We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Petnehazy Club Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$332
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$143
US$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$143
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$116
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hilton Budapest(Budapest)
US$268
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$223
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$143
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$281
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$141
US$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$225
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
38
59
37
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
59
37
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbuda hillstennis courtsdanube bendthe resort offersroom cabintimeshare swapmain buildingweek stayadjoining roomsbus stopthe wi fishuttlecityprivacykitchenettebuseseurope
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 152 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2012

A beautiful and silent site in rural Budapest yet so close to the city. No other place in the whole area serves better food than in the restaurant. In one word: excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hunterfmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PetnehazyClubHotel, General Manager at Petnehazy Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences we are so glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us, at Petneházy!

If you would ever come back to Hungary, just contact us!

With warm regards from Petneházy:
Gyongyi Hajdu
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We found this location via booking.com and review from tripadvisor. What a wonderful place. It is now our second time at this hotel. We have a large family and got the two room cabin with spa. The setting is in the woods and the cabins are made of wood logs, giving it a nice rustic atmosphere. Depending on the time of year, the breakfast maybe included in the price, but regardless the breakfast is worth the price. They have an indoor and an outdoor pool which were very nice. They also have a golf course which we did not use.
It only takes about 20 minutes drive to downtown Budapest, so if you bring your own car it is very easy.

Room Tip: Get the two bedroom cabin if coming with a family with kids
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rfmonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PetnehazyClubHotel, General Manager at Petnehazy Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for your kind words!
We are happy that you've enjoyed your stay in here at Petneházy!

In case you would travel to Budapest again, just contact us!

Looking forward to seeing you again!

Kindest regards from Petneházy:
Gyongyi Hajdu
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We picked this resort because we wanted to go to Budapest and this was available for our RCI time share exchange. We stayed for a week in December 2011 and enjoyed it very much, but this resort may not be for everyone - I've highlighted the pros and cons below.

Location and Amenities:
This resort is not in central Budapest it is on the Buda side of the Danube, in the Buda Hills. It is a beautiful area with many horse farms in the area and quiet countryside. There are rooms in the hotel portion of the resort as well as cabins. The hotel has a shuttle service to/from Budapest at set times during the day (it was 1000HUF per person for one way @$4), and you can also make arrangements for the shuttle to take you to other areas as well. There is a restaurant at the hotel which we only ate at on our final night - it was delicious and reasonable, we wish we had tried it earlier. There is an indoor and an outdoor swimming pool - the indoor pool was very nice, but we visited in December so the outdoor pool was closed. There were tennis courts covered by a large dome - so they were open throughout the winter.

There is public transportation near the hotel, but it is about a 3/4 mile walk to the bus stop and the return walk is uphill. We didn't mind this and took public transportation every day into the city but it is something to be aware of if you are not a 'walker'. To get into the city you take the 63 bus to the 61 tram. It's fairly easy and very inexpensive - a week long public transport pass cost under $20. This covered all buses, trams, and metros. The transport system in Hungary is pretty easy to figure out and get's you to most of the attractions.

There is a small grocery store – the CBA, at the end of the #63 bus line from the hotel. Otherwise there is a large Match grocery store in the Mammut mall at the end of the #61 tram line in Budapest.

Rooms/Cabins:
Since we had a group of people that didn't all fit in the cabin, we experienced both the hotel rooms and the 1 bedroom cabin. The hotel rooms were comfortable and clean, the cabin was the same. I thought the beds were super comfortable, and the pull out couch was not bad... for a pull out couch. The hotel rooms had a small refrigerator and coffee maker, the cabins had a small fully equipped kitchen. We picked up groceries for breakfast and the occasional dinner at the CBA and Match stores mentioned above (bring your own grocery bags or make sure to buy them at the checkout counter). The bathroom in the cabin was ok, but we had to be cautious about using all the hot water when taking showers as each cabin had its own small water heater. There was a lovely sauna in the cabin that worked perfectly – it was a great treat on a cold day! Heat in the cabins was very good and we often had to turn it down a bit as it would get very warm.

Staff:
The staff was competent if not overly friendly and helpful. A little more guidance would have been helpful a few times. The front desk staff all spoke English as well as some of the bar staff and waiters, but be prepared to be patient and keep smiling.

Things to Do:
We scheduled a few things to do through RCI, but primarily had our own plans. There is not much to do at the resort aside from swimming and tennis. In the summer it looked like the nearby stables were open for horseback riding. You will need a car if you’d like to explore further into the country or you can book a tour through the hotel. To get into central Budapest where there are many things to do and see, you’ll need to take public transport or the hotel shuttle.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank travel_junkie3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PetnehazyClubHotel, Manager at Petnehazy Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you a lot for writing a detailed kind review we really do appreciate it!
We hope next time we will have the chance to welcome you again in our resort at Petnehazy Club Hotel!

Wishing you all the best, kind regards:
Gyongyi Hajdu
Hotel Manager
Petnehazy Club Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We stayed at the hotel at the 2nd week of October as RCI members. When we arrived at the hotel the person at the reception welcome us in a very friendly way.

The cottage that we stayed was in an excellent location with a great view.

We ate once only at the hotel’s restaurant and the food was very good, big ration and good cooked. Prices were at reasonable prices.

Because we had a kitchen in our cottage we cooked a lot and the kitchenware was enough for cooking.

Towels changed 3 times in the 7 days and there were a lot of them in different size.

Beds were in a perfect condition and the cottage was very warm even when the temperature outside was aprox +5.

In the cottage also a sauna and that was a very pleasant surprise for us. Of course we used it and worked perfectly.

Even though the hotel does not have a market near the way to the market was pleasant waking through the trees.

Generally the hotel was excellent. If we go again to Budapest we would go to same hotel without second thought.

We highly recommend it for vacations especially with children.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tassoula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PetnehazyClubHotel, Director of Sales at Petnehazy Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Dear Tssoula C!

Thank you very much for your review, it's really important for us!

It's really good to hear that you had a great stay in one of our cottages, that's the best praise for us!

If next time you would visit our capital, do not hesitate to contact us for a good deal:)

We wish you a great day!

Best regards:
Petnehazy Club Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Stayed for a week and used it as a base for travel to the city, as well as to Vienna and Bratislava.
The staff was very nice and helpful. We had breakfast once, which for Europe's standards, was worth $11. The RCI meeting is on Sunday, and they provide you with a city map, information, excursion information, and tips about the city. There is a lunch buffet after that, but we went to Budapest instead. We did have dinner there once, and both of our orders were phenomenal with great service! There was only one future deal-breaker we had with the hotel, and that was the one sheet over the two beds, without a fitted sheet. We both woke up with our faces on bare mattress. It was only hot the first 2 days, and they offer a fan for $4/day.
The shuttle service to and from the airport was great, and the driver made a stop for us to exchange currency. We took one excursion on Monday, and went to several places in Buda and Pest on a coach with a tour guide which was also excellent.
Things to be aware of if you go:
The pool closes at 8pm. There are 4 TV channels in English. Pets are allowed, for a fee. The internet in the lobby has facebook blocked, and if you use the hotel computer, the keyboard is in Hungarian (of course). The hotel has nothing to do with the horses next door, so walk over if you want information. Dinner services stop at 8pm, and expect to spend an hour, as this is Europe, not Denny's...so it is rude to go after 7pm. It would be difficult to find in a car, as there a few street signs anywhere, just trees.
The shuttle service is nice, and for $3 per person to get to the city, it's cheap! However, the service is scheduled, and the return is offered at 5pm. If you are interested in nightlife, then take public transportation, which takes 45min to 1hr, depending on stops. The walk back at night was fine because we had moonlight.
The bus stop is a 10min walk from the hotel, and it is across the street from a good restaurant, junk food shack, very sweet man with a fruit stand (he does not speak "Agolul", so just wing it), and a small grocery store were we got drinks to avoid hotel/train station prices. Take bus 63 at Ady Liget to the tram stop at Huvosvolgy. Get on tram 61 and go to Moszkova Square. From there, the Red Metro line takes you to most everywhere you want to be. A week bus ticket covers everything within the city.
Overall we did not spend much time in the hotel aside from sleeping, but enjoyed every bit while we were there!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank kdali7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PetnehazyClubHotel, Director of Sales at Petnehazy Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Dear kdali7,

Thank you for your review!

Your advises are really helpful for other guests who plan to visit Budapest and our hotel. So, thank you very much for the useful information!

Only one small thing: the Facebook-locking problem now is solved, so If you would come to Budapest next time, you will be able to use the whole internet:)

Have a great day and thank you again!

Best regards,
Petnehazy Club Hotel's Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews