We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #12 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We have travelled all over Europe and stayed in a lot of Accor hotel, I can tell this is one of the best hotel experiences we have ever had. The hotel is clean, safe and beautiful!!! Just next to the tube station~ really convenient! It's very easy to visit this city!!! We booked a suite and stayed on the 2nd floor in FEB. The suit is really fabulous!!! Very modern and lovely and new decorated, really home away from home!!! The bed was so comfortable, so we had a good sleep when we stayed. Breakfast was tasty!!! The Hotel has all well-trained staff and they was very helpful!! Really fantastic!! Good hotel manager and staff. Highly recommended to stay in this outstanding hotel!!!

Room Tip: book a suite!!!It's worth it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,294
    410
    45
    7
    2
See reviews for
161
978
95
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This is really an excellent hotel for anyone who appreciates a bit of luxury and quality service. The interior of the hotel is really fabulous, with the wide staircases, high rooms and wall and ceiling decorations. Old "palace-style" comfort. In addition, excellent location with walking distance to the city centre.
Breakfast was not the traditional huge buffet, but rather a quality buffet with only the best.
The only complaint we have is the air conditioning, which was not really working in April yet, so at least the upper floor rooms were really hot.
The service in this hotel must be the best we have received in Europe. Really outstanding.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 331Eija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear 331Eija,

I was very happy to read how satisfied you were with the experienced services at Hotel Nemzeti. I am sorry about the air conditioning, we need to take into consideration the needs of the majority of our guests, as there is a central heating or cooling system. Since the temperature during the night is still below 10 degrees we kept the heating on during the night.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Well where to start ? Staying in this hotel is possibly one of the very best experiences I have had abroad on a City Break.

I booked the whole trip with Jet2holidays (having researched the hotel on Tripadviser) and we were not disappointed.

My husband and I (40’s) were travelling with our two greatest friends and neighbours (70’s). Prior to our holiday I contacted the hotel with regards to transfers, I received an immediate reply from an incredibly helpful Richárd who kindly arranged a taxi pickup from the Airport – which worked brilliantly.

On arrival at the hotel we were greeted warmly by a concierge and a lady receptionist who were lovely.

We both had rooms on the 4th floor next to each other and they were exceptionally clean and tidy and very comfortable.

Our rooms overlooked the square, which if you like to sleep with the window open as we do, was a little noisy, and we couldn’t shut the window because the air conditioning wasn’t yet on as it was still deemed cool and the hotel was heating itself. However when we raised this with the hotel they very kindly offered to either move us to the back of the hotel or provide us with a fan – which worked splendidly so we stayed where we were.

The hotel is beautiful inside with lovely marble and wrought iron staircases and full of mirrors – there is also an elevator but we used the stairs to remain fitter!

Breakfast was absolutely delicious, there was plenty to choose from and the coffee was great! So clean and tidy and there are plenty of staff there clearing the plates so nothing is dirty.
The hotel staff were so friendly, especially Aaron who kindly organised trips for us, recommended restaurants and generally looked after us with genuine interest and friendliness. We really cannot praise enough the staff they are all fabulous.

The hotel is well situated and you can either walk to everything or catch trams, busses or the hop on and off bus.

Great Place, great staff – great experience – don’t stay anywhere else in Budapest!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room and like the window open stay in the back of the hotel but the views aren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Crystalfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Crystalfox,

Allow me to express my gratitude for taking the time to write such a nice and extensive review of Your stay at the Hotel Nemzeti. I was very glad to read that you had a chance to try all of our services and even happier that you enjoyed them! I have already shared your comments with Richard and Aron, Your words made them really proud and will serve as an encouragement in their future.
I hope we will have a chance to welcome You back soon!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed here for 3 night break.
Hotel was beautiful, full of character and charming staff who mostly all spoke perfect English. Our room was on the cosy side, and the en-suite was tiny but perfectly formed... apart from the shower head in the bath (room 104) even my vertically challenged hubby had to duck under to get his head wet!. (That would be my only complaint - hence high rating). Our room was at the back so there was no noise at all, very peaceful.
The hotel is perfectly situated, particularly if you like a bit of a venture out, it's on the same road as Elizabeth bridge on the Pest side, and a good 20/30 mins walk to it. There is a tram stop right outside the hotel, but it didn't affect us. Tip: if you're the adventurous type, definitely book onto one of the many bus tour HOHO (hop on, hop off) busses, buy a 2/3 day ticket and use it as many times as you like. We went with The Big Bus tour, it included a 1.5 hour river cruise, and an hours night time tour - when the city looks totally different. You are handed a pair of earplugs to listen to the commentary in your preferred language, keep them for each time you 'hoho'. Get the leaflets first though, as we went for the slightly dearer one because the route was different, you may find other routes suit you better.
The breakfast was wide and varied with a decent time to get down for in the morning if you have had a tiring day. As most reviews mention, the staff really are that friendly, not just making small talk but appear to be genuinely interested. There is a lovely bar/restaurant if you feel like staying at the hotel, menu small but tasty and good value.
On departure we left our luggage with the concierge until we went for the airport, they booked a taxi for us, again nothing seemed like it was an effort to the staff.
Fab hotel, fab holiday and beautiful city, buildings and people! Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms that the window opened out into the middle of the hotel were very quiet, however as the window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tri-Trio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear TriTrio,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice and extensive review of your stay at the Hotel Nemzeti! I was very happy to read that you had a chance to try all of our services even more so, that you enjoyed them. I am happy to inform you that the shower hoses have already been replaced, so the next time you visit us that will not be a disturbance any more. I hope this next visit will be very soon!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Based myself here for 4 nights whilst competing and sightseeing. The Metro, trams and buses are literally outside the front door and the systems are really easy to use. Service was outstanding, staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. In need of ice for an injury it was supplied on several occasions with expressions of concern.... at breakfast one of the people keeping an eye on the breakfast room offered to get my food and drinks to save stressing the injury - it was better than being at home!!

Room Tip: Had a room facing the square... Absolutely no noise from the traffic below except for 3 sirens that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Kim W,

Thank you for your kind review! I was happy to read that you had such a nice time at the Hotel Nemzeti! Sorry about the injury, I hope everything is OK by now! Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Having stayed in a lot of Accor properties and high class hotels I admit I can be hard to impress. However, from the second we entered this beautiful building the staff couldn't do enough for us.

The male receptionist who checked us in was wonderful - he even called to ask if we were happy with the room once we had gotten settled in. When we checked out, the woman and man at the desk were lovely and chatted to us about our next destination.

We were lucky enough to stay in a suite on the 3rd floor. The shower was fantastic but be warned - the bathroom door was frosted so not the most private of rooms. The suite was very modernly decorated and furnished, it looked recently done. The bed was the highlight of the room, huge and extremely comfortable.

Breakfast was fantastic. Huge variety, staff were on top of everything continuously. Champagne was available too which I thought was a unique touch.

We ate and had drinks here once, and they served us bread complimentary with the most delicious butter. The food was good and quite reasonable for an international hotel chain. The menu is extremely limited though.

The building itself is magnificent, and the location isn't bad but in the newer area, just a 10 minute walk from a huge train station and 15 minutes to the river side and the old town.

All in all, one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at. Just fantastic. The manager should be very proud of the staff.

Room Tip: we had a courtside room - so quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leh2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Leh2111,

Thank you so much for this extensive review! I was very glad to read how happy You were with the experienced services, the design of the hotel and the quality of the food served. Indeed the management is proud of the quality that colleagues provide to our guests and I will make sure that Your praising words will be shared with them, to serve as a further encouragement in their future efforts.
We are all very much looking forward to seeing you back soon!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We visited here on a mid-week mini break and honestly cannot find fault with this beautiful hotel. The only thing we cannot comment on is the quality of the food, as we ate out for all our meals.
The staff are friendly, knowledgable and accommodating. The room was perfect, and the bed was too comfortable. The interior is simple and stylish. When we inevitably return to this gorgeous city, we'll almost certainly stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RBrook89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear RBrook89,

Thank you for Your kind words! I am very happy that you found everything to be "just perfect". I hope we will be able to welcome You back soon!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
4,694 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#39 of 333 in Budapest
4,232 reviews
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 333 in Budapest
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#16 of 333 in Budapest
2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Jozsef korut 4., Budapest 1088, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#11 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#12 Family Hotel in Budapest
#17 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centrally located Hotel Nemzeti Budapest Mgallery by Sofitel welcomes its guest from December 2012.Enjoy the artistic spirit of Budapest in this elegant 19th century building historically linked to the local cultural life. Near business district and major touristic attractions, the hotel offers memorable moments for its guests. Unique cultural and culinary experiences, contemporary designed rooms with every comfort of a 4 star upscale hotel including free internet access, coffee & tea facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Budapest Nemzeti Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Nemzeti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing