We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Calm Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radio Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Budapest
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Radio Inn
Ranked #199 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Duesseldorf
Level Contributor
139 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Calm Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2006

We have been visiting Budapest for 4 days and had pleasant stay at Radio Inn. The location is excellent - calm a small street, but only 4 minutes to the metro station, near Andrassy boulevard. For the evening the pubs and restaurants are nearby so you can walk after eleven in the evening (that´s the time the metro doesn´t run anymore). The hotel is not stylish or modern but clean and we have had enough space. If you only need a hotel for the night and spend the rest of your time sightseeing in Budapest it is great, if you are looking for the comfort of relaxing zones, spas or whatever else then you are in the wrong hotel.
We would come back again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — style
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilsebein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    24
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
9
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2006

The apartment hotel is in an excellent location close to a metro stop and in a very pleasant area. We did have some difficulty in getting to the hotel due to the one way road system but after some time managed to get to the hotel. I had thought that there was parking but unfortunately although we could park in the street paid parking meant we had to get enough change to ensure we had a parking ticket between 8am and 6pm. The apartment was spacious and reasonably comfortable. Our room faced the street and between the street noise and the noise of our co-residents (very noisy group of young men having a party for many hours) we had to sacrifice air (Europe was experiencing an unprecendented heat wave) in an attempt to minimise the noise.
I was a little disappointed with the hotel - however it was well priced and well located.
Family Australia

  • Liked — the size of the apartment and location
  • Disliked — Very old and very noisy
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MoragM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerpen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2006

We have just returned from a three day/night stay in Budapest - staying in the Radio Inn Our flight arrived at around midnight so didn't get to he hotel until very late. we called before so there wasn't any problem with this at all. Rooms were comfortable and cool - heatwave in Central Europe at the time. We tried the breakfast which was fine but only the first morning as we made use of the kitchenette. Quiet neighbourhood - close to the metro - walking distance from Heros Square and Litz Square with all the restaurants.

  • Liked — Convenience, price and staff
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2006

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in March 2006 and everything was fine. It’s actually an apartment with kitchen and a large bedroom. Close to metro (about 3 min walk), close to Andrasy av (which is the most beautiful street in BUD) and located at a very quiet area.
We did not have the breakfast. We actually considered but it wasn’t very attractive.
When we arrived the hotel staff didn’t have our reservation. I showed the confirmation e-mail and they got me a room by the very price it was printed on the e-mail. Be careful and call before arriving.
Great value for money, strongly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GustavoSette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2006

I liked this hotel. The decor is very old fashioned but the hotel is good value. It is convenient for the metro, only about 2 minutes walk away. The reception staff are very helpful. I would also recommend the Kogart restaurant nearby, we had an outstanding meal for less than 20 GB pounds. The premier restaurant is OK but not as good as the Kogart.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DOTh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2006

We chose this hotel because of the good reviews on tripadvisor and because the location looked good, central, but quiet. Also, we got a good rate on Expedia, so that helped. We arrived in Budapest on an overnight train early in the morning and arrived at the Radio Inn at just after 7am. The reception clerk gave a cleaner instructions to have our apartment ready as soon as possible and he kindly invited us to wait in the lobby. He told me where the closest grocery store was (just down the street and it sold these great little sandwiches) and by the time I got back with groceries, the room was ready. We thought that this alone made staying at the Radio Inn worthwhile. The apartment consisted of a not very nice looking, but functional kitchen, then some room in the middle that had a big chair that could possibly be turned into a single bed and a vanity, and then the bedroom/living room, with two single beds, so you slept facing each other and your feet almost touching. There were some nice French doors overlooking the street, but no balcony. There was tv and two chairs in the room. Our first impression was that it needed updating and the beds weren’t that comfortable, but we slept pretty well there. We had a room that faced the street which had trees and some nice buildings, and the traffic noise wasn’t that loud. There was a rack for drying laundry, too, so we hand-washed some of our clothes. We slept for a few hours the morning that we arrived, and after we went out, someone had made up our room again! We enjoyed our stay at the Radio Inn and we definitely felt well looked after by the staff, especially the kind and helpful cleaning staff. We poked our heads into some of the other rooms, and the two-bedroom apartments seemed to be more attractive and would be great if you had more than two people in your group. It was about a 10-15 minute walk down attractive streets to our favourite Budapest restaurant, and maybe 15-20 minutes walking to the centre, but it was quite close to the baths and the palace.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank LostLagoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2006

We visited Budapest for the Formula 1 Grand Prix and weren't expecting to find somewhere as cheap as the Radio Inn.

It's a little way from the river but only a short metro ride away (nearest station 2-3mins walk from the hotel).

You walk into a modern reception area which is a bit deceiving as to what the room is going to be like.

The rooms/apartments where obviously private residences before becoming a hotel so are a bit dated in their decoration.

Our apartment had 2 single beds, a large desk, tv, a kitchen, shower room, toilet and a large store room.
Our only real complaint was that due to no air conditioning or fan, the only way to cool down was to open the windows thus letting in the mosquitoes.

  • Stayed August 2003
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank stuarhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Benczur Hotel
#162 of 342 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Terézváros
ibis Budapest Heroes Square
ibis Budapest Heroes Square
#101 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Terézváros
Mamaison Residence Izabella Budapest
Terézváros
Mirage Medic Hotel
Mirage Medic Hotel
#92 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radio Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radio Inn

Property: Radio Inn
Address: Benczur utca 19, Budapest 1068, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Hotel Class:3 star — Radio Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Radio Hotel Budapest
Radio Hotel Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing