We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - not convenient for main sights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Danubius Hotel Helia
Ranked #68 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I stayed at the Helia for two weeks for business and while the hotel was very nice, it was not convenient to the main parts of town. It was nice to be on the Danube and to have a spa on sight, but unfortunately my room was on the "city side" which means I faced a parking lot and very plain buildings, not beautiful city sights or buildings. The employees were friendly and the facilities were adequate, but on my next visit, I will be staying closer to the city center in order to be nearer to the sights and restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flygirl2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,538)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,168 - 1,174 of 2,538 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

I have just spen At very pleasant 8 days in Budapest . After reading all the reviews, I was a bit worried but soon made up my own mind. The hotel which is in the north of the city on the Pest side is about 15 minutes from the centre- ten minutes walk to the metro and about 5 minutes on the metro...There is also a direct bus to Heroes Square.The room I received was fantastic- small bathroom but who needs more- with an ever changing view of the Danube. In addiition to the minibar( which was expensive) there was a safe and old fashioned tv as well as everything you could need in the bathroom. There is a supermarket across the road. I agree with the comment that there could be an extra English channel on the tv. BBC news all day is repetitive. The spa facilities were very good and professional and the swimming pool was just the right temperature.The Reception staff and concierge were extremely helpful. The only minor downside was the quality of the food .Almost the same for breakfast and dinner every day- same desserts- same main courses but there was an adequate choice. There was also a pianist as musical accompaniment. Other minor inconvenience was that you had to sign in every time for the wi fi. But on the whole I would definitely recommend it to anyone for a stay in Budapest combining sightseeing and spa.

Room Tip: Try to obtain a room overlooking the Danube
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lornas4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We received a 5 day stay at this hotel as a gift. It is ok, yet I would not recomend it to young couples. The service is ok - not good, yet not disturbing. The spa is very nice.
Nonetheless it is rather far to walk to the inner city and this is the main reason why it is better for people who come for the spa. If you want to visit Budapest this is not really the best place.
Other things: no free internet access from the room, breakfast with a very lage choices.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bufnita007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This hotel is far away from the city centre. If you are new to Budapest you will realize it. No restaurants or shops close by. The food in the hotel is not 4 star quality. There are 2 places to eat. The coffee shop or the Jupiter restaurant. This restaurant serve a buffet that looks like a conference buffet, after people ate already. We arrived at 8 at the restaurant and decided to order a la carte. The service, not friendly, but the food let them down, bland and It tasted as if it was out of a packet. When we complained at Reception, they did no say a word! No apology no questions, just no excuse as if they know this. Must say the restaurant was empty. The next day we decided to take advantage of the Danubius city bus to go into the city. This bus has a round trip. We got off in the city and the driver told us where he will be again to pick us up. These trips you pay for. When we got into the bus again, going back to our hotel, he dropped us at another hotel (we were the only passengers in the bus) and said we have to pay him 10 euros, then he will take us to the hotel. We decided to take a taxi then.
This hotel has a Spa with friendly staff. But overall it is not worth the price for food and drinks.

Room Tip: Choose another Spa hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diplomatBonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Really liked the spa in the hotel and possibility to book into the wellness activities (massages, treatments etc) while you are staying there. The rooms were fine, but it's important to note that it is quite a walk to town (pleasant enough on a fine day, following the Danube down) and that area of town is not the liveliest so you'll be hard pressed to find even a decent bar, let alone a restaurant in the vicinity, and the hotel cafe is not very atmospheric as it tends to blend into the lobby area. I didn't get to enjoy the views much while I was there at a conference, but it served as a good venue.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Danube side if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serabianca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Third consecutive year resting at this Hotel. When you look through out of the window, you see the Danube. Size of the normal room is enough for two persons, although the bathroom is small. Cleanliness ok. Regarding the breakfast, I find it just correct.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pedro L E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The hotel was well designed and the room was clean. there are balconies facing Danube which was so scenic. The river view was awesome.The hotel got nice SPA/relaxing area, good breakfast. very good parking area. The hotel is more than worth of it price
The staff were most friendly

Room Tip: Get the rooms facing to the Danube river,,, The morning scene is very nice.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NALLABOSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Margaret Island
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
Margaret Island
Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget
Gellért Hill
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Danubius Hotel Gellert
#102 of 336 in Budapest
7,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Budapest City
#73 of 336 in Budapest
1,583 reviews
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
#133 of 336 in Budapest
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Hotel Helia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Hotel Helia

Address: Karpat utca 62-64., Budapest 1133, Hungary (Formerly Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia)
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#36 Business Hotel in Budapest
#48 Family Hotel in Budapest
#50 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#63 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £48 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Hotel Helia 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Work or pleasure? We cater for both! What makes the Helia so special? That’s a matter of perspective. This is a wellness hotel with a wide range of fitness and spa services for guests in need of some pampering. However, it’s also a fully equipped conference hotel with all the facilities to host top quality professional events. The wellness and conference hotel is located in Budapest’s dynamic XIIIth district, on the bank of the Danube. The city centre is just 15 minutes away, while the nearby Margaret Island offers a host of recreational activities – from cycling, tennis and swimming to relaxing walks in beautiful parkland. Whether you’d like to unwind after work – or get away from work altogether – our wellness centre is the perfect spot. It has an adventure pool, swimming pool, sauna and a two-storey fitness club with stunning panoramic views. The hotel’s thermal bath is fed by natural thermal water from Margaret Island’s springs. Guests arriving by car can keep their vehicles safe in the hotel’s own car park, and travel into the centre by trolleybus or bus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Danubius Hotel Helia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia Hotel Budapest
Danubius Health Hotel Helia
Danubius Health Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing