We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A solid 10!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #10 of 340 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A solid 10!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

The only rival I've stayed in for pure value for money was a fancy resort in Thailand some years back. This place is superb. Gorgeous rooms, super friendly staff, superb breakfast and tremendous location. Oh yeah, and a price to boot. Two thumbs up!

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Guy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guy M,

Thank You very much for the kind words and the excellent review! I am really pleased to read that You had such a nice time! I hope we can see You back again soon!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,211
    381
    41
    7
    1
See reviews for
152
910
87
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

I intended to book The Aquincum hotel for our 3 nights stay but I'm glad I was overruled and booked the Nemzeti instead.After spending a year and half globetrotting on work related projects, I have had my fare share of good and bad hotels but Nemzeti stands out on exceptional client service and all the nice things you would wish for to explore the magnificent city of Budapest.This was our first time in Budapest and what an experience it was. I would like to personally thank the awesome reception crew, Dori, Vanda, Eszter(sky bar or 360), Veronika, Mark, Zoltan and can't remember the other guys who sorted out my shuttle to the airport. I would definitely stay here again and already recommended the hotel to friends and colleagues at work.

Room Tip: If you want a very quiet room, 5th floor facing the courtyard, no view but you will have your peace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Morris T,

Thank You very much for this raving review of Your recent stay at the Hotel Nemzeti. I am really happy, above all things, that You ended up staying with us, instead of the Aquincum, and am especialiy glad that You did not regret this change of plans. I will make sure to let all of the mentioned colleagues know that You had such a nice time and appreciated our efforts. This is a big encouragement for all of us!
I hope we will see You back soon!
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I cannot recommend this hotel enough!

The staff at the hotel are all really courteous and knowledgable, and willing to help with any questions you might have about Budapest (no matter how big or small).

We stayed in a superior room on the 3rd floor and were a little worried after reading reviews here about having a road facing room. However, the windows are pretty sound proof, and unless you are a person who gets annoyed by a ticking clock, the road noise is not an issue. The room itself was a good size, very clean with decent sized bathroom and fantastic shower.

Although the hotel seems a little out of the way, we found it was only 10 minutes walk to the river, and 15 minutes walk to Hero's square near the main baths and Budapest Zoo. If you don't like walking there is a tram stop right outside the main doors, along with a bus stop and an M2 metro station. We found the location perfect as it allowed us to see the whole of the city easily and you'll never be far away from any of the main attractions. Just 5 mins walk towards the river direction were 2 Tesco express stores, and right opposite the hotel is a large spar - all sell fresh baked goods for around 150ft (about 35p) ideal if you're not having breakfast at the hotel.

All in all, a fantastic experience, and great value for money. We will be back :)

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Chris G,

Thank You very much for taking the time to write such an extensive review of Your stay at the Hotel Nemzeti. It is always a pleasure to read positive feedback. I am really happy that You were able to benefit from the size of the superior room and that the sound proof windows allowed You to enjoy a good nights' rest. I was also glad to learn that my colleagues were able to help make the best use of Your time in Budapest. Thank You again for the compliments, I really hope we will be able to welcome You back soon!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed for three nights and couldn't fault the hotel at all. Rooms modern and well equipped with big comfortable beds. Bathroom amenities such as shampoo, shower gel and body lotion supplied and replenished daily. Hotel interior is grand with amazing architecture but still managed to retain a friendly and welcoming atmosphere. Staff very friendly and helpful, offering advice on places to eat and visit and also how to negotiate Budapest on foot or public transport. Breakfast was excellent with something for everyone regardless of nationality and was good value for money. Location was excellent, couldn't have chosen somewhere more convenient. It's right next to the metro and also the tram stop so good if using public transport. Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard for peace and quiet or overlooking the street if you want the bustle and atmosphere of the city. We had a wonderful three day break and it was made extra special by the staff from the efficient front of house, restaurant staff to housekeeping. Nothing was too much trouble and were polite and friendly every day making sure everything was perfect. Will definitely return to Budapest and would stay here again without hesitation and recommend to anyone looking for a hotel offering quality, value for money and style. Well done Hotel Nemzeti Budapest!

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the courtyard and it was very quiet. Rooms over looking the street would p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tweetypies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Tweetypies,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Nemzeti Budapest. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Location is good, just right outside of the metro station and you could even work to the main attraction if the weather is allowed.
Room is small but decent.
One down side is the bathroom was flooded everyday that we have to use all the towels to stop the water go inside to the bedroom! The hotel admitted it was the renovation issue but they didn't take any actions even after 2 years. Recommend me to change to another room but the smell was very bad and near the walkway, we chose to stay.

Overall it was ok despite the flooded room, the breakfast variety is quite a lot just don't expect the quality.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rjliuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Rjliuna,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Hotel Nemzeti Budapest. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At M Gallery, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed for 5 nights with my sister in a twin room. The hotel is well located for easy access to all parts of the city. Metro link was near the hotel and we often chose to walk to destinations.

The room was beautiful, staff friendly and helpful. Food in the restaurant was excellent value for money and to a high standard . Can not recommend this hotel highly enough!!

Will definitely revisit.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank aramahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear aramahs,

I was very glad to read what a wonderful stay You had at the Hotel Nemzeti! Thank You very much the recommendtaion! I hope we will see You back soon, for Your next visit!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

The staff at the hotel were professional and accommodating as well as warm and helpful. The rooms were very spacious, comfortable and clean. We ordered the breakfast buffet and were very impressed with the large selection of items to choose from. The coffee here was the best we found in Europe. That is, it was closest to the coffee we are accustomed to in Canada.
The hotel is an older building with recent upgrades but the older character of the hotel has been beautifully preserved. We were surprised at the hotel and meal costs everywhere we went in Europe. This hotel was very reasonably priced and the buffet breakfast, in comparison, was inexpensive. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had just arrived in Europe and hadn't adjusted to the 8 time zone change so didn't take a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bjbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear bjbuddy,

Thank you for posting this review of Your recent stay at the Hotel Nemzeti. I am very happy to read that You had such a warm welcome, and pleasant stay! Thank You for the compliments!
I hope we will be able to welcome You back soon!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 340 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,495 reviews
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 340 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#6 of 340 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#15 of 340 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,723 reviews
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 340 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Jozsef korut 4., Budapest 1088, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#9 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#12 Family Hotel in Budapest
#17 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centrally located Hotel Nemzeti Budapest Mgallery by Sofitel welcomes its guest from December 2012.Enjoy the artistic spirit of Budapest in this elegant 19th century building historically linked to the local cultural life. Near business district and major touristic attractions, the hotel offers memorable moments for its guests. Unique cultural and culinary experiences, contemporary designed rooms with every comfort of a 4 star upscale hotel including free internet access, coffee & tea facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Prestigia, LateRooms, ACCOR, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Budapest Nemzeti Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Nemzeti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing