We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just used the spa...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Danubius Hotel Helia
Ranked #71 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My brother lives near the Helia, so we went there a few times for coffee and to use the spa, and once for dinner. The spa was wonderful - 4 pools of various temperatures from very warm to cold. I did not go in the cold pool. Brrr. You can also sunbathe on the roof if you want. The dinner we had was a buffet on a Sunday evening. At first there weren't many people, then suddenly a very large tour group arrived. The food on the buffet was not very exciting.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,019 - 1,025 of 2,191 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

After traveling such a long distance from the United States like the other reviewer I was looking forward to a good night sleep, the rooms are dirty the linens are very small. no washclothes in the room . we used the towels which were so stiff that could barely fold to cobver our fwwt as we walked arounf the room.very the rooms smelled, a combination of dust and mold . Staff seemed to take pleasure in being rude. you had to pay for wifi very deceptive advertising

This was booked by cook travel, the hotel was not in the center of the city and no way this is a. 4 star hotel

Room Tip: the spa area is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank cluthin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel on our way through Budapest. After going on a long train ride to get there, we were really looking forward to lovely, clean room... We couldn't of been more disappointed.

Firstly the rooms on general are outdated. They are small and quite frankly they just look tired. Also couldn't get wifi in the room, which is really ridicules in 2014!

Now here's why this hotel is so awful.. We return to our hotel quite late at night looking forward to a good nights sleep. As we move the sheets to get into bed; it is lined with hairs and dirt! DISGUSTING! I go down stairs to complain and I'm dealt with by a very rude man.. Who pretty much made out it was my fault. However he did select a new room for us. Which was supposedly an upgrade but looked just as old as before. It was about midnight now and were so tired but looking at the beds again the sheets were still not clean.. More hairs and dirt! So I went to complain again. The receptionist was not apologetic and to be honest didn't really care. After he got the night porter (which felt more like a bouncer) up to are new room check that in fact they don't know how to clean a bed.
He simply said 'not so bad'.. I was
Shocked by his comment. He did offer us another new room but we so tired we just decided to get our sleeping bags out and sleep on them instead! Also once the night porter left we found an old plaster on the floor yum!

In the morning we tried to complain. We were not allowed
To speak to the management. The receptionist would only pass on the message on. But bet that didn't happen. We were not offered any compensation.. Not even breakfast!

Overall I would say that this hotel has rude staff, horrible dirty rooms, and also it's location is pretty rubbish too!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank BrightonJordan1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanubiusHelia, Reservation & yield manager at Danubius Hotel Helia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for chosing our Hotel during your way through Budapest and for your comments regarding your stay.
We most of the time recieve very positive feedback regarding the cleanliness of our rooms, as well as our helpful staff and do apologise if it we failed in providing you the best possible service this time.
We are very concerened about our guests’ overall experience and would like to inform you that all the appropriate departments have been informed about the specific remarks you made and we will take the necessary steps to improve our services.

Regarding wifi, we are pleased to announce that as of July 1st it is available free of charge in the entire Hotel.

Hoping that we will be able to welcoming you to our Hotel again and we can regain your confidence.

Best regards,

Viktoria Boriszov

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I was staying here in May for 4 nights over a weekend. Their WiFi is really bad and only in the lobby even though hotels.com said its free wifi in the rooms. In the room I had to pay another pretty big fee for internet per day..

Breakfast was not included but worth the money.

The best part with this hotel is their "SPA" territory where they present you with bathrobes+slippers and 3-4 pools with different temperatures. They also had a good list of different massages and other treatments.

I booked a taxi several times per day, it's bad that the driver sometimes rips you off completely, a fare to the city should be around 2000-2500 HUF and they sometimes take double that and claim "fixed price" even though I looked this up and it's not legal. They have a Taxi guy that is using a radio 30 years old yelling at the drivers when you need a cab. Really funny with radio hehe

Overall 3+ star hotel. Not quite 4..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fepo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanubiusHelia, Reservation & yield manager at Danubius Hotel Helia, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us
We are glad that you liked our Spa area offering a wide range of treatments, massages, free use of the pools and also our buffet breakfast.
Regarding your comments on internet, you are right that our Hotel provides wireless internet acces in the rooms at a charge and free of charge in the public areas, but this information is correctly displayed on Hotels.com.
At the same time we would like to inform you that WIFI service will be improved and will be available free of charge in the whole territory of the Hotel, including guest rooms, within a few weeks.
As regards to your note on taxi service, we would like to assert that we use the official taxi companies and have our Hotel Taxi service, both using taximeter instead of fixed fares, as it is strictly controlled by the hungarian regulations. Taxis are ordered by our Bell Boys using cell phone or FM radio which has direct connectivity to the call centers of the taxi companies who use this form of communication in Hungary.
We hope that we can welcoming you to our Hotel in the future again.

Best regards,

Viktoria Boriszov

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel for a long weekend with the initial goal of watching the Formula 1 race and this hotel definitely added to our experience. It was wonderful to relax in the spa area after having spent most of the day outside in the heat of the race track.
The spa area was certainly the best part of our stay, I can highly recommend it, even though in the evening it did get crowded. Still, you can enjoy high quality Hungarian thermal water, in different temperatures and swim in the pool as well. Another nice surprise was the sauna - wonderful, spacious and not highly frequented by other guests when we were there (the steam room seemed to be more popular).
The room itself wasn't too large, but it was okay. The service was generally very good, everyone was nice and friendly, except when checking out. Another bad experience was the cleaning lady who tried to convince us that we don't necessarily need our room cleaned - we still wanted it to, however, and as a result our internet stick went missing. So my advice is to put EVERYTHING of any value in the safe that is provided in the room. Another downside was the fitness room - it's spacious, but the cardio machines are not the newest, especially the spinning bikes were a disappointment.
Also note that this hotel is far away from the center, so if you plan to do a sightseeing tour, this might not be the ideal choice. But for a spa holiday it's nice, also very close to the Danube.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the river are probably nicer than the one we got on the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Unelma333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanubiusHelia, Reservation & yield manager at Danubius Hotel Helia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Judit,

Thank you for chosing our Hotel and for sharing a note on tripadvisor.
We are very happy that we could add to your experience and you enjoyed our wonderful spa area, good service and friendly staff.
We are very sorry to learn from your comment that not every department and service was up to your expectations, although we most of the time recieve positive feedback regarding the cleanliness of our rooms. We have our daily routine in Housekeeping and all rooms need to be cleaned every day, ideally while our guests are out of the room. In order to avoid misunderstanding, may result from miscommunication, there is also the possibility to hang out the „Clean up my room” or „Do not disturb” board.
Please accept our apologies that your internet stick went missing. Although each Hotel reserves the right to take responsibility for valuables placed in the safe, we regret that you did not report it during your stay, in order to investigate it immediately.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you to our Hotel again.

Best regards,

Viktoria Boriszov

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I stayed in this hotel for a conference. Hotel staff was very helpfull. 5 minutes walk from the metro station. The breakfast was very good. Asked for an iron and it was brought to me within 5 minutes.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikos_Tap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanubiusHelia, Reservation & yield manager at Danubius Hotel Helia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Nikos,

We would like to thank you for sharing your positive opinion about our Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia, especially the wonderful service, helpful staff, favorable location with easy access to the city center and tasty breakfast.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we will be able to welcome you again soon either on business or on leisure stay.

Best regards,

Viktoria Boriszov

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed here many times and was always satisfied with everything. Nice, clean room, nice view from the superior room over the Danube and silent.
Checking in and out is fast, staff is polite and helpful.
Breakfast is very nice and big choice and even if hotel is full of tourists breakfast room is not crowded.
It is not a luxurius hotel but deserves 4 star without doubt.

Room Tip: room with river view have nice view and very silent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Szilvia133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanubiusHelia, revenue manager at Danubius Hotel Helia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Szilvia,

Thank you for very much for your comments on tripadvisor, which we truly appreciate, especially knowing that you are a returning guest.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stayes with us and thank you for your compliments regarding our clean rooms, nice view, helpful staff and plentiful breakfast.
We hope that next time you visit Budapest, you will chose our Danubius Health Resort Helia again.

Best regards,

Viktória Boriszov

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Margaret Island
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
Margaret Island
Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget
NH Budapest City
#74 of 334 in Budapest
1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
#126 of 334 in Budapest
1,463 reviews
Gellert Hill
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Danubius Hotel Gellert
#101 of 334 in Budapest
6,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Hotel Helia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Hotel Helia

Address: Karpat utca 62-64., Budapest 1133, Hungary (Formerly Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia)
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#36 Business Hotel in Budapest
#51 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#63 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#68 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £47 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Hotel Helia 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Work or pleasure? We cater for both! What makes the Helia so special? That’s a matter of perspective. This is a wellness hotel with a wide range of fitness and spa services for guests in need of some pampering. However, it’s also a fully equipped conference hotel with all the facilities to host top quality professional events. The wellness and conference hotel is located in Budapest’s dynamic XIIIth district, on the bank of the Danube. The city centre is just 15 minutes away, while the nearby Margaret Island offers a host of recreational activities – from cycling, tennis and swimming to relaxing walks in beautiful parkland. Whether you’d like to unwind after work – or get away from work altogether – our wellness centre is the perfect spot. It has an adventure pool, swimming pool, sauna and a two-storey fitness club with stunning panoramic views. The hotel’s thermal bath is fed by natural thermal water from Margaret Island’s springs. Guests arriving by car can keep their vehicles safe in the hotel’s own car park, and travel into the centre by trolleybus or bus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Danubius Hotel Helia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia Hotel Budapest
Danubius Health Hotel Helia
Danubius Health Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing