We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and perfection”
Review of King's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
King's Hotel
Ranked #236 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Near the city center, it is a very good value for your money, great breakfast big variety. Staff is very helpful and very polite. The area is surrounded with many bars, nice environment especially for young people.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Uri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agnes_Ivady, General Manager at King's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Uri K,

thank you for your brief and positive review. I hope if you come back to Budapest, you will stay with us again.

With best regards,

Agnes Ivady
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (683)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

163 - 169 of 683 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

I stayed at 508, lift only till 4th floor. To 5th floor a very old bad and uggly improvised stairs where two persons do not fit, prepare to stay with better muscles.
When you get there you find a foot hole (yes, someone kick the door) repaired with white cement in a very old and brown door, the lock obviously was with loose parts and very fragile. Once in the room, the dirtiest carpet i've ever see, (thankfully i took slippers), and a very old white tiles bathroom, with lack of cement separating the tiles (making little holes good to cut your feet).
The 5th floor is like a tree house you see in the carpet floor the up's an down's of the wooden beams and when you move everything makes noise, i was wondering when i would fall down to the 4th floor.
Appart of that the room was very big (i reserved a double but it was like a family room), good bed, and the reception staf was good. Good location, almost everything on foot (If you like walking).

Room Tip: Ask view to the courtyard if you don't like noise. Refuse the 5th floor the scary movie room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liketotravel69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agnes_Ivady, General Manager at King's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear liketotravel69,

thank you for your remarks. I am really sorry for the bad experience. Unfortunately a previous guest broke the door and you must have seen that the renovation had already been started. Our reception staff is always ready to help if a guest would like to move to another room and I am really sorry that during your 3 nights stay you never informed the receptionist about your problem.
It has been a pleasure for us that you were satisfied with other things, like the size of the room and the staff of the reception or the location.
Hope you have good memories about staying in Budapest.

Best regards,

Agnes Ivady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

i was very happy to stay for 4 nights in this hotel, The location is 10 minutes from the center by foot. The room was big, nice and clean,the staff was very kind and pleasant. it was very comfortable to walk from hotel and get to parts of the city!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ben n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agnes_Ivady, General Manager at King's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear ben n,

I was so happy to read your opinion about our hotel, thank you for the positive words. I hope you will visit us again.

Best regards,

Agnes Ivady

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Me and a friend wanted somewhere in Budapest to stay for a couple of nights (separate beds) that was no thrills but clean and comfortable. This hotel passed the test. The rooms were very spacious with a very high ceiling. Beds were comfortable but I think they could have done with a bigger or extra pillow.
I advise talking to reception about how to plan your stay in Budapest. They were very helpful and friendly and can book you on a range of local excursions there and then. The sightseeing bus tour is very useful for getting an idea of where everything is. You also get a free riverboat tour thrown in with the deal. It's a very well organised and comprehensive tour, which includes some stunning views of the city. I'd also recommend the thermal baths. These are world famous. We went to Szechenyi bath but I hear that Gellert bath is just as good, if not better. This a must-do in Budapest.
With regards to the hotel's location, it's about a 10 minute stroll from the main city square - a walk that can be achieved by navigating through the intriguing backstreets. It's also located less than 5 minutes from the city's opera house. This is probably the nearest metro station as well. The city has fantastic public transport by the way - I'd recommend the Budapest card if you're planning on using the transport system extensively. This also gets you significant discounts on restaurants, bars and tourist attractions including those mentioned above.
There's lots of pop-up bars around the area. The hotel is located in the backstreets, which may seem quiet in the daytime, but by night you'll find some trendy little bars and restaurants all within a few minutes walk of this hotel. It's very quiet at the hotel. It situated at just the right distance away from everything. No disruption at all.

Room Tip: Advise talking to reception about how to plan your stay in Budapest. They were very helpful and frie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agnes_Ivady, General Manager at King's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Dan D,

thank you for recommending our hotel and our beautiful city to the readers of Tripadvisor. Thank you for sharing your experience. Our colleagues are always eager to help to plan your stay. Friendly service is one of the most important values of our hotel. We hope to see you soon again in the near future.

Best regards,

Agnes Ivady

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The hotel has great location - just in the centre of the district pubs and bars. You have just a walk to many bars, to the metro stations (yellow and red line), interesting places (e.g. opera house). The staff is very friendly. The hotel has a round the clock reception. However, the rooms are very nice...Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were nice. Safe deposit box in the room. Breakfast was very tasty and filling

Room Tip: if I needed exra towels they've been sent in 5 mins. Air conditioned-no extra pay. There are few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mosha l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agnes_Ivady, General Manager at King's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear mosha I,

thank you for your short, but positive review. Also thank you for your nice comments about the staff and the breakfast. We look forward welcoming you again.

Agnes Ivady

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The hotel has great location - just in the centre of the district with numerous pubs and bars. You have just a walk to many bars, to the metro stations (yellow and red line), interesting places (e.g. opera house).
The staff is very friendly. The hotel has a round the clock reception. However, the rooms are not very pretty. The are rather ugly, but very clean. The towels were replaced every day. In the room there was soap and 2in1 gel.
The cleaning started before 8 o'clock and it was very noisy. There was no hairdrier in the room. In the room there was a minibar (high prices), a minifridge, cups and glasses, a safety box, a phone and a TV. There was no tea, however,
They have a huge problem with wi-fi. It was repaired twice during our 3-day stay. Still, it worked only downstairs at the reception.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaskaa5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agnes_Ivady, General Manager at King's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear kaskaa5,

thank you for your positive remarks regarding cleanliness. Most rooms are equipped with a hairdryer. If you happened to be accommodated in a room with no hairdryer our receptionist will be pleased to provide you with one upon request. Our hotel offers a wide selection of services, however, free tea and coffee supply is not an available service. We are sorry about the internet problem you had during your stay, this was due to a failure of our internet service company.

Best regards,

Agnes Ivady

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We were there 4 nights with my mother. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were nice. Safe deposit box in the room. Breakfast was very tasty and filling. Free wifi in the lobby ( ask password from the reception).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sannak84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agnes_Ivady, General Manager at King's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Sannak84,

thank you for your short, but positive review and also thank you for your nice comments about our hotel.

Best regards,

Agnes Ivady

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Star City Hotel
Star City Hotel
#126 of 335 in Budapest
369 reviews
Atlas City Hotel
#245 of 335 in Budapest
566 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
City Hotel Unio
City Hotel Unio
#213 of 335 in Budapest
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atlantic Hotel
#249 of 335 in Budapest
230 reviews
Benczur Hotel
#161 of 335 in Budapest
515 reviews
Central Hotel 21
#68 of 335 in Budapest
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Hotel

Address: Nagy Diofa utca 25-27, Budapest 1072, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #236 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: £29 - £373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — King's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your King's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Budapest
Hotel Kings Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing