We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't recommended enough!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #12 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I cannot recommend this hotel enough!

The staff at the hotel are all really courteous and knowledgable, and willing to help with any questions you might have about Budapest (no matter how big or small).

We stayed in a superior room on the 3rd floor and were a little worried after reading reviews here about having a road facing room. However, the windows are pretty sound proof, and unless you are a person who gets annoyed by a ticking clock, the road noise is not an issue. The room itself was a good size, very clean with decent sized bathroom and fantastic shower.

Although the hotel seems a little out of the way, we found it was only 10 minutes walk to the river, and 15 minutes walk to Hero's square near the main baths and Budapest Zoo. If you don't like walking there is a tram stop right outside the main doors, along with a bus stop and an M2 metro station. We found the location perfect as it allowed us to see the whole of the city easily and you'll never be far away from any of the main attractions. Just 5 mins walk towards the river direction were 2 Tesco express stores, and right opposite the hotel is a large spar - all sell fresh baked goods for around 150ft (about 35p) ideal if you're not having breakfast at the hotel.

All in all, a fantastic experience, and great value for money. We will be back :)

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Chris G,

Thank You very much for taking the time to write such an extensive review of Your stay at the Hotel Nemzeti. It is always a pleasure to read positive feedback. I am really happy that You were able to benefit from the size of the superior room and that the sound proof windows allowed You to enjoy a good nights' rest. I was also glad to learn that my colleagues were able to help make the best use of Your time in Budapest. Thank You again for the compliments, I really hope we will be able to welcome You back soon!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,909)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

861 - 867 of 1,909 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed for three nights and couldn't fault the hotel at all. Rooms modern and well equipped with big comfortable beds. Bathroom amenities such as shampoo, shower gel and body lotion supplied and replenished daily. Hotel interior is grand with amazing architecture but still managed to retain a friendly and welcoming atmosphere. Staff very friendly and helpful, offering advice on places to eat and visit and also how to negotiate Budapest on foot or public transport. Breakfast was excellent with something for everyone regardless of nationality and was good value for money. Location was excellent, couldn't have chosen somewhere more convenient. It's right next to the metro and also the tram stop so good if using public transport. Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard for peace and quiet or overlooking the street if you want the bustle and atmosphere of the city. We had a wonderful three day break and it was made extra special by the staff from the efficient front of house, restaurant staff to housekeeping. Nothing was too much trouble and were polite and friendly every day making sure everything was perfect. Will definitely return to Budapest and would stay here again without hesitation and recommend to anyone looking for a hotel offering quality, value for money and style. Well done Hotel Nemzeti Budapest!

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the courtyard and it was very quiet. Rooms over looking the street would p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tweetypies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Tweetypies,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Nemzeti Budapest. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Location is good, just right outside of the metro station and you could even work to the main attraction if the weather is allowed.
Room is small but decent.
One down side is the bathroom was flooded everyday that we have to use all the towels to stop the water go inside to the bedroom! The hotel admitted it was the renovation issue but they didn't take any actions even after 2 years. Recommend me to change to another room but the smell was very bad and near the walkway, we chose to stay.

Overall it was ok despite the flooded room, the breakfast variety is quite a lot just don't expect the quality.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Rjliuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Rjliuna,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Hotel Nemzeti Budapest. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At M Gallery, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed for 5 nights with my sister in a twin room. The hotel is well located for easy access to all parts of the city. Metro link was near the hotel and we often chose to walk to destinations.

The room was beautiful, staff friendly and helpful. Food in the restaurant was excellent value for money and to a high standard . Can not recommend this hotel highly enough!!

Will definitely revisit.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank aramahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear aramahs,

I was very glad to read what a wonderful stay You had at the Hotel Nemzeti! Thank You very much the recommendtaion! I hope we will see You back soon, for Your next visit!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The staff at the hotel were professional and accommodating as well as warm and helpful. The rooms were very spacious, comfortable and clean. We ordered the breakfast buffet and were very impressed with the large selection of items to choose from. The coffee here was the best we found in Europe. That is, it was closest to the coffee we are accustomed to in Canada.
The hotel is an older building with recent upgrades but the older character of the hotel has been beautifully preserved. We were surprised at the hotel and meal costs everywhere we went in Europe. This hotel was very reasonably priced and the buffet breakfast, in comparison, was inexpensive. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had just arrived in Europe and hadn't adjusted to the 8 time zone change so didn't take a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bjbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear bjbuddy,

Thank you for posting this review of Your recent stay at the Hotel Nemzeti. I am very happy to read that You had such a warm welcome, and pleasant stay! Thank You for the compliments!
I hope we will be able to welcome You back soon!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Beautiful building inside out! Already the first impression of the building itself and it's wonderful staircase gave a promising start to our holiday in Budapest. The check-in was extremely smooth and the young lady extremely polite, helpful and friendly and gave us a bunch of little booklets about Budapest. The guy helping with the luggage was simply incredibly friendly, we have stayed many times in 4-5 star hotels lately and staff is seldom this polite and friendly without being pushy or "too much". The luggage guy told us also a bit about the hotel, showed the breakfast room personally which as simply extraordinary.
The room itself was spotlessly clean, very comfortable big beds, light colors in our room and the high ceiling gave a feeling of air and space to the room which was pretty big already. The AC worked perfectly well; really appreciated as it was +30 pretty much every day. Lots of space for the the clothes (big clean closets), nice working desk and chair and safe for the PC or other valuables. Sockets by the bed which I always appreciate.
Bathroom was extremely clean and had this same "fresh" look as the room itself. The frosted glass door without a possibility to lock it was a minus thou. Shower had nice preassure, amenities were good quality (thou not replaced every day) and there was a kettle with coffee/tea making facilities in the room. Extremely soundproof room as well, we didn't hear anything from the street (room facing courtyard) or from the corridors either.
Breakfast was included in our booking and was of very good quality, especially the patisserie. Lots of bread to choose from, croissants, pain au chocolat, muffins and small cakes... hot (eggs, bacon and other classics) and cold (cheese, vegetables, yaourts, müesli etc) choices for every taste and even sparkling wine (if you want to have this little extra touch to make your morning special) gave a lovely start for the day.
There is a fairly small and somewhat slow elevator in the hotel (one only) but if you can, take the stairs... the staircase could not be more beautiful!!
M2 metroline is literally two steps away as well as the tram. Buy a touristcard or weekly pass, it's cheap and the public transportation was clean and easy to use. Just be aware that the metro closes pretty early (around 11.30pm, at least M2 during the week).
Wifi worked perfectly and there were several (mostly local and German but some English too) tv channels to choose from as well as radio channels and a loudspeaker even in the bathroom.
We'd highly recommend this hotel to everyone. It's not super close (10-15 minutes walk away) to the main shopping areas and restaurants or the beautiful Danube but with the metro everything can be reached very easily and fast. Some supermarkets also around the corner if you need to buy some fruit, drinks etc.
Excellent staff. Excellent room. Excellet comfort. Excellet breakfast. Excellent quality. Excellent value. Excellet stay - what else can you ask for? We'd definitely go back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank RoadCalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Roadcalls,

First of all, allow me to thank You for taking the time, to write such an extensive summary of Your experience at the Hotel Nemzeti. I was very pleased and proud of my colleagues, to read that Your stay was so fantastic, and to see that You found the quality closer to the offerings of 5 star hotels. I will make sure to share this review with my colleagues, as I am sure it will serve as an encouragement in their future efforts.
I hope we will be able to welcome You back soon!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed 28 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 336 in Budapest
4,989 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#42 of 336 in Budapest
4,522 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 336 in Budapest
1,433 reviews
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#16 of 336 in Budapest
4,417 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: Jozsef korut 4., Budapest 1088, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#11 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#11 Family Hotel in Budapest
#17 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £68 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centrally located Hotel Nemzeti Budapest Mgallery by Sofitel welcomes its guest from December 2012.Enjoy the artistic spirit of Budapest in this elegant 19th century building historically linked to the local cultural life. Near business district and major touristic attractions, the hotel offers memorable moments for its guests. Unique cultural and culinary experiences, contemporary designed rooms with every comfort of a 4 star upscale hotel including free internet access, coffee & tea facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Budapest Nemzeti Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Nemzeti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing