We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central 4 star”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #11 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Great central 4 star”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

This is an excellent hotel in a great central location a few hundred yards to metro and tram. The rooms are of a high standard and the bed large and very comfortable. We chose to eat out each day but what we saw looked good. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were 4 couples and all were very happy.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Chris B,

Thank You very much for Your kind words. I was really glad to read, that You were so happy with the experience. This coming from such a seasoned traveller is especially rewarding. I hope to welcome You back soon!

Best regards,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,308
    415
    46
    7
    2
See reviews for
163
987
96
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The hotel Nemzeti is a fairly central hotel, right next to a metro line. The hotel itself is lovely, all grand marble and soft lighting. The rooms (well, the one we had) are huge, with very comfortable beds, and decent bathrooms. The only gripe would be the air con, which was noisy and ineffectual. Other than this, the room had everything you could want. Given its position, you can get pretty much anywhere in Budapest within 30 minutes, using the metro system. You can walk to the central area in about 20 minutes.

Didn't have breakfast here (it seemed rather expensive), but did have a few drinks in the bar, and it's not bad - decent selection of wines. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful.

Budapest has lots of great places to eat and drink - highly recommend the Borkonyha restaurant just by St Stephen's basilica, and Doblo wine bar ain't bad either, with lots of the best of Hungarian food and wine.

Room Tip: Whilst the ones in the front have a great view, you might need earplugs, as it's noisy at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear seashaped,

Thank you for the review of Your stay at the Hotel Nemzeti. I really appreciate Your comments on the decor, the rooms, the bar and the location. I was sorry to read that you experienced problems with the air-conditioning. I can assure You that the problem will be addressed.

Best regards,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Albans, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed here on a mini break with two other couples and all 6 of us were extremely impressed. On arrival we were made to feel very welcome and shown to our rooms. Rooms some may think a little small but to me they were extremely clean, fresh looking, modern with a lovely bathroom with an amazing power shower, and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast fab, everything from omelettes, bacon and sausages to breads, jams, cheeses, fruits, cereals and as well as a whole variety of teas, coffee you can even choose to wash it all down with a glass of cava! Location, ideal as it's approx 20 min walk into the centre or right outside you have the bus, the tram and the underground, all of which we used without any problems . We used the hop on and off bus, a very good way of gaining you're bearings and you can buy these tickets from reception. You can also buy entrance tickets to other sightseeing attractions from reception which saves queuing time! Every need that we asked for of this hotel was met to a very high standard and we will return to Budapest and we will not be looking at other hotels as we will definetly go back to Hotel Nemzeti !

Room Tip: We stayed in room 105 an inside room away from the main road, nice and quiet! However I really don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Sarah T,

I was really happy to read Your review of Your recent stay at the Hotel Nemzeti. Thank you for the comments on the rooms and the breakfast and I am especially grateful for your mentioning of the availability of the staff. I do hope that we will see You on Your next visit to Budapest.

Best regards,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My wife and I stayed for 3 days here. This is a very old hotel with a lot of history. It's renovated and the rooms are modern and comfortable. The aesthetics somehow blend the old with the new. It has a lot of baroque finishes in the common areas - felt really nice.

Its immediately Across the Tram stop and also the Metro (2 lines intersect here, so its even more convenient). In Budapest, the attractions are spread out over the city, so there is probably no one "Central" area to stay, but being in front of the Metro and Tram stations was great. The Boulevard it's on (Josef Korut) makes for a nice walk. The ruin pubs are a 15 min walk from the hotel. They are an experience in themselves - you can even take a bus from here if you don't want to walk 15 min.

The hotel staff were very welcoming, helpful and friendly. They put in efforts to explain the city's highlights, and commuting. Always patient, never in a hurry. A special thanks to Barbara and Esther for all the guidance and help. (Yep they made an impression, I still have their names in mind even after 3 weeks).

Compliments to the General Manager. She put in efforts to meet the residents, and she gave my wife and me a nice introduction to the hotel and the city. In my interaction with her I got a feeling that her efforts to be in touch with the clients translated into a better managed property.

Overall a very Memorable stay at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest!!

Room Tip: Our room overlooking the Tram stop was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Giri44,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such an extensive review of Your experience at the Hotel Nemzeti. It is very rewarding to read such reviews as we can see that our efforts are appreciated. I will make sure to share Your kind words with the rest of the team especially Esther and Barbara, I am sure they will provide encouragement in their future efforts. I hope we will be able to welcome you back to our hotel for Your next visit to Budapest!

Best regards,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Request a light colored room facing the courtyard if you require a good nights sleep. This newly remodeled hotel is located right off the tram line and steps from the subway. We learned that this is one of the oldest hotels in Budapest and the most recently remodeled. The staff was courteous and the rooms were very clean and modern. Located in a more urban part of town, transportation was super easy to get to and navigate.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Tatiana772,

Thank You very much for taking the time to write this review of Your recent stay at the Hotel Nemzeti. I was glad to see that the experience met Your expectations and that You were able to make good use of our excellent location.

Best regards,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

this is part of a chain, a classic hotel that has been very well renovated. The room we had was a nice size for us, all very well looked after and clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. The A/C stopped working and the staff were very quick to fix it (although the cleaning staff had been in when it wasn't working and seem to have not noticed the boiling temperature!). If you like to stand under the shower avoid the fifth floor where the shower heads are at waist level in the bath, for some reason). Free infra red sauna for guests which was good to have. Close to excellent transport links tram, metro and buses.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear JonF3,

Thank You for taking the time to write a review of Your stay at the Hotel Nemzeti. I was happy to read that You had a nice experience overall. I was sorry to read about the malfunction of the A/C system, we have since addressed the problem. Some rooms on the 5th floor have bathtubs, that are partially underneath the roof, as You mentioned, not too suitable for taking showers. Please make sure to note on Your next reservation, that You prefer a room with a shower.

Best regards,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

I would highly recommend staying here its a great location. The hotel itself is lovely, very comfortable, relaxing and stylish.
The staff were fantastic and gave us some great recommendations for things to do and how to get around.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear WhiteRoseTammy,

Thank You very much for the great review and the recommendation! I hope to see You back soon!

Best regards,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 334 in Budapest
4,736 reviews
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 334 in Budapest
1,083 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#40 of 334 in Budapest
4,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 334 in Budapest
972 reviews
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 334 in Budapest
2,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Jozsef korut 4., Budapest 1088, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#10 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#12 Family Hotel in Budapest
#17 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centrally located Hotel Nemzeti Budapest Mgallery by Sofitel welcomes its guest from December 2012.Enjoy the artistic spirit of Budapest in this elegant 19th century building historically linked to the local cultural life. Near business district and major touristic attractions, the hotel offers memorable moments for its guests. Unique cultural and culinary experiences, contemporary designed rooms with every comfort of a 4 star upscale hotel including free internet access, coffee & tea facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Budapest Nemzeti Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Nemzeti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing