We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel - Sterile Atmosphere"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Ranked #22 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2009

Recently spent 4 nights in this hotel.

Location: The Kempinski is situated in central Pest which is a great place from which to begin exploring the city. The hotel is about a 30 minute taxi journey from Terminal 1. Most major tourist sites are within walking distance (Chain Bridge/Gellert Hill). The main metro station (Deak Ferenc Ter) , where all 3 lines intersect, is a one minute walk away. Central Pest is also excellent for bars and restaurants.

Hotel: The hotel is very nicely decorated and furnished. The lobby is large and bright, thanks to the glass frontage. The staff are friendly and attentive. The public areas are clean and there is a relaxed if somewhat sterile atmosphere throughout. The room was very clean and a good size (deluxe). The mini-bar was well stocked but very expensive (around €8 for a bottle of Evian) – steer clear unless you have deep pockets.

Food: The hotel has 3 restaurants; Italian, Hungarian & Bavarian. On the first night we decided to eat in the Bavarian restaurant. The food was mediocre but at least the atmosphere was relaxed and informal. Breakfast is expensive and to be honest nothing out of the ordinary. I suggest you do as the locals do, pop round to Vosmarty Ter (behind the hotel) and try the grilled sausage and mustard, an altogether better experience.

Health Spa: The spa facilities are very good although I agree with other reviewers who say the pool is lukewarm and too small. The sauna and steam area is well appointed, good showers, ice to help you cool down and a heated sitting area. All in all very good.

Other: There is free wi-fi available in the lobby, bars and restaurant areas, which was good. There is also wired access available in each room. I took the advice of another reviewer and asked the hotel to book the airport Zona taxi for the return journey.

Conclusion: Budapest is a wonderful city and you could do a lot worse than book a stay in the Kempinksi.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Conluceo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,192 - 2,198 of 3,242 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2009

I stayed here for two weeks while working in Budapest and for four days I was sick in bed. I remember thinking at the time that it was a really comfortable place in which to be sick. The rooms are large - if your room is facing the street you get a sofa, but if your room is facing the inner courtyard it will be slightly smaller and without a sofa.

The beds are comfortable and the furnishings are plush and modern, with big well appointed bathrooms.

Even though the rooms are quite cheap, everything else is outrageously expensive, even for a five star hotel. One day my lunch cost €53 which is just ridiculous in any city. They've a good selection of Blockbuster movies but they cost €18 to watch! Ouch.

I had no electricity in my room one morning which meant I could not have a shower or iron my shirt before I went to work. Although I complained (three times) they didn't seem to really care and while nobody was rude, they weren't in anyway interested in what I had to say. This is kind of indicative of customer service in Hungary - nobody is ever going to be rude but they're not exactly going to bend over backwards to give you extra service.

Famous and powerful people stay here - and several times when arriving back from work, our taxi was unable to pull up outside the hotel due to high levels of security for some VIP. This does add an air of glamour to the place but when you're back from a gruelling day of work and all you want to do is fall into bed, it's a bit rich making us walk half a block to get home.

I never got to see the spa on the second floor but several of my colleagues assured me that it was pleasant and a nice place to chill even though the swimming pool is very small.

There's a Mercedes Benz in the lobby making it feel like a car showroom, nevertheless the lobby, bar and restaurant (which all run into one) are very nice and relaxing places with live classical music during the day. This hotel is a real haven from the bustling city.

As of July 2009 one road running down the side of the hotel is being dug up - the digging starts around 7am which never bothered me as it acted like an alarm clock but it's something to bear in mind if you're going there for a romantic break - check with the hotel to see if the 'work' is finished.

The hotel is in a posh-ish area (the British Embassy is next door) so the shops surrounding the hotel are more expensive than the Buda side which is very near.

All in all it's a great hotel that's so comfortable you won't want to leave.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fearghas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2009

Keep checking the hotel web site and that of Small Luxury Hotels to find the lowest prices for this luxury hotel. We paid $200/night with amazing breakfast buffet and free access to spa and health club. The hotel is upscale luxury. The standard room was quite roomy, the bathrooms marble. The hotel was within walking distance to most of sites on the Pest side of the river. The room and beds were extremely comfortable. ALthough we faced the front we heard very little noise and slept well. The breakfast included everything you could possibly imagine and ran until 10:30 everyday. The concierge we used was very helpful and even connected me to a doctor on call when I had a question.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcedell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2009

Stayed for 2 weeks on business in summer of 2007 - enjoyed the breakfast and convenience of being next to the underground station. Only problem for me was the tv channels were mostly in german.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EncikAdrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2009

First the plus: cleanliness of the rooms, quietness of the hotel, very good location, very friendly staff, gorgeous breakfast.
Minus: Well, don't you think smoking permit in the lobby is so 90's?

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank florent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2009

Since we don't often stay in hotels of this caliber, we were just blown away by how spectacular this place is. This is definitely one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed in. The rooms were beautiful, clean, comfortable, and large, the whole hotel was gorgeous and modern. Although I believe this was the only hotel we stayed in that didn't include continental breakfast. Aside from that, we got an amazing deal on the price, which I doubt is typical for this place. We also found the hotel to be conveniently located to everything we wanted to do.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank p27159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2009

We stayed at the Kempinski the night before our Danube river cruise embarked; we were impressed. Service was excellent and the hotel was immaculately clean. The free breakfast buffet was unbelievable with every kind of food very beautifully presented.
The hotel room was really nice with a very large marble bathroom that was luxurious.
On top of that, the hotel is centrally located in a great spot for sightseeing. A mere half block away is a starting point for the hop on hop off tours.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hcross888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#29 of 336 in Budapest
3,515 reviews
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#16 of 336 in Budapest
7,462 reviews
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#14 of 336 in Budapest
4,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest

Address: Erzsebet ter 7-8, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: £128 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 349
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Budapest whilst enjoying generously spacious and luxuriously outfitted rooms or suites in the Kempinski Hotel Corvinus, right at the city center. Savour Budapest's best of international cuisines at the hotel's top restaurants inclusive ES Bisztro, a brasserie featuring Hungarian and Austrian dishes with modern twist, NOBU Budapest, first in Central Europe... Find relief from urban stress while pampering your senses at Kempinski the Spa... Or meet & greet , network, entertain... On business, a break or an adventure, our comprehensive services and state-of-the-art facilities are on call for you 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing