We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The basics, but clean.”
Review of Hotel Papillon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Papillon
Ranked #132 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I stayed in one of the little apartment units for a few nights, in the building on the next street. It was tiny and basic but very clean. The kitchen was bare-bones in terms of utensils etc, I had to ask the front desk for a few things (dish towels, etc). The little patio off the bedroom was kind of charming.

It's not really convenient in terms of location if you're just in Budapest to see the sights for a couple of days (I was moving here for work so I stayed there until I found an apartment to rent). I'd recommend staying on the Pest side if that's the case, in district 5, 6 or 7.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiliGirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2013

Small, cozy hotel.
We took a quadruple room, one was double bed and rest 2 single beds, bit small may be for kid, but we did not have problem to manage.
Have to climb a bit to reach, on top of a hill, but beautiful view of the city and bridges from the terrace.
We had our room on the top floor and access to terrace/balcony, enjoyed the view even in a cloudy day.
Due to day light saving in March 31st we almost missed our breakfast and got angry, but later realized the mistake of us.
You should definitely take the coffee in the hotel with honey, it is wonderful, and we took twice.
Some of the attractions are close by but we did not try, tram stop is nearby, 7 minutes walk and tram connected to metro station in another 2 stops, so we could reach everywhere pretty quickly, even though we were not exactly in city center.
Good value for money, stuffs are friendly and informative.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Santanu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

I stayed at Hotel Papillon for a week during my most recent trip to Budapest and I was impressed by the friendly, helpful staff, the basic, but always clean and functional rooms, as well as by their excellent continental breakfast. I had booked a single room, but when I arrived I was told that since their only available single room was undergoing some kind of repair, they would offer me a free upgrade. I ended up staying in one of their more spacious family rooms, which came with a large terrace overlooking the Buda hills on one side, and the Danube, as well as the Parliament on the other.

The hotel provided wireless internet access in the rooms, which functioned on six out of the seven nights that I stayed at Papillon. The hotel's restaurant served a full continental breakfast consisting of Hungarian salamis, other cold cuts, cheese, a selection of fresh bread, yoghurt, jam, honey and cereals. There was also the additional option of scrambled eggs. On a few mornings, I was a bit late going down to breakfast, but the morning staff seemed really accommodating to me, as well as to other "late risers." Many of the guests during my stay were French speakers (mainly from France, but a few from Canada as well), and some of the staff have a basic knowledge of the French language, which is quite unusual in Budapest.

Hotel Papillon is located right on the edge of Budapest's affluent Rózsadomb neighbourhood, and is just a 10 minute walk from the 4-6 tram, which takes you over the bridge towards Pest within a matter of minutes, as well as connects with the M2 (red) metro line. If you don't mind the uphill walk to the hotel, this is an excellent, mid-range hotel in a quiet, green neighbourhood of the Hungarian capital.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mackenzie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

A small hotel on the Rose Hill in Buda. Tram, metro and a big shoppingcenter Mammut are quite near at the foot of the hill. Very helpful and friendly staff. Some top floor-rooms with a great view. The hotel owns/runs also some private apartments nearby, but breakfast is served in the hotel. If you`ve decided to rely on public transport only, then be prepared to walk uphill-downhill.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helka L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

This hotel situated under the castle of Budapest was a real surprise for us! The price was so good that we didn't know what to expect. But we really loved it in the end. The staff were really helpful and friendly, our room was spacious and quiet. The breakfast was tasty and also the location was very good, close to the main road and public transport, yet in a calm area. The only problem was the parking around the hotel, really complicated :(

Room Tip: The cheapest rooms are really small so if you stay longer, it's worth paying a bit (it really is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dominika81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

we were located in a small app owned by papillon hotel. it was very clean not too small and breakfast (in hotel) was tasty. the service/reception was super! very nice person at the reception! we are happy that they accepted our dog! will come back for some moore days!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank paolo l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The hotel is as good as described on web page. Staff were absolutely brilliant - nothing was too much trouble - they were committed to making your stay as good as possible. The outdoor area was a very nice bonus for relaxing. Rooms very well serviced and clean. Only problem was rooms are a bit small. Cleanliness and quietness of rooms both good. Location is convenient and central. We had no problem with noise and no complaint. Hotel is more like 15 minutes walk from Buda castle aea. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JED52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Chesscom
#103 of 334 in Budapest
386 reviews
Csaszar Hotel
#186 of 334 in Budapest
213 reviews
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#135 of 334 in Budapest
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Budapest Panorama Central
Budapest Panorama Central
#104 of 334 in Budapest
478 reviews
Benczur Hotel
#162 of 334 in Budapest
510 reviews
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#46 of 334 in Budapest
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Papillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Papillon

Address: Rozsahegy utca 3/b, Budapest 1024, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £29 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Papillon 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Papillon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papillon Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing