We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top tier hotel with top tier service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #12 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Top tier hotel with top tier service”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The best rated hotels on tripadvisor stay on top because the staff is dedicated to top notch service. Not only is this hotel lovely, with comfortable rooms, the staff sincerely wants to deliver friendly, professional, accommodating service. These guys (and gals) bent over backwards to make our stay comfortable. They gave us early check-in, late check-out, let us check back in when travel plans fell through, made calls for us, translated when needed, gave great advice on restaurants, local customs, and train, bus, and air travel.


Kudos to the staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank santafaen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear santafaen,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Nemzeti Budapest. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our young, motivated and enthusiastic team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,295
    410
    45
    7
    2
See reviews for
161
978
95
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on our vacation and I couldn't be more pleased with the accommodations and the staff! The beds are very comfortable and though small, the rooms are a lesson in great use of space. But beyond this, the staff made this place a joy to stay. From check-in to special requests to booking tours, there is nothing they will not do for you! Thank you, Hotel Nemzeti, for making our stay in Budapest so great!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacHRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear JacHRH,

Thank you for the kind words! I am very happy to see that our staff was able to exceed your expectations with the service they provided. I will pass on the kind words to them!

Hope to see you back!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The location was fabulous. Nemzeti is in Pest, right at the metro station, within blocks of the Jewish quarter and walking distance of many attractions, ruin pubs, bookstores and excellent restaurants. The building itself is a standout with wonderful rococo ceiling molding and beautiful stairways and balusters.
Wifi was reliable, there was a room safe, no cigarette smell at all and our room was plenty large enough for both of us. I had room to do yoga in the morning and we could spread our stuff out. The bed was very comfortable, and housekeeping was superb. The dirty towels on the floor protocol was followed here and we always had clean towels and washcloths. Robes and slippers and delicious toiletries were provided, also.The closets were fine and held about six hangers. If we'd asked for more, we'd have gotten them.
We were right on the street, but there was very little noise. And it was a treat to look out and see the Budapest bustle every morning!
There is a sauna on the fifth floor. We didn't use it, but noted that it was very clean and towels and bottles of drinking water were provided for guests.
Breakfast (an extra 15 euros) begins early, and it was a veritable smorgasbord-salads, fresh fruit, dried fruit, nuts, cereals, cheeses, eggs, bacon, sausage, meats, coffee, espresso, fresh fruit juices, rolls, croissants, pastries and cakes. Worth every one of my partner's euros and florins.
But the staff-the staff was fantastic! From the moment we arrived at the desk-late at night, tired and maybe even a bit grumpy, the people here treated us like royalty. No service was too small or too big, the slightest issue was addressed effectively and promptly. The young woman at the desk always inquired after our day and gave us helpful advice about attractions and taxis. Everyone spoke English or had access to someone who did, and each person was nicer and more accommodating than the last. And a refreshing bottle of orange and lemon water was always in the beautiful lobby with a tray of cookies or pastries. Very nice when coming in after a long day of sightseeing.
The only complaint-the ONLY complaint I have is the shower. The shower floor was just about flush without enough of a grade for the water to go into the drain, so it seeped out into the bathroom. It was manageable. We paid attention, and I put a rolled towel in front of the doors. But that is the only problem I had. It is just a delightful place to stay. Kosonem, Nemzeti!
We are absolutely staying here again when we return.If we can get a room after all the reviews.....

Room Tip: Our room was on the first level, one floor above the street and on the street. Lots of light and not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bg319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear bg319,

First of all, thank you for stayin at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest. We are delightful that your shared your experience with us and everyone on Tripadvisor. Thank you for comprehensive description of the hotel and your stay.
We appreciate your comment on the staff as well, I will share it with the team to encourage them to stay on this track, as it seems to be the right one!
We are aware of the the deficiency of the bathrooms this is precisely why we have been working on solving every and each of them.

Thank you for taking the time, once again, to post this great review.

Best regards,
Zoltán Kerékgyártó
Rooms Division Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Look not going to say much: service helpful, hotel itself beautiful, bed the comfiest I've experienced in a while.
Not many cons, it's not in the tourist district but in the heart of Budapest, right next to a subway station, so you will have to walk or catch a train to tourist destinations, but that's mandatory in Budapest.
The rooms are compact so if you like your space maybe look at bigger rooms, but the furnishings and decor where spot on.
It sounds like I am listing negatives but these are the only two on a back drop of really good.

Simply would highly recommend this place for travellers.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussieeuro27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear aussieeuro27,

I appreciate your valuable time to share your kind words recommending Hotel Nemzeti Budapest for travellers.
I hope we will have the chance to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Sincerely,

Zoltán Kerékgyártó
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whittier, Alaska
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Our second time staying at the Hotel Nemzeti and i can say definitively; They have earned a loyal customer for life. The service, the staff, the amazing rooms, the wonderful beds, and stellar breakfasts were enough as is. However, once again the dedication to customer service has trumped every central and eastern European hotel I have ever stayed in! Expect W Hotel/Starwood quality and attention. We booked dinner cruises and bus tours and everything right from the wonderful front desk staff. On a special note the awesome bell staff was an asset to our experience as well. After a grand euro tour spanning 5 countries and over 30hotel stays; Nemzeti was far and away both of our favorites. My parents are head over heels in love with Budapest now. Thank you Nemzeti. My wife and i will See you next month!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobbTaylor777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear RobbTaylor777,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your secound stay at the Hotel Nemzeti Budapest. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our Front Office team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Zoltan K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2013

I simply love this place! I have stayed here at two different occations and both times it has been fantastic! The staff is fantasticly friendly and absolutely fabulos! The rooms are very comfy, stylish and quite and the location is optimal if you want to explore the numerous ruin pubs in the area! It is always sad to leave for home when staying here. ;)

Big ups for all in the staff! Thank you!

Cheers
Frank

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear Frank H,

It was our great pleasure welcoming you second time as well to Hotel Nemzeti Budapest. We are always glad when our guests are returning back to us. We are working to make your stays as comfortable as at home. We hope to see you soon!

Best Regards,

Zoltan K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We had 4 nights in this beautiful renovated city hotel. The rooms are very comfortable and not noisy at all - even rooms out to the square/street are very silent. Breakfast is highly recommended as well. The staff is absolutely fantastic, everybody is kind, attentive, smiling and helpful. Some says that old "Eastern Europe" is offering bad service. I like to send many of "Western European" hotel employees to take a class in service in Hotel Nemzeti. The service in this hotel is unbeatable and second to none. The hotel is situated in the middle of Pest and everything is within a walking distance. There is also a Metrostation just outside the door. I will give this hotel 11 out of 10 possible points :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnHenriksen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Dear John Henriksen,

We are so glad that you were satisfied with our services and you really enjoyed your stay! I will let my colleagues know how successful their efforts were. We have allready seen that you have chosen Hotel Nemzeti Budapest by MGallery Collection for your next stay as well. We are really proud of getting 11 points from you. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
4,698 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#39 of 333 in Budapest
4,232 reviews
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 333 in Budapest
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#16 of 333 in Budapest
2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Jozsef korut 4., Budapest 1088, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#11 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#12 Family Hotel in Budapest
#17 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centrally located Hotel Nemzeti Budapest Mgallery by Sofitel welcomes its guest from December 2012.Enjoy the artistic spirit of Budapest in this elegant 19th century building historically linked to the local cultural life. Near business district and major touristic attractions, the hotel offers memorable moments for its guests. Unique cultural and culinary experiences, contemporary designed rooms with every comfort of a 4 star upscale hotel including free internet access, coffee & tea facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Budapest Nemzeti Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Nemzeti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing