We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Peregrinus ELTE Hotel
Ranked #150 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel with a friend. The hotel is really well located, 50 metres away from the pedestrian Váci Street and 200 metres away from the market. It is also within walking distance from many important landmarks.
The bedroom was comfortable and so was the bathroom. Breakfast is quite good as well.
I would definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueBuenosAires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

A contact at the University of Budapest made the booking for me. I was on academic business at the university. I have graded the hotel on location, comfort, price, and service.

The hotel is in a prestige mid-nineteenth century building. No expense has been spared on making it immaculately clean, with large rooms, high ceilings, double glazed windows. Comfortable bed with lovely linen and down pillows. Fast free internet. Old tv with few channels. Excellent desk for doing real work. Great bathroom (shower not bath tub).

The hotel is in Szerb utca, a very quiet street with hardly any traffic. There are loads of restaurants nearby, with a big variety of styles and taste. You're 150 metres from the beautiful Danube, about 500 metres from the Chain Bridge, and in the heart of the university district. Excellent public transport links.

The breakfast room at the hotel provides a fairly standard European buffet offering. If you want eggs benedict you'll need to take a walk to one of the streets with breakfast menu restaurants.

The hotel has a gorgeous little courtyard where breakfast etc is served in the summer.

All the rooms are okay - most have views across the street

Room Tip: Anything on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Well, I was with my family (3 persons) for formula 1 week-end, in a very hot and animated Budapest. The location of the hotel is excellent, near oane of the most famous commercial streets in eastern Europe: Vaci utca (Vaci street). Another plus is that the hotel is very close to the Danube.
The location of the hotel helps you to walk along the center o historical Budapest, a very superb city.
Despite the fact that the hotel does not have parking area, you have no worry. The oneway streets have in both parts a lot of parking. The schedule for parking: 8.00 - 20.00 (440 HUF/hour, 3 hours max). After 8.00 o'clock PM, 'till 8.00 in the morning, the parking is free. Likewise the weekend.
It is a very cozy and quiet hotel, use an alarm clock if you want to get up. Despite the central area, is a very silence flat.

Room Tip: Don't worry about parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CucuMucuMotorsport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Pros:
-Great location near loads of shops, restaurants, and the river.
-Very helpful staff (they even made our reservation at the baths for a massage for no extra charge. -And they let you bring their towels with you, saving you having to rent them)
-Wifi included
-elevator
-tv with cable (including a few channels in English)
-elevator

Cons: very skimpy breakfast

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marqgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I have booked in this hotel because it was very near the Eötvös Loránd University where I was attending a meeting for a week. The room that was assigned to me had no air conditioned, although the temperatures outside were around 34ºC and inside the room more than 30ºC. When I complained they decided to show me an air conditioned room in the attic, with no opening windows, but temperature in the attic was more than 40ºC in the corridor and also inside the room. So I decided to stay in the first room, although I knew I was unable to sleep with that kind of heat. At the same time, I decided to move to another hotel the next day, but they charged me two nights although I only stayed one night, because they said I had a reservation for more days. The reason I had to move was directly concerned with the lack of conditions in this hotel, that clearly should be closed when temperatures are high. Unfortunately they overcharged me because I could not sleep in there.
Also the hotel should be classified with one star, if any, instead of three stars they show outside.
Do not stay in this hotel, besides having no conditions is a complete rip-off !!!
João Pedro Luz.

Room Tip: Do not stay in this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPLuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at this good priced, centrally located hotel. We had a special personal experience with some of the staff members even though their English was not fluent. The hotel even did our washing at our request at no extra cost!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koenej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

The staff is very kind, nice and helpful, especially the lady who takes care about the breakfast.
The rooms are bright, tidy, clean and very big.
The position is great and the prices are more than reasonable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alessia_mcduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Kalvin House
#113 of 334 in Budapest
439 reviews
District V / Inner City
Cosmo City Hotel
Cosmo City Hotel
#49 of 334 in Budapest
799 reviews
District V / Inner City
Estilo Fashion Hotel
Estilo Fashion Hotel
#48 of 334 in Budapest
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 334 in Budapest
2,473 reviews
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#47 of 334 in Budapest
739 reviews
District V / Inner City
Leo Panzio Hotel
Leo Panzio Hotel
#124 of 334 in Budapest
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peregrinus ELTE Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peregrinus ELTE Hotel

Address: Szerb utca 3, Budapest 1056, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Hotel Class:3 star — Peregrinus ELTE Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Peregrinus ELTE Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing