We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Spa hotel right on the river Danube”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Danubius Hotel Helia
Ranked #72 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
463 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Nice Spa hotel right on the river Danube”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Actually spent five nights here due to the Lufthansa strike on a business trip . We got and excellent deal on price due to the conference in the hotel . Staff were very friendly , the food ( especially he breakfast) was excellent . I only had two complaints , the air conditioning in my room was useless , did nothing at all apart from blow hot air . All the carpets were stained in the hotel which I feared was due to nasty things but actually this hotel has a spa with lots of people walking round bear feet in robes and I suspect it's the salt or chlorine from the sap as all the carpers on all the floors were stained the same way.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the Danube looking across to Buda from the pest side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bvlynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanubiusHelia, revenue manager at Danubius Hotel Helia, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences on Tridapvisor regarding your stay at our Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia.
It is our pleasure to learn that you were satisfied with our very friendly staff, excellent food i.e. breakfast and our reasonable prices.
We apologise if airconditioning did not work in your room properly, we will investigate it to be resolved.
Hoping that we can welcome you back in our Hotel int he future again.

With best regards,
Viktória Boriszov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    592
    765
    237
    43
    32
See reviews for
307
629
106
331
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
239 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Having stayed in the older Astoria, which hasnt a spa thought I would try the Helia. It is not as centrally situated but near the river. Typical conference hotel. It must be a Hungarian thing, the staff havent got that insincere have a nice day attitude, they look as though they really dont care what sort of day you have. If you want too you use spa book treatments well in advance. The spas in Budapest are not lavish and relaxing rather functional. Massage is good, but no atmosphere of being spoilt.
Service in restaurant is poor at dinner and breakfast. Enough staff just not well organised and missing that smiley happy gene.
There was an exception in the cafe / bar section where there was a really good member of staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelalot001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanubiusHelia, revenue manager at Danubius Hotel Helia, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for chosing a property of Danubius Hotels again and for sharing your comments with us.
We are very sorry to learn from your review that not every department and every service were up to your expectations, although we most of the time recieve positive feedback regarding our staff.
We would like to hope that next time you choose to visit Budapest, you will allow us and Danubius Hotels Group to serve you again.

Best regards,

Viktória Boriszov
revenue manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, UK
Level Contributor
126 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Easy to get to using public transport being a 5 minute walk from Dózsa György. It's also a nice walk into the city along the river.

The rooms and corridors are looking a bit tired in general. The room we had was quite compact and the bathroom was very small. The bed was comfortable enough. The main downside was the temperature of the room. The air con didn't seem to work so we had to have windows open which was fine when it wasn't blowing a gale.

The breakfast was typical of a hotel - cereal, porridge, cooked breakfast, cheese, pastries, fruit, bread. The breakfast room staff were very efficient at clearing the plates from under you, even if you were still eating!

We used the gym and spa a couple of times whilst there. Again, there didn't seem to be any air con in the gym so it was very hot. The pools were nice. One point to note if you are a couple, take both card keys with you to act as a deposit for the locker keys and towels. The person on reception in the spa was not happy with us for having only taken one card key with us! The massages we had were very nice although we did get hassled a little bit to book more treatments.

Free wifi in the public areas but not in the rooms. It tended to work ok and wasn't too slow.

If you like running, it is approx 2km to Margaret Island where there is a 5km running track around the island which is beautiful on a nice day.

Room Tip: Get one looking over the Danube if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulaNorwich_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanubiusHelia, revenue manager at Danubius Hotel Helia, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Paula,

Thank you for your comments about your stay at our Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia, highlighting our favorable location on the river Danube with easy access to the city center, comfortable rooms and other services like massage or breakfast.
We try to ensure the highest comfort for all our guestrooms and apologise if airconditioning did not met your expectations. It is normally adjusted to the actual weather circumstances and during your stay in March it was still turned to heating.
Regarding wifi, we would like to inform you that it will be free of charge in the whole territory of the Hotel soon.
We hope that we can welcoming you back to our Hotel again.

Best regards,

Viktória Boriszov
revenue manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

I have spent 4 nights with a friend in this hotel with a corporate rate. The hotel is 10 minutes walk from Margaret Bridge, which is not very far from the centre. Overall, I can say it is a great hotel with a good service, the room was very clean but with a few problems with the WIFI, which allows you 24 hours access but only to one device per room! The bar staff is very friendly and the lady who cut my hair was lovely. But what really stands out is the spa, which I found it excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view to the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atleti73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanubiusHelia, revenue manager at Danubius Hotel Helia, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for chosing our Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia during your business trip and for posting a postive review about our Hotel on Tripadvisor.
We are glad that you were overall satisfied with our Hotel, i.e. services and thank you for your kind notes about our very clean rooms and friendly staff.
Regarding wifi, we are happy to announce that this service is under development, will be improved and available free of charge from the end of summer.
We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back at our Hotel soon.

Best regards,

Viktória Boriszov
reveneu manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

we had high expectations coming to this hotel...biggest complaint was that on our last night we went down to the restaurant for dinner, found it strange to see it empty, a staff member approached us and said the reataurant was close for a private function, taught this was a disgrace , as guests in the hotel we would have at least expected to have the privilege of eating there.

the hotel was also overpriced for drink as well as food. be prepared to walk to get around from the hotel, nearest metro stop is 20-30 minutes from the hotel. if we were to stay again we would stay in a hotel in budapest itself and take a trip into the island as opposed to the other way around

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 31panther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanubiusHelia, reveneu manager at Danubius Hotel Helia, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay at our Hotel in October.
Please accept our sincere apologies that you were not able to eat at our restaurant due to a private meeting. However, our collegeues certainly informed you about the alternative eating possibilities at our Lobby Bar or a Function Room we usually serve half-board and á la carte if the restaurant is closed occassionally.
Being on the bank of the river Danube, our Hotel is not really centrally located, but just 8-10 minutes on foot to the closest metro station.
We hope that we will be able to welcoming you in the future.

Best regards,

Viktória Boriszov
revenue manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Nice hotel, quiet area, not exactly in the city center, but metro station is about 5minutes walk from hotel, nice swimming pool.
If you are traveling with kids, staff will always come to ask for quiet, a bit funny, but true
There is free parking, food not bad, free internet

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eitan_Silbiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

I stayed at the Helia for two weeks for business and while the hotel was very nice, it was not convenient to the main parts of town. It was nice to be on the Danube and to have a spa on sight, but unfortunately my room was on the "city side" which means I faced a parking lot and very plain buildings, not beautiful city sights or buildings. The employees were friendly and the facilities were adequate, but on my next visit, I will be staying closer to the city center in order to be nearer to the sights and restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flygirl2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Margaret Island
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
Margaret Island
Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
#124 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gellert Hill
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Danubius Hotel Gellert
#96 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,389 reviews
Lion's Garden Hotel
#75 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Hotel Helia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Hotel Helia

Property: Danubius Hotel Helia
Address: Karpat utca 62-64., Budapest 1133, Hungary (Formerly Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia)
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#36 Business Hotel in Budapest
#51 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#63 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#68 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Hotel Helia 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Work or pleasure? We cater for both! What makes the Helia so special? That’s a matter of perspective. This is a wellness hotel with a wide range of fitness and spa services for guests in need of some pampering. However, it’s also a fully equipped conference hotel with all the facilities to host top quality professional events. The wellness and conference hotel is located in Budapest’s dynamic XIIIth district, on the bank of the Danube. The city centre is just 15 minutes away, while the nearby Margaret Island offers a host of recreational activities – from cycling, tennis and swimming to relaxing walks in beautiful parkland. Whether you’d like to unwind after work – or get away from work altogether – our wellness centre is the perfect spot. It has an adventure pool, swimming pool, sauna and a two-storey fitness club with stunning panoramic views. The hotel’s thermal bath is fed by natural thermal water from Margaret Island’s springs. Guests arriving by car can keep their vehicles safe in the hotel’s own car park, and travel into the centre by trolleybus or bus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Danubius Hotel Helia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia Hotel Budapest
Danubius Health Hotel Helia
Danubius Health Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing