We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“brilliant hotel with fantastic staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Danubius Hotel Helia
Ranked #69 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“brilliant hotel with fantastic staff!”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

An exceptionally clean and comfortable hotel with great spa ffacilities.The rooms are spacious with lots of storage-the bathrooms are small but have everything you need.We ate twice in the hotel bar and meals were brought from the restaurant and were great in terms of quality and quantity-try the turkey!A nice touch is the complimentary croissants and coffee served at breakfast time.The thing that really makes this hotel is the friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff-special mentions to Esther and Cslabi who were fantastic!A lovely stay!Buy a travel ticket so that you can jump on buses,trams and metro trains.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms have views of the Danube.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    636
    807
    249
    43
    32
See reviews for
321
656
112
372
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

Kind of old building, also some furniture look tired.
I was staying there in May and July 2012, at every two weeks, for business purpose only.
Close to some very good pubs and restaurants.
Friendly staff, some basic english, but still OK
The breakfast it is very good, a good range of fruits, juices, cheese, and so on.
I think they change the manu at every month, because some time I get use to their food and also the location on the table :-)
Some problem with the wifi
Good concierge, good taxies ordered by them.
Few elevators, but nice.
For transit it is ok and also for city brake in Budapest

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geox1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Givat Shmuel, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The staff very friendly, helpful. Free WiFi in the public spaces, on pay in the rooms. The password easy to obtain, but the window of logging in is written in Hungarian and each one has to guess to click on certain point for finishing the log in. The rooms are comfortable, but not very spacy. We had the luck to get a room with Danube view, nice (recommendable). The location is not very central, but reasonable. The spa facilities could be bigger.
The buffet breakfast excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
Level Contributor
162 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

we have been here for 7 days with a seniors organized group.the rooms are nice in specially the view of the danube.breakfast was ok but dinner was not tasty at all could be much better.the spa is very good the pools are big enough,to rich the center you have to take the metro witch is about 10 minutes walking

Room Tip: view to the danube
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monizu41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We had a great time here. Rooms are clean and in good order, cleaning service every day; coffee and croissants every morning and they were fresh, the view of Danube is amazing. A bit of a walk from the city, but is along the river which makes it very pleasant, plus you get to see the life around. Staff was very friendly, we used the sauna after long runs on Margaret Island and all is very nice.
Parking per day 10 euros, internet in the room 11 euros per day. These are the only down sides
If we'll come back to Budapest, definetely staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Arrived at the hotel with reasonably high expectations. Booked through indepentant site for a reasonable price but would have been dissapointed if it had been any more. I was given a city view rather than a Danube view. The room is very hot and air conditioning does not work need to have the window open to make the room comfortable. Staff and customer service is great although the food is a bit hit and miss. Breakfast has a good choice buffet so ample for any appetite. Spa and gym is a good facility with additional chargeable experiences which seem to be very popular.

Room Tip: Try to get a Danube view and ask for functional air conditioning if you are going in spring or summe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberec, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I'll start off by saying that the cleaning staff, restaurant attendants and bar staff were all very friendly, efficient and helpful in every way. Can't say as much for the reception desk. We asked at check in if the swimming pools and sauna came as a package with the room. The response was, "The price list is on the spa door." We'd seen the fees posted online and chose not to spend their exorbitant prices. The afternoon before check out, we learned from other guests that they had been admitted into the pools without charge. We asked three times in five days for the password to the "free WiFi" in the lobby area. The codes never worked so we were without access for five days. The climate controls in the room never worked so we suffered through the hottest days of early spring. After the second or third day, the buffet meals (including the complementary breakfast) became quite boring with little or no variety. At least once per day I had to reject a dirty dish and they rarely remembered to set out butter for the bread at lunch and dinner. Meals are unimaginative and just mediocre in preparation. Parking is way too overpriced for registered guests. I needed to take my car to a car wash as sap and debris from the trees covered everything. I left feeling ripped off and certainly didn't believe that they deserved the stars that they display. I won't go back and will advise my network to avoid the place.

Room Tip: I suppose you'll want to ask for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank czken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Margaret Island
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
Margaret Island
Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
#127 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gellert Hill
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Danubius Hotel Gellert
#95 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,563 reviews
Lion's Garden Hotel
#75 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Hotel Helia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Hotel Helia

Property: Danubius Hotel Helia
Address: Karpat utca 62-64., Budapest 1133, Hungary (Formerly Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia)
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#32 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#36 Business Hotel in Budapest
#50 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#63 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#68 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Hotel Helia 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Work or pleasure? We cater for both! What makes the Helia so special? That’s a matter of perspective. This is a wellness hotel with a wide range of fitness and spa services for guests in need of some pampering. However, it’s also a fully equipped conference hotel with all the facilities to host top quality professional events. The wellness and conference hotel is located in Budapest’s dynamic XIIIth district, on the bank of the Danube. The city centre is just 15 minutes away, while the nearby Margaret Island offers a host of recreational activities – from cycling, tennis and swimming to relaxing walks in beautiful parkland. Whether you’d like to unwind after work – or get away from work altogether – our wellness centre is the perfect spot. It has an adventure pool, swimming pool, sauna and a two-storey fitness club with stunning panoramic views. The hotel’s thermal bath is fed by natural thermal water from Margaret Island’s springs. Guests arriving by car can keep their vehicles safe in the hotel’s own car park, and travel into the centre by trolleybus or bus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Danubius Hotel Helia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia Hotel Budapest
Danubius Health Hotel Helia
Danubius Health Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing