We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding “no frills” hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Medosz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Medosz Hotel
Ranked #76 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding “no frills” hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

• Outstanding “no frills” hotel. Terrific value. It has everything I care about functionally:
• Excellent location literally next to excellent dining and 2 short blocks from Metro
• Clean and efficient. Everything works, including free wireless internet in room.
• Room is a little Spartan but I have zero interest in paying more for “elegance” or features I don’t need or use, like a spa or room service.
• The elevators work and the front desk people were helpful and friendly.
• One personal priority of mine is to have decent towels. I hate when cheap hotels have towels that are as thin as their toilet paper. Again, Medosz scores top marks for excellent towels, shower, etc.
Negatives: The room is not as well lighted as I would like. Biggest deficiency is lack of light over desk. The desk itself is fine for computer work, but not enough light. This they should fix.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    228
    68
    16
    5
See reviews for
86
183
41
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

This is a great hotel in Budapest. Nothing fancy, but great location and close to Franz Liszt Square with a lot of restaurants around the corner. One block away you have Oktogon and from there you can move quickly anywhere. in Budapest within 20 minutes with Metro or tram.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiklosSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

The location of the hotel is great
Breakfast is good
Rooms are clean
The only problem was that the beds were not very comfortable. We had a double bed, the width of the bed was maybe less than a standard double bed, so we woke each other up with any small movement. The pillows were old and a bit uncomfortable too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mononoke2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croatia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed for three nights and were delighted by the experience. The hotel staff was very pleasant and helpful. We reserved a garage for 12 Euros a day, which was a good decision because the public parking space can be scarce due to the vicinity of the Opera and generally rich night life in the neighbourhood of the hotel. Our room was on the eight floor overlooking the Andrassy avenue but was quiet and comfortable; everything was clean. Breakfast was decent with plenty of choice; trays are replenished during the breakfast hours.Additionally, this hotel has a very good location and provides excellent value-for-money opportunity.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PSS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We have stayed in this hotel for 3 nights during Christmas break. Hotel is situated in the center of Budapest, 'Hop on Hop off' buses stop just cross the street from the hotel, Operetta is 3 mins walking distance, Opera house further 2 mins same direction where is the metro station as well. Hotel is surrounded by coffee shops and restaurants. Breakfast is lovely - cooked & cold buffet, sweet pastries, bread selection, jams, fruit, slightly different every morning. We found that driving in Budapest is a 'death trap'. Once we have managed to get into hotel's car park our car hasn't moved until our check out. Receptionist was friendly & helpful, room was fresh, modern, clean & specious with great views of the Jokai square / Liszt Ference Square which would normally be hosting Christmas market but unfortunately for us, this year it got cancelled. I really enjoyed stay & would recommend to anyone looking for central location with great service at reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bellavue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights with my girlfriend and we had an amazing experiance!
Our room was on the 9th floor and the view was amazing! Marvelous breakfast, and good coffe.
3 minutes from the subway and the 4-6 tram station.

Room Tip: 9th floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

breakfast was pretty good, the hotel is litteraly in the heart of this beautiful city. the roommwas clean and the stuff is very kind. the metro is 2 minutes away. i truly recommend this hotel for everyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Terézváros
Star Inn Hotel Budapest Centrum, by Comfort
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#46 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Terézváros
Six Inn Hotel Budapest
Six Inn Hotel Budapest
#58 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Budapest City
Ibis Budapest City
#55 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Central Hotel 21
#60 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
District V / Inner City
Budapest Panorama Central
Budapest Panorama Central
#91 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medosz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medosz Hotel

Property: Medosz Hotel
Address: Jokai ter 9, Budapest 1061, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#51 Business Hotel in Budapest
#74 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#82 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Medosz Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Medosz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medosz Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing