We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The cabins are great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Petnehazy Club Hotel
Ranked #174 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We have been going to this hotel for years already with my parents. Especially I myself have enjoyed these trips very much. We have stayed in the cabins that they offer most of the time, only once in the actual hotel. The hotel rooms are very basic in my opinion. It's not so nice to stay there for a longer time. (We usually stay 2 weeks.) The staff at the hotel is very friendly though, they can help you if you have any questions. We even got nice advice about bars and clubs from one man working there in the evening. They also have a restaurant next to the entrance, but we have never visited that place.

The cabins however, are very good and you get more privacy there. Especially the big porch is nice in good weather. The kitchen is quite small but you still have enough room and equipment to make your own food. The cabin stays cool even at hot weather if you stay there during the day. The bedrooms don't have so much storage space, but it's always been enough for me. The cabin has always been very clean, and also they are well decorated, very cosy.

It is a bit far from the town centre though. You can get a shuttle from the hotel, but I would recommend taking the bus from a bit further away, down the hill from the hotel. The shuttle is very expensive, you can pretty much get a week's travel card for public transportation for the money spent on using that shuttle twice.

For activities, I can not say much, as we never took part in any of those. I do know they offer a few trips with the shuttle bus with meals included. There is also a stable next to the hotel, and they offer riding classes for a fair price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank ansku_fi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petnehazy, General Manager at Petnehazy Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences and we are so very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us! Cleanliness is highly important for us, and we are glad to hear that you were satisfied.

Kindest regards,
Gyongyi Hajdu
Hotel Manager
P E T N E H Á Z Y C L U B H O T E L * * * superior
1029 Budapest, Feketefej
Hungary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 60 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2013

Stayed at the end of May 2013 in one of the 2 bed cabins. Cabin was clean and quite well appointed, bedrooms were a little short of storage space but we used some the shelves in the lounge area, so wasn't a problem with only 4 of us. Kitchen was tiny, four rings and a microwave but it did have a kettle! Not sure a sauna is completely necessary in the cabin and the space could be better used to have more kitchen space or a second toilet. But the service was good, rubbish removed every day and towels changed twice during the week. We left our hire car at the unit (after getting very lost around Buda on the first day!) and went on four of the arranged tours and had a great time. Attila, the tour guide was excellent - very impressed with his ability to switch from English to Italian to French to Spanish to cater for all nationalities on the tour. Tours were good value with great 3 course lunches with wine included in most of them and the amount of information that Attila gave us really made the trips worthwhile.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CardiffWelshdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petnehazy, General Manager at Petnehazy Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you have had a great time and that you enjoyed our tours! Your kind words about the tour guide have been forwarded to Attila. :)

Best regards from Petneházy Club Hotel:
Hajdu Gyöngyi
Hotel Manager
P E T N E H Á Z Y C L U B H O T E L * * * superior
1029 Budapest, Feketefej street
Hungary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We stayed at Petnehazy in April 2013. We had a wonderful time there. We made friends with other guests at the resort while doing tours with the hotel and simply taking the shuttle into town. You'll hear complaints about the location in proximity to the city. They offer a shuttle and it only takes 20 mins, I believe it was $6 round trip to take that. It's great that they offer that service to guests. We never felt it was a problem getting into the city, you just have to plan your time a little around the shuttle schedule. A taxi will cost about $20 one way into town. We stayed in a studio room in the hotel and switched to a cabin mid-week. Both of our accommodations were great, very clean and spacious. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We took one tour from the hotel, the trip to Eger, it was a very nice day, beautiful town and great wine!

Room Tip: The cabins are great. You have your own sauna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Betsy8080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Awesome, treat you like family. Very gracious...the whole staff
Food was delicious, and a nice selection
the individual cabins were very well laid out, and even had a steam room
beautiful location, not too far from the middle of Budapest, they had a shuttle, if you needed it.
Cannot make any statements on improvement, they have it nailed down!!
Would go back as soon as the next flight leaves the USA
One of our best vacations...ever
Tour guide was excellent, and I recommend that you take advantage of his knowledge, as their is an enormous amount of history there, much activity during World War ll.
You will enjoy these refreshing people, as they will capture your heart

Room Tip: All the cottages (each guest has their own cottage) are wonderful, even a sauna in each cottage. Be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Greg3417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We Stayed at Petnehazy in January 2013. We arrived at the Budapest Keleti Train Station and was promptly met at the train platform by the driver from the hotel. Hotel is in the Buda hill next to the nature reserve. It was peaceful with fresh crisp air in the morning with birds chirping away. The snow covered trees, chalets and ground made it felt like a Christmas wonderland. The chalet was cozy and adequate. The onsite restaurant gave excellent prompt service and tasty food. I felt the serving size was a bit too big for us asians. Service staff were friendly and helpful. The only setback was that it was quite a distance away from town. However, it was an easy walk out to the public bus stop to catch the bus that came as scheduled and transferred to a tram to get to town. Getting back to the hotel means climbing up the hill to the resort. We booked the inhouse shuttle bus to bring us back from town. Overall, a very enjoyable stay and we felt recharged.

Room Tip: For peace and quiet, choose the chalet that is to the west away from the main entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CherKuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We visited late September/early October 2012. A surprisingly enjoyable holiday. Our usual approach is to use the resort as a base for visiting near and wide. On this occasion the rental car was a mistake - very difficult to negociate the roads in Budapest and even more difficult out of town. Unable to drive ourselves, we fell back on the day trips run by the resort - these were excellent and reasonably priced. The day trip to Vienna was a highlight. The cathedrals, castles and historic buildings we visited were astounding. The tour guide was excellent - really new his history for everywhere we went - multilingual - English, German, Italian,French depending on the make up of the coach/minivan party. Resort very good - nice restaurant, staff very helpful. Our one bed shallet was fine for us as a couple although the kitchen was a little small. A sauna in the bathroom was unexpected! Altogether a very enjyable holiday and we learnt a lot about the fasinating historical development of central Europe.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank awjdoctortony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We chose this as it was available through RCI as a Time share exchange and we were not disappointed. We were looking for a place to base ourselves while we explored Budapest and the surrounding areas.

The hotel is located in the Buda Hills approximately 30 minutes by car from the centre of the City.

The accommodation is either hotel rooms or one or two bedroom chalets, we had a two bedroom chalet. The chalets are set on their own and are wooden construction and well appointed. There are two separate bedrooms with one bathroom and a pull out bed in the lounge/dining area to sleep another two if required. There is a full kitchen with everything you need except a dishwasher. The chalet had its own sauna.

The main hotel has a nice restaurant which we used on several occasions and it is worth a visit as it specialises in local cuisine and has a number of goose dishes on the menu.

There is free WiFi in the reception restaurant or for a small fee you can have it in your room.

There is an indoor (heated) and outdoor swimming pools as well as Tennis Courts.

The hotel does provide shuttle services to and from the airport and also into town for a fee however we hired a car. As long as you dont drive during the rush hours we found driving around to be relatively ease but make sure you have a GPS navigation system.

The hotel organizes various trips for Time Share guests, we did the city river cruise on the first day and also to the full day trip to Vienna, Austria. Both were good value the only problem with the Vienna trip was the size of the vehicle as it was a seven seat car and very cramped for a tall person.

We also went to a meal and local entertainment at the Vadaspark Restaurant which we thoroughly enjoyed.

Room Tip: Go for one of the chalets they are separated in the grounds and are one or two bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kiwiman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Óbuda-Békásmegyer
Alfa Art Hotel
Alfa Art Hotel
#195 of 336 in Budapest
36 reviews
Holiday Inn Budapest-Budaors
#124 of 336 in Budapest
232 reviews
Beatrix Hotel - Budapest
#158 of 336 in Budapest
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Budai Hotel
#181 of 336 in Budapest
40 reviews
ACHAT Premium Budapest
#153 of 336 in Budapest
282 reviews
Park Inn By Radisson Budapest
#123 of 336 in Budapest
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petnehazy Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petnehazy Club Hotel

Address: Feketefej utca 2 - 4, Budapest 1029, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: £44 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petnehazy Club Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Petnehazy Club Hotel is located in the green area of Budapest, in the amazing 'Adyliget' - where silence meet the comfort - and they together make your stay perfect! The Petnehazy Club Hotel's natural style wood cottages are all equipped with a kitchen and kitchenettes, bathroom and an own sauna! You can use the sauna in your apartment house/cottage for free - anytime you feel like you can turn it on. In the main building our covered indoor swimming-pool is waiting for you with the main sauna and a relaxation area. Enjoy the delicious meals of our brand new Petnehazy Club Restaurant - opening in February 2012 - try the Hungarian kitchen and have a glass of real quality wine!You can even play tennis in our professional tennis court (opened all year long), or take a long walk in the fresh air of Buda-Hills!If you are about to have an active vacation full of outdoor programmes or you prefer the relaxation in the calmness of nature - your best choice in Budapest is the Petnehazy Club Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Petnehazy Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petnehazy Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing