We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best quality at best price!.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Orion Varkert
Ranked #44 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best quality at best price!.”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

If you are looking for cheap, good located and friendly place to stay thats the one!. During our stay we even got umrbrella from one of the receptionists. How nice is that? Located very close to downtown just about 15 min walking.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grz3chu19786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    238
    51
    8
    3
See reviews for
48
283
55
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We booked a 5 day vacation package that included our stay at the Best Western Hotel Orion.

We found this hotel to be in a great location for exploring both the Buda side and Pest side. The room was spotless, and inviting, the bed was a little soft but after a full day of exploring it served its purpose.

The staff was very friendly and helpful and willing to assist with any request that you had. We would stay at this hotel again if we visit Budapest.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor and had no problem with the room or WIFI
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atlantaphotoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed here in November, a great hotel. Clean, warm, friendly, and the staff could not be more helpful. It is well located between Elizabeth and Chain bridge, There are quiet bars and restaurants close by, so eating and drinking is no real problem. If you want more lively entertainment then a 20 minute walk over either bridge will take you into the town centre. If you don't fancy a walk, there are bus and tram stops within minutes. Boat trips can be found close to the hotel, as can the castles, palaces, and historic sites, the manager or the lady, will offer you directions, maps and advice, and they really are helpful people.
The bathroom Is a little on the small side, but is more than ideal, loads of hot water and good pressures, not always found in Europe. Heating / cooling in the room is controlled by a thermostat on the wall and will suit all persons and their needs more than adequately. Hotel is located 1 block back from the main road and river so is pretty quiet too, sleep was no problem as beds are large and comfortable, all in all a great place to stay in Budapest and I would recommend with no problem at all, in fact we are going back.

Room Tip: we were on the 1st floor, no noise problems at all, cant understand previous reviews regarding noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJB1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We chose this hotel because of the positive reviews and we ditto all good comments made. Our room was always clean (stayed three nights) and we agree the bathroom is very small. We had to be careful with the hand held shower after the first night as the water swirled around edge of tub and made for a wet floor. We loved walking to Tabani Gosser restaurant as recommended by hotel and ate there two nights. The owner/waiter remembered us and was very welcoming and friendly. We took the hop on bus tour 'Big Bus' and the 48 hr. pass was great getting around both sides of the city. We thought the location of the hotel was great, safe and easy walking along the Danube and across bridge to Pest and the Great Market. Breakfasts were good and it's also just a short cab ride to where the riverboat was docked for our cruise. We'd recommend staying at Hotel Orion!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WisconsinRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandrindod Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We recently stayed at the hotel for a 4 night city break. The hotel is in a quiet location with minimal traffic noise from a city centre hotel, one street back from the Danube, on the Buda side. The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean and yes, the bathrooms are small but with a city break, you're barely in the room.

The staff were extremely friendly and gave us a few tips with eating out (Tabani Gosser just around the corner) and the hop on hop off bus tour (Giraffe). Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice and a good way to start the day. Lots of guests appear to have breakfast so I'm surprised that you can't get a bed and breakfast tariff - you pay for your breakfast when checking out at the end of your stay.

The location was really great. If you're nimble on your feet you can easily walk into Pest in 10 minutes or use the tram and bus service. Budapest was a lovely city, with very friendly and helpful people, everyone we encountered spoke English as our Hungarian was sadly non-existent.

We would happily use the Hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChuckSid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We have just returned from our second stay in Hotel Orion. As previous reviews have stated, the rooms are spotlessly clean and the hotel is in a quiet location. This visit, however, I found the room overly warm. The windows do not open and we tried in vain to adjust the air conditioning. Next day we asked if they could look at the air conditioning for us and we were told that it had been turned off for winter and that it couldn't be turned back on. Yet considering that it was between 20 and 22 degrees for the 5 days that we were there, we feel that air con should have been an option since the windows are fixed and the ventilation is inadequate in keeping the rooms cooler and giving the room a fresh feel. We never used the duvets as room was uncomfortably warm for us. Because of this, we probably will not choose Orion on our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KENNI29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Just came back from Budapest short break with friends of ours.great hotel and staff are really friendly. Rooms are clean and breakfast is superb especially Lajos pouched eggs with bacon & toast, 10 out of 10 . He will know who wrote this now. Hope you don't get too many people asking for pouched eggs :-)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gazblob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#46 of 333 in Budapest
576 reviews
District I / Buda
Lanchid 19 Hotel
Lanchid 19 Hotel
#57 of 333 in Budapest
684 reviews
Ibis Styles Budapest City
#40 of 333 in Budapest
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
art'otel budapest
art'otel budapest
#38 of 333 in Budapest
2,684 reviews
District I / Buda
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
District V / Inner City
Gerloczy Rooms de Lux
Gerloczy Rooms de Lux
#27 of 333 in Budapest
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orion Varkert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orion Varkert

Property: Hotel Orion Varkert
Address: Doebrentei utca 13., Budapest 1013, Hungary (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Orion)
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#39 Family Hotel in Budapest
#50 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orion Varkert 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate city hotel with that home-away-from-home atmosphere. It is located in city centre in a quiet side street at the ancient Buda side of the Elisabeth Bridge. The historic city center of Pest is just across the river, the Citadel, the Buda Castel and all other major sites are also within easy reach, many of them in walking distance. Our guestrooms are all with Airconditioning, Mini-bar, Flatscreen SatTV, Caffee Tea making facilities, Private Bathroom with Hairdryer equiped. We provide our guests with the following complimentary services: WIFI in guestrooms and public area, Sauna, Fitness Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Orion Varkert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Orion
Best Western Budapest
Budapest Best Western
Best Western Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing