We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Repeat after me...It's a HOSTEL!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel
Ranked #53 of 641 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Repeat after me...It's a HOSTEL!”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I came across this place and checked the reviews, as I reslised I stayed here a couple of years ago, but never got around to reviewing. Shocked at the nonsense reviews here - No WiFi, A bit noisy etc. Hence the title of my review - might I repeat - Its a HOSTEL!

Ok - for the travellers out there looking for info on choosing this place. Its excellent value for money. In a climate of budget flights creating a mammoth city break industry, Budapest should be near the top of most couples & friends list, also any Non-Europeans backpacking DONT MISS this wonderful city, and when you arrive, relax about choosing where to stay if on a budget. This place has exactly what it should for the price and nature of the accomodation. Its smack bang in the middle of Buda, and anything you want to see or do in the city is easily accessible. Language barrier wasnt an issue as I recall, and the staff might not have been up to Disney standardss perhaps but who cares? It's a hostel! and a very pleasant one. The room was clean and the bed was fresh. There was a clean place for washing and it was a comfortable temperature. Fine fine fine! As for Budapest - We did the hitlist - Gelert baths for a massage and float around in the pool is a MUST. Food was universally excellent wherever we went. if going on a city break its easy to forget bathing suit so I'm reminding you right now!

Gelert is over one of the bridges and looks really very innocuous - you could miss it easily. Its on the other side of the river to the Main City Hall which is architecturally beautiful.

Some travellers may find the 'attitude' of the natives of Budapest a little, perhaps, brash? Maybe a little direct? To some people (English mainly) this may come across as rude. This is not the case. They are economic with words on the surface, but I found once I spent a few minutes at a bar asking about the city they revealed themselves to be a very proud and hard-working people, who are slowly adapting to their city being a potential travel destination. I would absolutely recommend going and unless your on some kind of romatic 'impress-me' weekend stay at Marco Polo.

Room Tip: Get drunk before you return to your room on some ting-tong plonk and you wont give a crap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Slutbunwaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judit I, Manager at Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Just: Thank You!!! :)))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    135
    58
    33
    24
See reviews for
23
57
68
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

I picked Marco Polo due to its high recommendation in TripAdvisor. However I am dissappointed with overall experience in this hostel; with the exception of the room. The staff who greeted us was unfriendly and not that helpfull. The hostel did not have functional computers for cuatomer use and wifi is only available at reception area. It was very noisy at night since clubs are all around the area and our neighbours are very rude (they were drunk, shouting outside the door, kicking and smashing doors until it broken since they couldn't find their keys), smoking in the room which resulted in activating fire alarm, climb to the roof to smoke and caused nuisance for the whole night. Surprisingly, it seemed like nobody stopped them and no staff tried to warn them. I was too sleepy to went down because it was around 2-3 am and there was no phone in the room. The only thing that I am satisfied with the hostel; was the our room. The price is really low and the room is clean with indoor bathroom, plus a tv, cupboard and reading lamps. One thing for sure, I will never stay in this hostel again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fakhizaa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judit I, Manager at Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you for your feedback! I am sorry that you had bad neighbours! We do have a security guard during the night who has to walk around (minimum every hour) to see that everything is in order. Since this happened we do even more attention that they control the quiet (and also the doors) during the night - most of the times it is in order - a few times we have more difficulties - but we do our best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Budapest hotels

Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

The location was great-- just a block away for The Ruins and close enough to the city center to walk. However, pretty far from the train station. The rooms were pretty outdated but sufficient. The staff was nice and very patient with me when I blew a fuse with my hair dryer!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBugg923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judit I, Manager at Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you for the comment! Since the time we have new bed sheets and NEW PILLOWS! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

I've stayed in a double room in december and the heating worked very well. Great staff and location, bu the commun kitchen was really small - it semmes more a wardrobre. And the cleaning ladies didn't care to wake up everybody at 9 AM playing a loud radio in the corridor.
Small room, but not bad. If we think about the price I shoul say that is a good value hostel.

Room Tip: Great location and price. If you are not looking to special gadgets, take it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliassis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2013

well the hostel was OK. room was clean, bathroom as well and bed was comfortable
the location was really good, close to metro, buses and trams,
there was also an african restaurant nearby, well not the best one in the world hehe

what i didnt like about the place !
wifi wasnt at your room, only in ground floor, next to reception ...
come on, we live in 21st century, right ?
and why all around the hostel was written: delicious, cheap and huge bowl of gulasz - and afterwards, no more gulasz in the kitchen... for 4 days ...

anyway i recommend this hostel ! :)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gosia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novi Sad, Serbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We accidentally ended up in this hostel. We had a reservation in another placement, but the host was canceled us when we arrived. We were desperate! Just to mention, this happened the day before New Year's Eve. When we got in the Marco Polo Hotel, receptionist was wonderful to us. She quickly found accommodation for us, although it was a huge crowd and many were looking for accommodations. We stayed in a room with 12 people. The beds are double-decker but separated with paravane. Bathrooms are shared but very clean. There is free internet. Bar in the hostel has a pleasant atmosphere. The biggest impression on us left receptionist, which is a great worker and a great person. I recommend this accommodation. Points out, it is very clean and close to the city center.

Room Tip: Although our room in the hostel was nice, I recommend booking in smaller rooms. I guess the small ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natasa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012

This hostel isn't too bad - a group of friends and I stayed for 5 nights and had a lot of fun. The only issue is that some guests were SO noisy and drunk, it made it impossible to sleep some nights.

There is a good vibe at this hostel and the location is quite central. The rooms/beds are a bit average. When we got back after a days outing we found some "service" guy opening our room door to "fix" something. Luckily we were leaving later that day..

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g_to_the_bo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Casa De La Musica Hostel
#44 of 641 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Belváros-Lipótváros
Full Moon Design Hostel Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Terézváros
Friends Hostel Budapest
Friends Hostel Budapest
#27 of 641 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Maverick City Lodge
Maverick City Lodge
#5 of 641 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Dominik Panzio
#138 of 183 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel

Property: Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel
Address: Nyar utca 6, Budapest 1072, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 641 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel in downtown Budapest, is open all year round. Located in the heart of the city, offering the services of a 2 star hotel with its en-suite double TWIN rooms and providing organised and tidy 12-bedded dormitory rooms.Marco Polo’s excellent city centre location provides great access to public transport. Famous Budapest sights and great nightspots are also nearby. Our twin and quad rooms are bright and comfortable and have telephone and TV, plus en-suite bathrooms.As for our dormitories, we’ve yet to find another anywhere that even comes close. Each 12-bedded room is divided into 2-bunk areas with their own lockers. Each dorm is next to HAS a dedicated bathroom with two sinks, showers and WC's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing