We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel
Nearby Hotels
New York Palace(Budapest)
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$243
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$231
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Budapest(Budapest)
US$231
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$355
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Prima Fashion Hotel(Budapest)
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,965)
Filter reviews
1,965 results
Traveller rating
1,425
475
55
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,425
475
55
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstram stopbeautiful hotelpublic transportsparkling winebathroom doorjunior suitemodern roomsnew york cafejewish quarterbeautiful roomthe riverfifth floorhigh ceilingsstayed for nightsbreakfast buffetshower headwould highly recommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,123 - 1,128 of 1,965 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Arrived by train to Keleti. Hotel not far away. Oh, construction works. Had to go far around through dirty soil. When we finally reached the street to get to the hotel, we saw lots of cars racing up and down, and the building seemed like they had screamed for renovation since the 1970s. Then we came to a big square with lots of people running in all directions to and from the trams and metro trains. In the middle of this chaos was our hotel: Nemzeti.

Just inside the door Eszter and Balas received us in a very nice way. Gave us all the information we needed and had a small chat with them before we went up to the hotel room. We did not have to think of our luggage; the staff brought it to our room two minutes after.

Nice and clean room, but the bathroom is a bit small, and the shower hose is too short. Some of us prefer to stand while taking a shower, even if it is in a bathtub. But otherwise, just great. After two weeks not sleeping good because of warm weather, we were more than happy to discover the air conditioning.

The only really negative thing we could find, were the breakfast prices. €19 pr person pr. day is what I would call expensive. Even if the food offered is great, and the surroundigs are great as well. They had a promotion of €10 pr. pers when we were there, so we ate breakfast there a couple of times.

The hotel is very good situated next to a metro station, and many buses and trams also pass. We found many "kert" not far away we enjoyed. The hotel staff helped us out understanding how things work. Sometimes it's not obvious when you're a foreigner.

At checkout at the end of the stay, we were served by a very nice lady called "Trainee". We don't know her real name, but if you keep on serving people the way you served us, you will become the manager of the hotel in no time.

Eszter, Balas, the Trainee and all other of you that made our stay so great: thank you very much! You did a great job!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1435mm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Dear 1435mm,

Thank you so much for writing such an extensive review on your stay here at the Hotel Nemzeti! I am especially glad to see that you were happy with our services and the staff. I will give your regards to Eszter, Balázs, and Trainee whose name is actually Enikő. Hope to see you back soon!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel to watch the F1 and location wise, we were 7 tube stops from the bus station so pretty central in terms of getting to the track & the city centre attractions !
The hotel itself is very clean and our first room was perfect, had there not have been Maintaince works disturbing us this hotel would have been perfect.
We were staying for 4 nights and on the third day we had a phone call after being woken up by work men to say we needed to move rooms as a plumbing issue had occurred and the hallway was practically being ripped up. So we had to get relocated to a deluxe suite, but unfortunately wasn't as good as a standard double as we were on the room of the hotel and the tube station noises was very loud! Also the air con was a little dodgy in this room therefore sleep would have been impossible. Reception then moved us again to the junior suite which was outstanding nonetheless very inconvenient to move three times on our last night.
The customer service in relation to these issues could have been better as no compensation was offered and the lack of warning to these problems was a little annoying.
I do think that we were just unlucky in terms of the Maintaince problems and had it not been for that the stay would have been near on perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charlotti90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Dear Charlotti90,

First and foremost allow me to apologize for the inconveniences that occured during your stay! As you mentioned it was a very unfortunate situation, that we could not prepare for in advance therefore it was not possible to warn you in advance! We did have some emergency plumbing issues in the room next to you that needed inmediate attention. The maintenance staff had been warned to only start the noisy part of the work after we were able to get a hold of you. Which they did, but in order to start with that, they did need to make some preparations, like taking their tools to the room. This happened sometime after 9 am... Unfortunately they were not quiet enough.
I was otherwise happy to read that you were content with the services that you experienced before this incident.
To reflect on your comment about the lack of compensation, I do have to add, that we offered you a free transfer to the airport with our premium car service and a complemantary late check-out at your request! The opportunity was open for further compensation had we known that you were not happy with what we offered, but you happily accepted our offer.
All this being said, please accpet my apologies for the occured inconveniences, I hope that we will have another opportunity to prove to you that we are indeed working hard on our guest relations.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel during the Gran Prix weekend. The hotel was great, good location, comfortable rooms and really helpful staff who seemed happy to go out of their way. The breakfast was fantastic, lots of choice, lovely bread and jams. The hotel building itself was also absolutely gorgeous.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Las58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Dear Las58,

Thank you very much for posting such a nice feedback about your stay at the Hotel Nemzeti. I was happy to read that the services met or even exceeded your expectations. I hope we will have a chance to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This hotel was perfect. I stayed with 2 other couples here and we had an amazing time - we are still raving about the hotell. The location is great and really central to a lot of tourist sites and places to go in the evening.
The rooms are lavish and comfortable. The breakfast was superb there was basically everything you could think of.
I would not hesitate to book this hotel it exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ce9jst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerekzoltan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear ce9jst,

Thank you so much for the raving review on your stay with us! It was reassuring to read that we were able to reach our goal and provide service that will exceed the expectations of our guests.

Hope to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at the nemezeti hotel for 3 nights on july 23rd-25th. We can honestly say that this is truly an outstanding hotel in every way-----from the beautiful restoration of the building and newly renovated rooms to the amazing staff and service. The staff here seem to go above and beyond to make their guests feel special and welcome. They extremely attentive and helpful.
The breakfast was top quality---so much variety and delicious food. The cappucino here was fabulous. The wait staff in the dining room are so attentive and eager to please. Everyone at this hotel was so nice and friendly. The made our stay memorable. Thank you to all the staff at the nemzeti. Thisvis an absolutely fantastic hotel---one ofvthe best that we have ever stsyed st and my husbsnd and I have travelled extensivelynthroughoutbeutooe can say honestly, nothingbhss compared to the nemzeti.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank canuktraveller201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerekzoltan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear canuktraveller201,

It was with great please that I read the fantastic feedback you posted about your stay in Hotel Nemzeti. I will make sure to let all our staff know, how pleased you were with the services they provide and that you rated it being a true five star service! I am glad you had a chance to try our capuccino, next time make sure to have one of our delicious cakes to go with it!

Once again, thank you for having chosen us for your visit to Budapest!

See you next time!

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews