We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Ranked #24 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed at the hotel this weekend. I cannot fault it.

Its in a great location and within easy reach of the tourist hotspots and local transport. Its a very sleek modern hotel with very efficient and polite staff. I went with the recommendation of another reviwerer and got the hotel to arrange a car at the airport - again very porfessionally handled and the driver was their in a nice mercedes as agreed.
The hotel reception is beautiful - and we were quickly checked in and allocated room 421. The room was very clean, a good size with views over the back of the hotel - which ensured it was very quiet. The bathroom is amazing with robes, slippers etc!
Just a personal thing on the downside - I found the bed a bit too hard and pillow to soft - but that was probably me being too fussy!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crookedtongues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,119
    699
    147
    37
    20
See reviews for
406
1,326
129
583
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel in early Aug 2013. The hotel facilities are outstanding, good service, good location, etc. But the hotel has one fatal flaw. In order to use the elevators, a guest must hold their room key up to a panel. Unfortunately, whatever technology is employed (probably NFC) was implemented very poorly. The result -- guests constantly cursing at the elevator and the keys because we couldn't get them to work, meaning we couldn't get to our floor. Not just us, but every other guest we ran into in the elevators struggled with this task. One time it took me 10 minutes to get to my room due to the frustrations with the elevator keys. If this hotel had employed normal elevators, it would have received a 5-star rating. But the frustrating elevators were the most memorable part of our experience (which is too bad), so I gave the hotel 3-stars. I would not stay here again until they fix the elevators, regardless of price.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank aqualoaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KempinskiBudapest, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel for your Budapest stay.
Your constructive criticism on the technical issues you experienced in our elevators was very well received. We have already found a solution to avoid the inconveniences and we are sure our guests appreciate our efforts on improving our services, including this new security feature.

It was a pleasure to learn from your comments that you valued the outstanding hotel facilities, the good service as well as the good location. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back!
With best regards
The Kempinski Budapest team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This is a high end, classy hotel with all of the trimmings and more. The location is superb, right in the center of town within easy walking distance to the River Danube, shopping, Jewish Quarter and lots of really cool sights and restaurants. Hungary is a must for anyone who likes to experience a rich, family oriented culture.

FYI. Is is very hot in July/August, if you prefer a cooler climate, wait until spring or early fall( before the snow)

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent. If you really want to splash out, go for the suites with a separate sitting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janjamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

As a couple we paid $181.95 US through Expedia in July 2013. This was the high end of our budget in the two weeks we were in Eastern Europe. If you can afford to stay here, we would highly recommend it. Very exclusive. Had to pay for breakfast, but was very good in a private alcove setting. Race car drivers (Formulae 1?) were in town at hotel. Groupies outside hotel made us feel "big time". LOL.

We toured with the hop on hop off bus.

From here, we took the overnite train to Krakow.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryCy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My wife and I married in Budapest and family, friends and myself stayed there. Service was fantastic and the rooms are beautiful. The location is exactly where you would want it to me within walking distance of the synagogue and basilica and a short metro ride to hero's square.

If you don't want to do much but enjoy the city sounds and watch the people walk by the have a great bar in the mall to while time away with a wine.

Room Tip: Try and get a view over the park on the 9th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkiingKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We planned two nights at the Kempinski after our river cruise but would have stayed longer if we could have changed our travel arrangments. The hotel has a modern yet subdued lobby that exudes style. A quiet open coffee shop and an elegant lobby side bar were adjacent to the entrance making for a dramatic arrival. We also thought the central location where wide pedestrian streets make for hassle-free walks among street-sdie cafes and shopping somewhat remote from the tourist areas was perfect.
The room was spacious, clean and well appointed with both a bathtub and seperate shower. Our luggage arrived promptly, with the door man explaining how we obtained ice.
We used the Concierge several times - for dinner, for directions and for booking tickets. In every instance the advice was perfect insuring our visit was both informative and thoroughly enjoyable.
The breakfast buffet was unbelivable in choice and amount. You could order eggs from your server if desired. And dinner in the ES oon the terrace was the best of our two plus week trip. Our waitress was engaging, offering suggestions and staying a few steps ahead with drinks - wine, beer and water. And there were thrity craft beers to choose from in addition to a number of reasonable priced wines indicative of those better Hungarian wines.
We travel extensively, staying in a variety of hotels. The Kempinski Corvinus was better than any Ritz-Carlton or Four Seasons where we have stayed in service, food and style. Some may shoose to stay on the river near the lights that line the river in the evening but we prefer a place to relax and enjoy exceptional service at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: There were no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dicw36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KempinskiBudapest, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to learn from your comments that you valued the excellent location, the lobby, your spacious room, the "unbelievable" breakfast, the outstanding dinner at ÉS Bisztró and the attentiveness of our all Clefs d'Or concierge team and restaurant staff. Thank you very much for your words of appreciation, they have been very well received.
We are proud you enjoyed our remarkable European flair and hope to welcome you back soon.

with kind regards,
Your Kempinski Budapest team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We finished up a river tour of the Danube in Budapest and after a week or so in a nice but small stateroom on board, the Kempinski really feels wonderful. It is very well situated on the Pest side close to a great little subway line that easy to use. Good restaurants and shopping are all around, and at night there has been some type of food and entertainment festivities on the square behind the hotel. The Concierge desk is well staffed with helpful men. No ice machines in this elegant place...you call room service and a young man in white tie evening dress appears at your door in minutes with a bucket of ice asking permission to enter your room. He seems pleased and surprised when you given him 100 florints (about 50 cents). Very nice place at reasonable European prices 140 euros per night (that includes tax but no breakfast)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billbyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#28 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,259 reviews
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#10 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#6 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#17 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,970 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest

Property: Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Address: Erzsebet ter 7-8, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 349
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Budapest whilst enjoying generously spacious and luxuriously outfitted rooms or suites in the Kempinski Hotel Corvinus, right at the city center. Savour Budapest's best of international cuisines at the hotel's top restaurants inclusive ES Bisztro, a brasserie featuring Hungarian and Austrian dishes with modern twist, NOBU Budapest, first in Central Europe... Find relief from urban stress while pampering your senses at Kempinski the Spa... Or meet & greet , network, entertain... On business, a break or an adventure, our comprehensive services and state-of-the-art facilities are on call for you 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing