We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for!”
Review of King's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
King's Hotel
Ranked #165 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Clean basic room. No kettle, ok as long as you know. Wifi only in lobby, but I was made fully aware of this before I came, by researching and paid for extra roaming internet on my phone so I could email etc from my room. £1 extra for breakfast, that was the best pound spent here in Hungary, basic, but all you could want, hot drinks, hot and cold buffet, so you can't go wrong. Room Check out 11am so,asked to keep room til 3pm, 50 euro charge, sorry but a rip off!! I didn't pay that a night! All in all good value but what were the loud bangs that woke me up???

Room Tip: A quiet one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 222henry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    207
    209
    82
    48
See reviews for
104
220
61
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The hotel situated conveniently in the city center. Decent breakfast, especially if you arrive before 8am. However - a little cold room with a narrow uncomfortable bed. The room have no wi-fi. Poor ventilation is in the toilet. Radiators were almost always cold, when the temperature behind window was 3 degree C. Administration saves all - on heating, on the soap and toilet paper, and even instead of butter - margarine. All people of our arrival got a cold. If your health is dear for you - stay away from this place!

Room Tip: room looking upon the silent inner court of the hotel, not on the last (5th) floor and far from rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex_3682014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Budapest hotels

Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed here three nights with my partner. Rooms were okay, compared to the prize. Staff were really helpful and polite, that's a BIG plus. Nice stay overall. Location was nice, really liked the jewish quarter, there's lots of good restourants and cafes and of course the beautiful Great Synagogue right behind the corner. We approve ;-)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeidiKnuuttila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FALKIRK, SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

It is centrally located in a slightly shabby but safe district 10 minutes walk from the centre.
The hotel was clean but completely agree with previous review concerning noise from the street from street facing rooms..
The breakfast was just passable in particular the cold meats and cheese .There was also scrambled eggs and " hot dog" sausages and vile coffee.
The Wi Fi is only available in the reception area .
There is a small bar and they serve food in the evenings which seemed overpriced by local competition.
They provide an electric kettle but bizzarely no cofee sachets or tea bags.
The room however does have a safe deposit box and a fridge .
Beds OK. Bath and shower OK
Beware they charge 750 HUF ( OVER £2 ) for a bottle of Water costing 85 HUF in a local supermarket.
The hotel has five floors but the tiny lift only reaches the forth floor.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimS87A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Good location, clean rooms breakfast OK, coffee was very poor, jar of Nescafé on the side but don't be fooled it was refilled with Tescos value coffee! We were in a room at the front of the hotel, the room was very stuffy so tried sleeping with windows open, the noise from the street was so loud that we had a very disturbed night, we closed the windows and then got woken again by street cleaning vehicle which sounded as if it was in the room with us!! Next two nights much the same even with windows closed. Shower flooded floor every time we used it, same problem in our friends room next door, had to put towels down to stop water going everywhere, (easier to have a bath instead).

Room Tip: Try a room at the back of the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The best thing this place has going for it is where it is located. Other than that, you will not be impressed. There is no Wi-Fi available in the rooms, the breakfast that is included is barely edible and the walls are paper thin, so you will hear everything that goes on while you are trying to sleep.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Runner8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalborg, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The hotel was clean and the staff was polite and helpful.
It is located in close proximity to almost everything you want to experience in Budapest and it has both restaurants and nightlife located just around the corner.
It is perfect for couples and friends.
The only downside is that I experienced the place as being quite noisy, which somewhat interrupted my sleep at some point almost every night.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berg1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
City Hotel Unio
City Hotel Unio
#207 of 333 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Star City Hotel
Star City Hotel
#130 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Benczur Hotel
#163 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
City Hotel Pilvax
City Hotel Pilvax
#124 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Atlas City Hotel
#243 of 333 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
District V / Inner City
City Hotel Matyas
City Hotel Matyas
#129 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Hotel

Property: King's Hotel
Address: Nagy Diofa utca 25-27, Budapest 1072, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — King's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your King's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Budapest
Hotel Kings Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing