We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying here is a pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #12 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Staying here is a pleasure”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights last week and found this hotel to be an excellent choice. It has a wonderful sweeping staircase leading up from the reception area and on first appearance it seems that there is an old world charm about the hotel but when you are in the bedrooms they are very modern and smart with every facility. The beds were exceptionally comfortable and everywhere was spotless. The staff (all from reception to cleaning girls) are very helpful and friendly. All in all a memorable stay in the lovely city of Budapest.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Jean M,

Thank you very much for your kind words! It was a pleasure to read what a great experience you had at the Hotel Nemzeti. I really appreciate your comments on the charm of the hotel and the comfort of the bed. I hope we will be able to welcome you back for another Memorable stay!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,294
    410
    45
    7
    2
See reviews for
161
978
95
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Union City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We were welcomed by a very friendly staff when we arrived late. I was impressed by the very clean room, the size is not that big, but with all amenities, everything is absolutely new and clean. Breakfast is good with assortments breads, hot foods, fruits and drinks. The hotel design is unique and location is also good, few steps from metro, on the corner, there is a big supermarket, right opposite the hotel, there is a new shopping mall with H&M inside, so, I picked the swim suit easily from there for the Roman bath in Szechenyi Baths. No complaints, and will highly recommend to everybody.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggyho162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights for my birthday in June. Hotel is what we had hoped for. It is a characterful building while rooms are modern and of good size. I would say the hotel is at the edge of the main central area in terms of tourist sites but not an issue as still easy walking distance to main shopping areas and Danube and trams/underground stops right outside hotel if wishing to use public transport. Staff friendly and helpful and breakfast had plenty of choice (great selection of breads and fruit as well as cooked options and cheeses that you would expect). I would recommend to anyone looking for a better than average hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scullyEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear scullyEdinburgh,

Thank you for your feedback! I was really glad to read, that we were able to meet your expectations in the level of service that you experienced during your stay at the Hotel Nemzeti. Thank you also for your nice comments on the location, the breakfast and the friendliness of the staff. I also appreciate the recommendtaion!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I really enjoyed my short stay here. The room was great with separate lounge from the bedroom on the 5th floor. Great facilities especially the Nespresso coffee.
The bed was super comfortable and we didn't want to get up.
The night receptionist was really helpful on check in and parked our car for us and remembered us when we came back for it the next day.
Our stay was very brief so I can't comment on the breakfast just the sleep quality and the staff we encountered, all of which were helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonTnT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear LondonTnT,

Thank you very much for writing a feedback on your short stay with us! I was very happy to read that you injoyed it so much and were able to benefit from our valet service and the comfortable bed. I hope we will be able to welcome you back for a longer visit next time.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Lovely hotel, friendly staff, nice rooms, good breakfast options, overall an enjoyable stay. In a good location in the city too. Only bad thing to say was the drain in the shower gurgled fairly loudly every so often.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RPacker85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Rpacker 85,

Thank you very much for the kind words! Iwas very glad to read how much you enjoyed your stay! I hope we will be able to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel was amazing, right from the start the lady at reception was super friendly. She then helped us to organise other activities that we wanted to do! The bell boy was also very helpful explaining all the main sights and the best way to get there!

The rooms are decent size and the beds and pillows are amazing so you are guaranteed a great nights sleep.
The rooms were cleaned every day and too a high standard.

The location of the hotel was also perfect right on the edge of the city but the metro and tram line are right outside the door making it easy to get around.

Lastly, and the highlight was the buffet breakfast they offered an amazing selection which catered everyone's needs!
I will definitely be recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacinta04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Jacinta 04,

Thank you very much for the kind words! It was a pleasure to read that you had such a great time and were able to benefit from the quality of the service the hotel provided. I really hope we will able to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level Contributor
258 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Hotel is excellent. Obviously been a large investment in the property and it's been brought right up to the best international standards. Right from the start the staff are welcoming and very friendly. Check in is fast and efficient.

Hotel refit has retained the character of the hotel whilst also modernising at the same time. Bar is fairly quite in the evening, and with all the good eating places around, we didn't get a chance of eating in the restaurant, so can't comment on the food. Try the Pilinka - mezes Barack (honey and apricot) is lovely.

Our room was on the top floor, and even though the hotel is on a busy road with the #4 & 6 trams stopping right outside the double glazing is extremely efficient and cuts out all noise. Added to that, the bed is one of the most comfortable I've ever known. So a good night's sleep is guaranteed.

The rooms are a really good size and very well equipped, as well as being spotlessly clean. Didn't have a bath in our room, only a shower. But that's not a problem for us. A again, spotlessly clean ever day and well equipped with shampoo, shower gel etc. Our room had a view across the buildings of Budapest to the Palace on the Budapest side. Distant, but still a good view none the less.

Location of the hotel is excellent as well. Tram outside the door and the metro entrance about 20m for the door. The transport system of Budapest is excellent and this location makes getting to all major attractions very very simple. If you stay for a week, go to the metro station and buy a week pass that covers all transport I the city (team, bus, trolley bus, metro and train).

If this hotel is on your list, just book it. Really comfortable stay and thoroughly recommended. Will be back again one day.

Room Tip: 5th floor with a view of the Palace. Also very very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nigs_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Joan745,

I would like to thank you for your time in writing this review of your stay. It is always a pleasure to recieve positive feedback. Thank you especially for your praising words on the staff and the breakfast.
I hope we will have a chance to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
4,693 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#39 of 333 in Budapest
4,232 reviews
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 333 in Budapest
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#16 of 333 in Budapest
2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Jozsef korut 4., Budapest 1088, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#11 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#12 Family Hotel in Budapest
#17 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centrally located Hotel Nemzeti Budapest Mgallery by Sofitel welcomes its guest from December 2012.Enjoy the artistic spirit of Budapest in this elegant 19th century building historically linked to the local cultural life. Near business district and major touristic attractions, the hotel offers memorable moments for its guests. Unique cultural and culinary experiences, contemporary designed rooms with every comfort of a 4 star upscale hotel including free internet access, coffee & tea facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Budapest Nemzeti Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Nemzeti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing