We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good modern hotel, fine location”
Review of K+K Hotel Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
K+K Hotel Opera
Ranked #37 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
170 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good modern hotel, fine location”
Reviewed 13 October 2011

The K+K Opera is a modern business-oriented hotel across the street from the Opera, right off the main avenue (Andrassy). It's a 10 minute walk from the Chain Bridge. We stayed there 3 nights on a vacation. The rooms were pleasant and clean, if a bit soulless. The bathroom was modern but tiny. The lobby was large and pleasant, with a big breakfast room with good selections (one of the few places we stayed where you could pour your own coffee, instead of relying on the waitstaff!), and a large bar. The staff were first-rate, helping us recover an overcharge from a taxi-driver, selling transit tickets, and reserving restaurant tables. A good choice, reasonably priced.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BronxSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,822
    1,069
    146
    35
    13
See reviews for
348
1,496
213
359
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

This is the first K+K hotel we have stayed at, and not only were we pleased with the clean, modern rooms, the location was perfect. We had easy walking access to many tourist sites, and it was right around the corner from the opera house. Breakfast buffet was excellent and extensive. Staff was courteous and professional.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hnewman7611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We were there for 4 nights.

Pros: The room was ready even though we checked in before noon. We had a choice of one with a tub on the first floor or one with shower but no tub on a higher floor, which is the one we took. The room was ok; the bed was comfy; there was a nice breakfast buffet with several meat choices but no fish, which was disappointing as I do not eat meat, and they didn’t do special orders. No wifi, but I’m ok with not being online every minute on a vacation. There was plug-in Internet and computers in the lobby which always seemed to be busy. The hair dryer was ok, which is crucial to me. The lighting was better than in many hotels.

The location was the best part; next door to the opera, within walking distance of almost everything you would want to do on the Pest side. The staff was nice and tried to be helpful. The neighborhood was fun to walk around in, with small theaters and a choice of places to eat.

Cons: There were some basic design flaws that drove me crazy: The breakfast room had hanging lights that you banged your head into sitting down and getting up. The room had cubbyholes instead of drawers, with the lowest one at floor level so you had to crawl around on the floor to use it--appropriate for children but not adults. Not a lot of space in the bathroom for personal things. There was no place to hang clothes in the bathroom, so you couldn’t dry clothes that got wet in the rain or let wrinkles steam out while you showered.

We booked a tour through the hotel and paid a small additional fee for transportation so we wouldn’t have any problems getting there. The driver delivered us to the wrong place and the situation got very convoluted and unpleasant before it all got sorted out. We told the hotel about it so they would know for the future, and they refunded the transportation charge, which I thought was considerate since it wasn’t their fault. I hope they got reimbursement from the tour company eventually.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BatteryParkNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Rooms are very nicely appointed & upgraded. Good breakfast buffet. Very nice lobby area. For the price I don't think that you can beat it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torino - Piemonte
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

I spent a whole week in this hotel. We were a couple of friends sharing the same room and we had absolutely no problems at all. It's really hard to find something wrong with this hotel. The common parts and rooms of the hotel were very very clean and well kept. We found a whole set of tourist brochures in the room on our arrival making maybe useless to go in tourist office. Breakfast was fantastic and with really everything one could desire to eat. Staff was very kind and they even phoned for us to the company we booked for a tour on the Danube bend without asking if we wanted them to. Every person of the staff met during our stay was polite and always greeting.
All the details were so positive that i'll do all my best to choose this hotal chain even for stays in other places.

Room Tip: No particular tip as the hotel is not in such a position to have a good view from the room, but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Werehamster70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We have just spent a very enjoyable few days in Budapest staying at the K&K Opera. The hotel is in an ideal location for experiencing all that Budapest has to offer. The front desk staff were very polite and helpful, the breakfasts were excellent and the beds were very comfortable indeed. I would certainly recommend this hotel and if I should return to Budapest I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We spent 4 gloriously sunny days in Budapest in September 2011. The K and K staff, especially Agnes, helped us gather information, helped guide our stay and were extremely cordial. We so recommend this hotel for its location, proximity to major sites, and ease of travel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susan817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#39 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,195 reviews
Casati Budapest Hotel
#8 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Terézváros
Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#14 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,363 reviews
District V / Inner City
Eurostars Budapest Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K+K Hotel Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K+K Hotel Opera

Property: K+K Hotel Opera
Address: Revay u 24., Budapest 1065, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Budapest
#18 Family Hotel in Budapest
#20 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#30 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — K+K Hotel Opera 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The K+K Hotel Opera in Budapest is a sophisticated, modern first class hotel which enjoys great popularity due to its welcoming atmosphere, a stylish interior design, and its unbeatable central location next to the Opera-house. Shopping in the pedestrian area "Vaci utca", as well as many key sights are within easy walking distance. The "Opera" underground station is just outside the hotel. Free WiFi in all guest rooms and public area. Free access to the Internet Lounge (PCs, printer and international newspapers). Free access to the Wellness Area with gym and sauna. Complimentary coffee and tea making facilities in the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your K+K Hotel Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
k Hotel Opera
k Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing