We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a real great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #12 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,259
    397
    43
    7
    1
See reviews for
158
947
92
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lucenec, Slovakia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Me and my girlfriend were looking for a nice hotel, where we could spend our 4 year anniversary. We have to say, it was the best place for it. The staff couldn't be more helpful, they have showed us a big attention, even they had many guests that weekend. The breakfast was so wide range, and good quality, that we ate so much, that we didn't have to eat till the late afternoon. And a big plus is the sparkling wine going wit the breakfast :)
Furthermore, our room looked like the same, as on the website (finally a hotel, where you see, what you expect)
Summarizing our feelings, we were really sad when we had to leave, and we'll miss this place for a long time...THANKS NEMZETI :)

Room Tip: Rooms on the 5th floor have a nice view to the city....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dominika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Dominika B,

Thank you so much for the kind words! Allow me to take this opportunity to congratulate you for your anniversary! I am very happy that you were not disappointed with your choice to stay with us and left with so many nice memories! I hope you will have a chance to return to us soon!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Really happy here; excellent location, and no problem with noise despite the tram spot outside. All the staff were excellent - bellboy, checkin, breakfast, room service - a really nice set of people. Price was fine; only quibble is that the shower ( no bath in our room) is guaranteed to flood the bathroom; and there is a badly designed stand for shampoo etc which could be better.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tokyospur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear tokyospur,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your stay at the Hotel Nemzeti. I was happy to read that you were so happy with the quality of the service provided by our staff. At the same time, I am sorry that the design of the bathroom did not meet your expectations, we will take your remarks into consideration.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Staff extremely friendly and attentive.
All the facilities and services were excellent.
Very good location for both the excellent Metro and Tram services.
We'd booked 6 months in advance to visit the Christmas Markets etc, in consequence our stay was not only enjoyable but excellent value.
The most comfortable hotel bed we've ever slept in.

Room Tip: We booked a superior room giving us a great view from the top floor over looking the bustling city s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBKingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear JBKingstob,

Thank you so much for the review! I was happy to read that you found our services and facilities to be excellent! Congratulations on making use of our offer and booking such a good rate! I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back for a future visit!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

We're currently on day one of a four night stay at the Nemzeti. The place is simply stunning. The rooms are well equipped (although I agree with some other reviews who say the wet rooms could have been better designed- but this is a minor detail) and beautifully presented. The windows are twice double glazed which means you can't hear the bustle of the street below.
The breakfast is indeed awesome and the staff couldn't be more helpful.
We shall be sad to depart, that's for sure. Well done, MGallery.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Valhallababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear ChezandWilb,

Thank you so much for the kind words! We were also very happy to have had you as a guest, and were sad to see you leave! I appreciate your comments on the staff and the rooms, it makes me happy to read that you had such a nice time! I hope to see you back soon!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed here on a short break from the 1st-5th December and cannot fault the hotel. It was beautifully finished and felt very luxurious. The bedroom and bathroom were immaculate upon our arrival and every evening when we returned to our room after a full day sightseeing. The staff were very pleasant and helpful all the time we were there and their English was great. I can't comment on the food at the hotel as we were staying on a room only basis but the location is quite central with the main area for bars and restaurants being approximately 15 minutes walk away. Would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone and would happily visit again!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Joanne B,

Thank you for taking the time to give a feedback on your stay at the Hotel Nemzeti. I was happy to read that the quality of the service you experienced, exceeded your expectations. A special thank you for your comments on housekeeping! I hope to see you back soon!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Great hotel, friendly staff and close to transport - all been said before but have to agree. Very comfy beds and although the bathroom is small (also said before) it is not tiny and is very well equipped, particularly liked the walk in shower. Breakfast is great value, the range is huge although on our last day we did struggle to get something hot - maybe we were a little late. Even sampled the sparkling wine one morning - nice touch. If you like refreshments in stunning (and not expensive) surroundings try the Book Cafe - Lotz terem on Andrassy

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindylou5390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Lindylou,

Thank you so much for the kind words! I was really happy to read that you appreciated the walk--in-shower and the sparkling wine we offer for breakfast. I hope we will have a chance to welcome you back!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,590 reviews
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#18 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,886 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#6 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Jozsef korut 4., Budapest 1088, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#11 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#12 Family Hotel in Budapest
#17 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centrally located Hotel Nemzeti Budapest Mgallery by Sofitel welcomes its guest from December 2012.Enjoy the artistic spirit of Budapest in this elegant 19th century building historically linked to the local cultural life. Near business district and major touristic attractions, the hotel offers memorable moments for its guests. Unique cultural and culinary experiences, contemporary designed rooms with every comfort of a 4 star upscale hotel including free internet access, coffee & tea facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Budapest Nemzeti Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Nemzeti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing