was just fine. The front desk told me there are three generations of rooms... really old, medium, and brand new. 7th floor was medium. It didn't look old however.

Service was very good and eager to please.

Breakfast room was moved to one of the conference rooms during the renovation. Typical European breakfast plus a few Hungarian specialties.

Lots of restaurants and shopping in the area.

WIFI felt very very slow despite a good score from speedtest.net. Probably because of the slow uplink speed.

Speedtest.net results:
Ping 15ms :: Down 13 Mb/s :: Up 0.85 Mb/s

Room Tip: Get room with desk if you want to do any serious work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny_jp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedoszH, Manager at Medosz Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Mr. Danny_ip,

Thank you for all your kind words.
It is always good for us if we know in advance if our guests have some special needs. All of our rooms have about the same equipment, but as you wrote some have high stools, some have balcony, so if we know in advance if you prefer one or the other we always try to satisfy our guests' needs.
We hope that moving from one room to the other did not cause you any inconvenience.
The renovation of the breakfast room has been finished, next time hopefully you can enjoy not just the breakfast but a nice view as well from our restaurant.
Thank you also for your remark about the WIFI connection. We have done some updateing in that area as well, hopefully next time you will find it more satisfying.
We hope that on your next business trip to Budapest, you will choose us again.
Best regards
Medosz Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    220
    67
    16
    5
See reviews for
80
173
40
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

Very good location in the very heart of Pest. Good restaurants and shops nearby. Oktogon metro station just around the corner. As the location is so central, it was a bit noisy during the night. Some local tramps sleep in the park in front of the hotel.

We had a good view from our room in the 7th floor. The room was quite small. The hotel is old and in need for updating. The breakfast did not have a wide selection, but at least we got some coffee. I would not come here again, I would pay a little more for a better hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank omertad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedoszH, Manager at Medosz Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Dear Omertad,
Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear, that the room you got was not suatable.
The Hotel is at the moment under renovation, and hopefully, the new rooms will satisfie all the needs.
In case you change your mind, we would be happy to welcome you again to our Hotel.
Management of Hotel Medosz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

My wife and me were visiting Budapest from 17-19 Sep 2012 for three nights and we were staying with the Medosz Hotel.

This is very convenient that there is having so many supermarkets, pubs, food store, Cafe, restaurant within a short walking distance. The hotel is just 3 mins away from Metro statin and very closed to the tram station.

We were given a double room at 8/F facing to the inner garden therefore this is surprisingly quiet at night, we felt so good especially in a busy city like Budapest.

The bedroom is very clean and new, it seems this is just finished from a renovation. Room was clean, toilet was nice...everything is up to our satifaction.

Breakfast was in buffet style and with lots of food variety. Food was fairly good although some of them can be presented in a nicer way......

It is not costly and we only paid for $62 euro per night...(in compare with other similar grade hotel nearby.....they were asking for $80-90 euro per night)

It was a pleasant and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EH613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedoszH, Manager at Medosz Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Dear EH613,

Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear, that you enjoied the stay in our hotel, and that you have such a good opinion about the hotel, we hope we can welcome you again next time you visit Budapest.

Medosz Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kecskemet, Hungary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

At the hotel when we arrived, thay said, they have a maintanence problem, we thught we will not get a room, but they said, instead of geting a normal double room we will get a nicer room. We thought it is just what they say, so we would have no complaints, but surprisingly we did get a very nice room on the top floor, with a balcony, and a nice view. The staff was very friendly, at breakfast, there was a big group when we arrived to the restorant, so we had to wait for the kichen staff to refill a few thing, and I felt like there are not enough fresh vegetables, but the rest was very good. It is not too cheap for our budget, but we wanted to be close to the center, so we would not need to travel too much with bus, or tram, within the city. It has a good location. If you have only a few days in Budapest it is a good place to stay.

Room Tip: For those who are on their honeymoon: ask for the rooms on the top floor! :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karolina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedoszH, Manager at Medosz Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Dear Karolina B,

Thank you for shareing you experience with us. We are pleased to hear, that you had a good time, and that we were able to make your honeymoon even memorable as it already was.
We are trying to provide the best for our guests, and it is important to us to get positive feedback from the guests.
We hope next time you visit you will choose Medosz again, and thank you one more time for staying in our Hotel.

Medosz Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

We visited Budapest in September and stayed in Medosz for a week. If you are not in pursuit of luxury and if you are interested in exploring the city and its sights, Medosz will undoubtedly suit you. The location is marvellous. The area is teeming with shops and cafes, sights and museums. It is quite noisy even at night. But we enjoyed it, as this noise only added to the whole atmosphere of the city. The room was ok, however it looked a bit like an old flat. For example, we needed to pull the rope to flush the toilet:) We had standard rooms. It's clear that all the facilities in superior rooms are much better. We had a fabulous view from our window and we really adored this street that is parallel to Andrássy út. Breakfasts were good. I really liked their scrambled eggs and toasts. What we didn't like about breakfasts was the interior of the breakfast hall with many stuffed animals. The staff is quite friendly.
All in all we were satisfied with our accommodation. They even have the garage so we were allowed to leave their our bikes.

Being located in the very center of Pest, Medosz is a really good choice for those who are eager to immerse into the atmosphere of the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aglaya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedoszH, Manager at Medosz Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Dear Aglaya S.,

We are very thankful for your kind words. We are sorry about the noise from the square. We had a few complaints about it, unfortenetly this area is very popular among young people. We are nearly finished with the room renovations, the ones you were in are currently being made, hopefully the new window isulation will help us with the noise problem.
We are also happy to inform you, and all the visitors of Tripadvisor, that our breakfast room is also under renovation. Next time (we sure hope there will be a next time), you stay with us you can see for yourselfe how much have we improved.
Thank you one more time for choosing Medosz Hotel.
Medosz Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

We visited Medosz in may, and we really enjoyed it. I would recommend this hotel if you want to stay in Hungary and look around the city, because the Medosz is in the heart of Budapest. I really liked the rooms, they are clean and modern, and the view was excellent from our room. The prices are good, quite cheap, I have to say. We enjoyed it pretty much.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KenB34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedoszH, Manager at Medosz Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Dear KenB34,

Thank you very much for your short and kind review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that you would recomend it to others.
We hope we can welcome you or even your friends in our Hotel.

Medosz Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

I would recommend this hotel for ones who want to explore the city because it is a few minute walk from the tram and the underground as well. The hotel is friendly and clean, and it is renovated by the look of it. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the prices are ok. I'm sure we will come back if we have the opportunity.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LukasB03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedoszH, Manager at Medosz Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Dear LukasB03,

Thank you for your short, but kind review. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We are also happy to hear, that you would come back to us next time when you visit Budapest.
We are glad that you chose Medosz Hotel.

Medosz Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Terézváros
Star Inn Hotel Budapest Centrum, by Comfort
Terézváros
Six Inn Hotel Budapest
Six Inn Hotel Budapest
#60 of 340 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#46 of 340 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Hotel Orion Varkert
Hotel Orion Varkert
#52 of 340 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
District V / Inner City
Budapest Panorama Central
Budapest Panorama Central
#83 of 340 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Central Hotel 21
#62 of 340 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medosz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medosz Hotel

Property: Medosz Hotel
Address: Jokai ter 9, Budapest 1061, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Budapest
#74 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#82 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Medosz Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Medosz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medosz Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing