We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
Ranked #9 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great value, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend in January, following a recommendation from a friend. It's a small scale, friendly place - just over 20 rooms, I think. As such, you won't get big chain hotel-style amenities or service, but it suited our needs perfectly.

The location is excellent - central, with a wonderful of the river Danube. You never tire of walking over the chain bridge! It's handy for all the Budapest attractions, and being just that little bit removed from the hubbub of Pest suited us fine. There are good transport links (trams pass right outside) but we love to walk and so we were only on the metro once or twice.

There are some great bars and restaurants very close by. The staff were helpful and friendly and all spoke excellent English. Breakfast was good too - plentiful buffet and eggs cooked to order. Being off-season, we never had to wait for a table.

Our room was on the eighth floor with an amazing view. It was very big, comfortable and spotless. Lovely seating area and table at the window. Modern bathroom with shower over bath. Free wifi too.

I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high up room for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MortonFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    909
    292
    30
    11
    9
See reviews for
165
702
44
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for my birthday and couldn't have found anything better. Good location on the Buda side with fantastic views of the Danube and Chain bridge aswell as Parliament. All rooms have the river views and ours was a really good size, exactly as shown on the website. Lovely breakfast, very nice and helpful staff. Great city with lots to see, the ruin bars are good fun and great value for drinks and food. Want to go back soon.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank goozgog77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

This is a lovely small hotel set directly accross the road from the river. The rooms are lovely with fantastic big windows providing fantastic views especially at night time when all the bridges and buildings are lit up.

The dining room is a little small and we were turned away on one occasion as there wasn't enough room for us for breakfast and told to come back in 10 minutes. Other than this though we had a lovely stay and would go back.

Would definelaty recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tippytom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We spent 7 nights at this small lovely hotel which is located at the Duna river bank, very close to Adam Clark sq. There you can find buses no. 105 and 16, running very frequently and give you service to Buda side attractions (no. 16) or The Museums/zoo on Heroes Sq. ( no. 105) + city center or 1 of the stops for the Hop on hop off. The wow view depends very much on the weather, but the view at night, (Parliament to Chain bridge) is amazing! So does the the view at sunshine. The room is big and clean. 2 arm chairs, + a little table in addition to a big size comfortable bed. Just relax and enjoy the view out of the bottom to top window. You can have a shower above your head, or have half the way, on the wall. Have a little string over the shower cell, so you can get dry, light laundry very quickly, since air ventilation works 7/24. There is light at night to help your way to the bathroom. Front desk people are very warm, polite and helpful. Sell Budapest cards/ Hop on, hop off the same prices as in town. Tram 19,41 stop in front of the hotel on the way to Battyany ter. (towards Margit brg.) Breakfast is very rich (almost same menu, each day). Fresh vegetables+breads, yellow cheeses +ham, yogurts, few cereals, canned not sweetened cherries, apricots and pineapples, fresh fruit, juices, hot drinks, eggs made to order and cakes. Update weather notice at the elevator. Underground, supermarket, 550 m away. Good restaurants nearby - every thing you need to have great vacation. Free Wi fi works fine, flat T.V. and a.c. We felt a bit hot with the bed blankets.

Room Tip: higher floors have great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachel642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floral City, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Conveniently located, modern exterior and clean generous sized rooms, friendly and accommodating staff, with great views of the river and Parliament. Breakfast was just fine, with cooked to order egg dishes and a nice selection on the buffet. We arrived early in the day and were allowed to store our bags in our room, even though it was not cleaned yet. We stowed our things, put valuables in the safe and took off for a day of sightseeing. We got good suggestions on nearby restaurants from staff. The surprise came when we asked for the location of afternoon tea. When we went through the door that was indicated, we found a beautiful space from a different century, beautifully restored and stocked with tea/coffee and cookies. Although we did not use it, the minibar was well stocked. Nice nightlight and rain shower in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise from the street (trams) and those on the north end have bigger windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

The main reason you stay here is for the amazing view and location! and it doesn't disappoint, the Victoria is on the Buda side of the Danube, all the rooms face the Danube so you don't have to worry about that, they are also a good size, linen and towels are clean.
If you want tea or coffee though you will have to go to the reception, at least my room didn't have any.
Mini Bar is well stocked and well priced though.
The Staff are very friendly and helpful and there is no hard sell for the tours, if you want to go just ask.
The reception, bar and breakfast room are small, best to get down early for breakfast, typically continental style, the omelet's are great!

Room Tip: All rooms have floor to ceiling windows for an amazing view, what more could you ask for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank stevieshirt28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Palmai_Jr., General Manager at Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear stevieshirt28,

We really appreciate your wonderful comment! It summarized what we are working for.
As more and more guests would like to have a tea and coffee maker in the room, from 2014 we created a special package for you. Please check Hotel Victoria's own official website for the details.

Kind regards,

Zoltan Palmai Jr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed here on our 4th night driving back to the UK, after reading the reviews here on Trip

We wanted to receive a friendly welcome and spend the night in a safe, clean, quiet, hotel and have safe secure parking for our car all at a reasonable cost. Also with the option of being centrally located so we could do a little sigt seeing for an hour or two.

This hotel failed to tick all the boxes

The hotel is in a good location, we felt safe, it was clean and quiet, the price was good and we did get secure parking for our car.

I have given an average review due to a few factors that didn't enhance my overnight stay in Budapest.

When we arrived the greeting we recieved was somewhat stand offish and abrupt, as this was my first visit to Hungary I do not know if this is just a cultural thing.

We had contacted the hotel requesting a secure parking space for 'a large vehicule Nissan Navara' when we arrived at around 6.00pm after a 7 hour drive from Romania we were told that the car didn't look like it would fit in the garage and to park in in front of the hotel which was obviously not secure being on a main road. Upon our insistence we were allowed to try and get our car in the garage which we did with no problem. The hassle to get what we had asked for though isn't really acceptable.

We were then asked by the receptionist for our car keys which she needed to hold as this was the law in Hungary, maybe this is so but I have never had to leave my keys on reception at any other hotel in the world so I didn't here either.

Later we asked where we should see during our few hours in their city, the gentleman on the desk told us the castle, when I asked where the shoes on the Danube were he informed me that they were on the other side of the river, great thanks, exactly how long is the river? During our drive round Europe we stayed in 10 hotels, of the 10 this one had by far the worst service I would recommend the manager sends his staff to the Epoque in Bucharest or the Cavo Olympo in Katerini Greece to learn about hospitality, both of which charged a considerable amount less per night.

All in all I left with the distinct impression that we weren't really that welcomed, which was a shame because it's a decent hotel in a good location and the city is stunning.

Room Tip: Maybe the Art'otel a couple of buildings along the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beaubleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,547 reviews
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#6 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,071 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest

Property: Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
Address: Bem rakpart 11, Budapest 1011, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#8 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#17 Family Hotel in Budapest
#65 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Hotel Victoria is located in the heart of historical downtown of Budapest, on the Buda side, directly on the riverside of the Danube. As the facility is equipped with large panoramic windows, one can enjoy the spectacular view of the city from all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing