We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect service for my money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Orion Varkert
Ranked #44 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect service for my money”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Hotel Orion surprised me with a cosy, clean and quiet room, with a nice view to the backyard. The hotels location is close to the Donau-river and in walkingdistance to parcs and the citycenter. Good breakfast and service. The area around was a little poor and loud, because of street-construction.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ottmar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWOrion, General Manager at Hotel Orion Varkert, responded to this review, 15 October 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback. We hope welcoming you again.

Kalman Kintli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    241
    53
    8
    3
See reviews for
49
289
55
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vadodara, India
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

This is historical building which converted into hotel. This is well organised hotel with trained staff. Their restaurant is excellent. Must try their wine. Everything organised perfectly. If you are planning to visit Budapest, this is really good option to stay.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank adityasarwankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWOrion, General Manager at Hotel Orion Varkert, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcoming you again.

Kalman Kintli
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed 2 nights at this hotel. If you understand going into this transaction that this is a basic, tourist level hotel, you will really enjoy it. We did. Great location. Easy to explore the city. The room was very clean. Staff was helpful with recommendations. No surprises, which is great for a hotel like this. Got a great rate of about $70 USD per night. Very happy with our stay. Only thing that would have made it better would have been a free or more economical breakfast. But, for the rate, you can't beat it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinlight58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWOrion, General Manager at Hotel Orion Varkert, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your feedback.

Yours sincerely,

Kalman Kintli
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We recently stayed 6 nights at the hotel and could not have asked for more. It is a boutique hotel that is small and friendly, the 24 hour front desk knows when you leave so cleaning does not disturb you when you are in. On the 4th morning a noise developed in the air-conditioning so they immediately offered us another room, or both, whichever was best for our needs. The rooms have been updated with flat screen t.v.s, have great water pressure in the baths and plenty of storage in the closet. They arranged our return to the airport and even watched to be certain the taxi appeared exactly when they were told to.

The location was great for Buda attractions and easy access to public transportation. Nearby dining options and proximity to parks, the river, and a bridge into the Pest shopping and dining was perfect. We visited the 400 year old Ottoman baths just a block away and walked to and from the Castle, Citadel and Cave Church.

There are great deal of attractions in Budapest so plan according to your interests. As a family we visit zoos in most Countries and Budapest's zoo is among the very best - including in the States. A must see are the Sloths if you like furry friends. I pet one and scratched the back of another who pointed at a place near his neck that he also liked scratched! I look forward to a return visit someday to see more of Budapest and may stay again at Orion Hotel.

Room Tip: All views are decent, no dumpsters or dark alleys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank audrey0wens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWOrion, General Manager at Hotel Orion Varkert, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your feedback.

Yours sincerely,

Kalman Kintli
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Location is close to the two main tourist areas. A short walk up a hill to the Buda castle district and across the bridge to the central tourist area of Pest. The hotel is in a quiet street near the river in an area that is being renovated. There is an elevator. We stayed three nights. The hotel room was quiet, modern, with coffee maker, and clean . Breakfast was continental plus eggs made to order. All food was fresh and the breads were patisserie quality. The staff was helpful. Overall the hotel reflected great attention on customer service. We would use this hotel again.
We were told the street along the river would be reopening soon but this should not impact the quietness of the street where the hotel is located.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank _mssutherland33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWOrion, General Manager at Hotel Orion Varkert, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Yours sincerely,

Kalman Kintli
Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel Orion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Great location with easy access to public transport. Very good value for money, extremely helpful and friendly staff, scrupulously clean, large airy room, very comfortable bed and a fantastic breakfast! Wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k8ieNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWOrion, General Manager at Hotel Orion Varkert, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate feedback regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your feedback.

Yours sincerely,

Kalman Kintli
Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel Orion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed here as a single female traveller in May. The hotel staff are so friendly and helpful. Smaller hotels are so much cosier than large anonymous hotels. The room was a double even though I had booked as just one person. The room was light and spacious. Wonderfully clean. The bathroom has everything you need. The coffee making facilities are very useful. You pay extra for breakfast but you can have as much as you like and this really set me up for the day. The location is excellent. I walked all over the city using this hotel as a base. It is so easy to return to the hotel for a quick refresh then out again. The Gellert baths are a short walk away. I did this on my last morning before checking out at 12 for my flight home. I shall return to this hotel with my husband to show him the beautiful sights of this wonderful city. A big thank you to the staff for looking after me so well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as the whole Buda side of Budapest is undergoing restoration.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWOrion, General Manager at Hotel Orion Varkert, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your feedback.

Yours sincerely,

Kalman Kintli
Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel Orion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#46 of 334 in Budapest
583 reviews
District I / Buda
Lanchid 19 Hotel
Lanchid 19 Hotel
#56 of 334 in Budapest
690 reviews
Ibis Styles Budapest City
#38 of 334 in Budapest
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Budapest City
Ibis Budapest City
#50 of 334 in Budapest
949 reviews
District I / Buda
art'otel budapest
art'otel budapest
#39 of 334 in Budapest
2,717 reviews
Central Hotel 21
#60 of 334 in Budapest
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orion Varkert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orion Varkert

Property: Hotel Orion Varkert
Address: Doebrentei utca 13., Budapest 1013, Hungary (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Orion)
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Budapest
#50 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orion Varkert 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate city hotel with that home-away-from-home atmosphere. It is located in city centre in a quiet side street at the ancient Buda side of the Elisabeth Bridge. The historic city center of Pest is just across the river, the Citadel, the Buda Castel and all other major sites are also within easy reach, many of them in walking distance. Our guestrooms are all with Airconditioning, Mini-bar, Flatscreen SatTV, Caffee Tea making facilities, Private Bathroom with Hairdryer equiped. We provide our guests with the following complimentary services: WIFI in guestrooms and public area, Sauna, Fitness Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Orion Varkert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Orion
Best Western Budapest
Budapest Best Western
Best Western Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing