We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for every taste”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Petnehazy Club Hotel
Ranked #155 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Not for every taste”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We had a pleasant stay here but the hotel could so easily improve what it offers to foreign guests. What they do, they do reasonably well - for example, our guest cottage was comfortable and quiet (being on the far edge of the campus), but pretty basic, with very limited kitchen facilities. On the other hand, it became clear that 'events' (weddings, corporate conferences, private parties etc) are a mainstay of their business and hotel guests come a poor second. For example, one morning a message through our door announced that the restaurant would be closed that day for a private party. Also, reception staff say 'yes' to what they do as standard, but anything else is 'no', rather than perhaps, I'll try. The indoor pool is usually busy with either kids or lessons; the outdoor pool similar. For example, we are in a beautiful rural setting, but the hotel cannot suggest any local walks or provide even the most basic local map!

Room Tip: Avoid the main hotel studio rooms. Ask for a cottage as far as poss from the main building to avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 295horace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    54
    33
    11
    4
See reviews for
38
60
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
PORTLAND
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Using RCI we booked the cottage for our week in the Buda Hills above Budapest. Great facility with daily tours from the hotel including Vienna, a traditional Hungarian supper and folk dancing/music, Hungarian horsemen, and others. Twenty minutes by car to Budapest. Hotel even arranged to pick us up at the dock after our river cruise in conjunction with their Tour of Budapest that morning. Restaurant is fine for supper and lunches but do your own breakfasts (too pricey for what you get), but there is a nice restaurant 15 minutes down the hill. The dining room and reception staff service is uneven (some training for consistency is needed). For example, bottle of personal wine without corkage fee OK one night in the dining room but the next night a different waiter tried to stop me bringing in wine until our tour guide had a word with him in Hungarian. Service attitude by the waiter was sub-standard that night! Overall a great place and I would recommend staying there!

Room Tip: Go for a cottage with sauna!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BRIAN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
278 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Our stay here was quiet except for the last night when we had an early morning flight and the horse stables decided to play their music pretty loud. We had a cottage with two bedrooms and one bathroom but aren't quite sure how we would have shared the space with another couple since there is little storage so we used the second bedroom (with the safe) to store all our clothes and luggage. We booked four tours through their travel agency and should have only taken two of them and spent more time on our own in Budapest but the tours all sounded interesting at the onset. We did walk down the hill numerous times and through the beautiful neighborhood. The grocery store at the bottom of the hill has an amazing number of items but not everything so be sure to do some shopping in Budapest and carry back on the tram and bus. It's always a challenge to figure out a new transit system but we had some wonderful natives that took us under their wings and helped us find the tram and then how to purchase our tickets and catch our next bus. We found the people very, very helpful both in town and at the resort. In fact, the restaurant at the resort was great and they were more than helpful. The front desk staff was very helpful as well. Remember that you are out in the country and far away from the maddening crowds of the city but it is a little bit of a walk and ride to get into the city. I only used the WiFi in the lobby but it worked great and was free. The indoor swimming pool was open and looked inviting but we never had time to even get into it. The outdoor pool was being cleaned from the winter. There are also four clay tennis courts where they gave lessons but, even though we play tennis, we didn't avail ourselves of this service either. The shuttle drivers were fantastic and it was worth the $50 for the two of us to have them pick us up at the airport and take us back. Our tours were also arranged with rides back to our resort so we had plenty of cab rides, etc. and the shuttle drivers were by far more friendly and spoke English to us. It's a father and his two sons that run the company and we learned a lot about the family by asking the right questions. The only downside was that I was totally lost the whole time we were there even though the hilly side is the Buda side where the resort is located to the northwest and the flat side is the Pest side.

Room Tip: We weren't given the option but we had a cottage that was close to the lobby which turned out to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Georgia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Nice but pretty far from the City Center. If you want to be away from the hustle and bustle this is for you. It is relaxing but be ready to go to bed at 9 pm if you do not go into the city. They have some programs which will take you by their shuttle. My only complaint was a personal one. I had to remain in contact with my business and was unable to do so from my cottage. I had to spend hours in the lobby or the lobby bar to have WiFi connection. Do not bother paying for WiFi.. Maybe they work from the adjacent rooms but certainly not from the cottages. If you want to disconnect from the world outside, this will be for you. My wife loved it.

Room Tip: Do not get a cottage if you need computer connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svargasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petnehazy, General Manager at Petnehazy Club Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Svargasi,

Thank you for your review! We are sorry for the bad wifi connection you had during your stay we have had it fixed the soonest. We really hope that next time you can enjoy your stay perfectly!
Kind regards,
Gyongyi Hajdu
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

We booked our stay through RCI exchange otherwise would have overlooked this hotel due to its location. We arranged a transfer to and from the hotel to save us negotiating the taxi system after the long flight from home and would highly recommend doing this. Our drivers were polite and courteous, yet did not engage with us, maybe the language barrier? We realised on the way back to the airport that our first driver actually took us the scenic route along the Danube, yet didn't say anything at all about it! No matter, we were grateful for his thoughtfulness.

Our check in was quick and smooth, the girl on reception being very warm and friendly. She helped us out with bus and tram timetables, as well as a couple of bus tickets to get us started.

The hotel really is quite a way out of the main action. There is a 15 minute walk down the hill to the bus stop (be sure to say hi to Akka the friendly Husky dog that lives nearby...he loves pizza by the way!). From here catch a bus down to the tram stop (about 7mins) and then take the tram to the main square (approx 20 mins). This then connects you with the Metro system to take you to Pest etc. From the square you can easily walk up to Castle Hill or go shopping at the huge shopping complex, Mammut. Going home was hard at the end of the day. The road up to the resort is not well lit in some parts so it would be beneficial to take a torch. We were lucky that there was a full moon.

Staff at the resort are not very friendly, we're not sure whether it was because we spoke only English, which was difficult for them or not....we decided to give benefit of the doubt. We are dinner at the restaurant in the first night and the food was enjoyable.

Rooms are quite basic, but clean and warm. As we spent our days out touring the city this didn't bother us.

At the bottom of the hill there is a pizza restaurant named after a poet who lived in the area. It's an interesting story so worth asking the waitress about. Be warned, The pizza's are bigger than you think!

Despite the distance from town we we decided that staying here gave us a lot more opportunity to see more of Budapest than if we'd stayed in the trendier Pest area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Annabelle40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baden, Austria
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We have chosen the hotel chiefly for location and kids entertainement (pool and playground). The former was not in its best shape yet we made the best of it. The weather was so bad that we were the only to use. The day before it was hard to find a place though, so I believe it is a bit dense - as they let locals in as well, beside the guests.
We didn't go for the cabins yet they seem to be the best mix.
The rooms were nothing special really, just as the buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DezPapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
173 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We decided to stay at Petnehazy because its an RCI exchange location, and it was out from the city. We knew going that logistics were going to be complex, but we've been independant travellers for many years.
We were met at the airport and driven across town and out to the resort. The ride across the city confirmed we didn't want to drive around Budapest on our own. This was reinforced when we made our way the local road to the resort. It would be hardfor it to be in worse shape.
The girl at the front desk was OK, but somewhat harried. We had booked a 1 bedroom cabin, away from the main lodge. It was a hike dragging our bags. But it was roomy and comfortable, nicely spaced away from the adjacent cabins. A small galley like kitchen, an OK bathroom, an ample bedroom, and a roomy livingroom. There were a few small things that we're working right - but mntc changed them out quickly.
The restaurant features local fare, especially goose and duck. Hungarian food is heavy on meats and light on veggies. Few others do grilled meats as well. Service was spotty - English was not a second, nor third, language. But together we all made it work. The grilled goose sausage was surprisngly tasty. The sour cherries dessert is worth fighting over - don't miss it.
Being on your own, out from town, you have to master public transit. Walking down that road to the bus stop makes you wonder about hiking back up in the dark. Turns out 2/3 of it is lighted. The last portion - by the stables is not. You go from foot, to bus, to tram, to subway. It sounds daunting - after the first time it all falls into place. They have so well coordinated all the public transit that it adds to the adventure and the fun. On our best runs it took 30 minutes to go the distance, on our worst trip it was closer to 50 minutes. We bought a 7 day transit pass at the tram station and it made it all so easy. Near the tram station is the local pizza pub and we celebrated our success there. There are two markets near the tram and we shopped them both, carrying esentialls back to our cabin.
Most nights we ate in the city, then did the ride back out. We ended up deciding the hike from the bus stop up to the resort was our exercise to pay off the supper calories. We met other independant travellers from all over the world at Petnehazy. We walked with some of them to/from the bus stop. Compared to the typical tiny hotel room the cabins, the rural setting, and the quiet were a wonderful splurge.

Room Tip: Book a cabin - no one seems to like rooms in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JKoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Budapest
2.7 mi away
Vadvirag Panzio
Vadvirag Panzio
#170 of 342 in Budapest
8 reviews
9.0 mi away
ABACUS Business & Wellness Hotel
5.0 mi away
Globall Hotel
Globall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Telki
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hotel Pension Helios
Hotel Pension Helios
#95 of 342 in Budapest
329 reviews
2.7 mi away
Beatrix Hotel - Budapest
Beatrix Hotel - Budapest
#162 of 342 in Budapest
35 reviews
10.6 mi away
CEU Conference Center
CEU Conference Center
#171 of 342 in Budapest
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petnehazy Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petnehazy Club Hotel

Property: Petnehazy Club Hotel
Address: Feketefej utca 2 - 4, Budapest 1029, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Petnehazy Club Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Petnehazy Club Hotel is located in the green area of Budapest, in the amazing 'Adyliget' - where silence meet the comfort - and they together make your stay perfect! The Petnehazy Club Hotel's natural style wood cottages are all equipped with a kitchen and kitchenettes, bathroom and an own sauna! You can use the sauna in your apartment house/cottage for free - anytime you feel like you can turn it on. In the main building our covered indoor swimming-pool is waiting for you with the main sauna and a relaxation area. Enjoy the delicious meals of our brand new Petnehazy Club Restaurant - opening in February 2012 - try the Hungarian kitchen and have a glass of real quality wine!You can even play tennis in our professional tennis court (opened all year long), or take a long walk in the fresh air of Buda-Hills!If you are about to have an active vacation full of outdoor programmes or you prefer the relaxation in the calmness of nature - your best choice in Budapest is the Petnehazy Club Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Petnehazy Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petnehazy Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing