We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent- not exceptional”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Ranked #26 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
rome, italy
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Decent- not exceptional”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I stayed recently at this hotel while in Budapest for business and few days city break with my partner. I will start with the pro's which are that it has a very good location, offers free wifi and the standard rooms are a good size with nice bathrooms. The hotel was also flexible and allowed me to have a late check out considering the multiple problems i had with my travel plans due to the bankruptcy of Malev airlines. This was well appreciated.

That being said, there are quite a lot of things to be improved with this hotel. The first comment i have is was not up to the standards of other Kempinski properties i have been to including in Istanbul and St. Moritz. It refers to itself as a five star luxury hotel, but it is more of a 4 star business hotel. There is nothing done to make guests feel special whatsoever, no nice touches, etc it seems like they do the bare minimum to keep their stars. Bathroom amenities are very scarce, the toiletries provided seem like those of a three star chain hotel, absolute minimum in whats provided. For example, they give you one piece of soap but there's a shower, a separate bathtub and a sink. In order to get more soap i had to specifically request it and i was given one extra microscopic bar of soap. The other thing is that there are no coffee or tea facilities in the room so if you want this you will need to order from room service. The problem is, the tea is served in the same thermos as coffee so it tastes like coffee!! i left a note on the tray after taking only one sip of my tea,explaining that it was not acceptable, and my note was not acknowledged.

ALso- beware when booking the "city tour" . It was not sold to me like this, instead i asked if it would be possible (due to the extremely cold weather) to have a taxi take us to a couple key destinations in the city so we could take pictures. The concierge suggested a one hour car rental where we could go around to the various points of interest, for 8900 hf. We agreed, and it was a very nice experience. I would not consider it a "guided tour" because the driver, although very friendly did not speak enough english to give a proper tour or answer questions, but still a good experience. When it was time to checkout, i saw that on the bill it was 12,000 hf. I explained to the person at front desk who gave me 2 or 3 excuses of why this may be that the price presented to me was 8900 but in the end he told me i must have misunderstood!!! This was very upsetting because this is not the type of treatment i expect from a five star hotel- non transparent things like this, especially that they didn't do anything to correct this even though i made it very clear that i was in complete disagreement and felt cheated. Considering this hotel places so much emphasis on their "clef d'or" customer service, i would think this type of thing would not happen.

In the end, i wouldn't recommend this property to people used to staying at five star luxury hotels, expecting a certain level of cst. service and treatment, but would recommend for business stays.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lexy506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KempinskiBudapest, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear valued Guest,

first of all we would like to thank you that you have honored our hotel for your Budapest stay.
We are very sorry to learn from your comments that not all department and services were up to your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences caused, your experience is most certainly not representative of the usually high standards we strive for every day. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at our hotel and would like to assure you of our best personal attention to your future stays at the Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,086
    686
    144
    37
    20
See reviews for
396
1,308
127
578
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
MOW
Level Contributor
195 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Pros: Great location, good size rooms, great bathrooms, fantastic breakfast with sparkling wine, descent SPA.
Cons: Small gym, not enough machines, awful view.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank agre4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KempinskiBudapest, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear valued guest,

many thanks for your short but powerful and positive comment on our hotel. We do look forward in welcoming you soon at Kempinski Hotel Budapest.

Your Kempinski Budapest Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warsaw
Level Contributor
185 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

First of all, it is amazing how well kept this hotel is - taken that it is 20 years old already.
Great maintenance!

Location: excellent in the center of Budapest. Easy to travel around, metro is near, hop on/off busses leaving next to. Walking distance to center, Andrassy, Parliament etc..
Rooms: got upgrade and hence bigger room. Nice decor, clean, big bed.. everything perfect.
Room service: worked as Swiss clock. Loved to have FT every morning.
Room service food: we got hooked to club sandwitches at night after returning from the city- great stuff!
Rates: about 100€ / night without breakfast from booking.com
Food: ate twice at Nobo - wonderful stuff. Also had seafood buffet once - again no complaints and totally worth the price ~22€(loved the oysters...)
Spa: small area, all seats occupied. Needs a remont.
Spa treatments: great!
Concierge: got great advises from that desk - such as jazz club, clubs/bars, restaurants..
Airport transport: worked well both ways. Slightly more expensive than local taxi.

Overall great visit at Kempinski. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mokoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KempinskiBudapest, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear valued Guest,

It was a pleasure to learn from your comments that you valued the location, the excellent quality and service at our hotel, especially our concierge team and room service. Thank you very much for your words of appreciation, they have been very well received. Great to read that you enjoyed NOBU and please be ready for further culinary adventures upon your next stay in our Corvinus Cuisine, or simply enjoy the summer on our terraces on fashion street. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Budapest and its Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest soon.

with kind regards, Your Kempinski Budapest Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Full impeccability! Everything one can excpect from Kempinski! Exceptional service, full comfort, perfect breakfast, immaculate cleanliness, amicable staff! This is a very memorable experience which will be hard to beat anytime! Worth any cent. Thank you very much to everyone in Kempinsky. I am really looking forward to come back again and again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kulinban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KempinskiBudapest, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking time on your TA review. We gladly learned that we could contribute to making your Budapest trip to a memorable great experience. Thank you very much for your words of appreciation, they have been very well received. We are looking forward to welcoming you back with your family, friends and associates to Budapest and its Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest soon.

Yours faithfully, the Kempinski Budapest Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Perfect hotel! Great location. We used the 'Hop on Hop off' bus and the first stop is right outside the hotel. Nice to sit and enjoy the sights while getting information about the city. Beautiful city. Lots of good resturaunts in this area. Breakfast buffet was plentiful and the staff was excellent. The room was a good size, clean and the bathroom was very nice. I also used the Spa, and I can definetly reccommend it:) The front desk was fast and efficient, both check in and check out. You won't go wrong with choicing this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller5919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KempinskiBudapest, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear valued Guest,

It was a pleasure to learn you truly enjoyed your stay at our hotel and particularly our central location to explore the city, our Kempinski SPA and the buffet breakfast. Please count on our all Clefs d'Or concierge team to assist you with further exploring beautiful Budapest upon your next stay.

Yours sicerely,
the Kempinski Budapest Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed in Hotel boscolo, but we came in here for Sunday brunch after reading that they have a good jazz band. That was all we knew: we had no idea about the food, the price, the service etc, we just wanted some good music. That added to the fact that we were blown away by the meal. It was a buffet, like normal in hotels. But rather than the usual rubbish, it was all-you-can-eat sushi,, oysters, goose liver, shrimps, cured meats, salads, beef, chicken pate, and on and on and on. There was a hot food section too, but we were just too full up to even look at it. Really nice desserts, really beautiful food in general. They kept topping us up with sparkling wine and fresh orange juice. The only thing I was waiting for was the pain of the bill (although I would have been prepared to pay £100 p.p for the quality of the food), and it was only £40 per person. Great service and lovely music too. Best meal of our trip,

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie_RT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KempinskiBudapest, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear valued Guest,

it was a pleasure to learn from your comments that you valued the excellent quality and service of our Sunday Brunch. Please be ready for further culinary adventures at Restaurant Giardino, we are always at your disposal at your future stays in Budapest.

with very best regards,
Your Kempinski Budapest Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

YES:
- in center, back is shopping street
- walking distance to river
- hotel area
- 20 min to airport with car
- nice wine list
- very priendly staff specialy in bar and restaurant

NO:
- need renovation

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Couple45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#24 of 342 in Budapest
3,212 reviews
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#10 of 342 in Budapest
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
1,145 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#18 of 342 in Budapest
6,883 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest

Property: Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Address: Erzsebet ter 7-8, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 349
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Budapest whilst enjoying generously spacious and luxuriously outfitted rooms or suites in the Kempinski Hotel Corvinus, right at the city center. Savour Budapest's best of international cuisines at the hotel's top restaurants inclusive ES Bisztro, a brasserie featuring Hungarian and Austrian dishes with modern twist, NOBU Budapest, first in Central Europe... Find relief from urban stress while pampering your senses at Kempinski the Spa... Or meet & greet , network, entertain... On business, a break or an adventure, our comprehensive services and state-of-the-art facilities are on call for you 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing