We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lots of eye candy!”
Review of art'otel budapest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
art'otel budapest
Ranked #42 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The art'otel is decorated all over - in the rooms as well as the public areas - with tasteful modern art and artistic furnishings. The location is great. Our room had a wide view on the Danube, with the Parliament building across. The place is clean, well kept, and the staff is multilingual and helpful. Why do I only give a very good, rather than an excellent rating? The "free internet" is frustratingly slow. They also offer a high-speed version, but that costs 15 Euros per night! Also, there is no coffee-maker in the room...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grandpa284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,844)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,307 - 1,313 of 2,846 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

This is a modern and clean hotel with excellent English speaking reception staff. They offered great tourist advice for restaurants and sight seeing. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. It is a nice walking distance to the bridge across the river and into the main city centre. We had a great stay and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJKNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Easy place to stay for a typical budapest visite.
You want something central, you want to walk from your hotel to city downtown or palais, this hotel is perfect for you .
Smiling,efficient and always ready to help you, employees are perfect.

Thank srvunknown-1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Our stay here was so wonderful. We, too, arrived during the St. Stephan's Festival. Below our sixth floor room overlooking the Danube, were festival tents hawking local bier, wine, nuts, tower cakes, goulash, lagos for 800 meters in both directions. Our first evening meal was spent in this beautiful open air setting on picnic tables looking at the stunning Parliament building. The next nite, we were overwhelmed watching the barges fire their fireworks simultaneously with accompanying music from near the Margaret & Chain bridges and one in front of us! Even without the festival, this location is perfect. We took a boat taxi from a stop 100 meters up (and free to "pensioners" over 65) to Margaret Island, ran around the island and stopped in to the water park with hot springs after, then walked along the Danube home. (Do your run first, before entering the spa, for once you are in there, you cannot go out and return)
It was another short walk to the Chain Bridge for entry to the Pest side or the funicular for access to the Castle & Museum. The restaurants nearby the hotel on the water were very good...wish I could remember all the names, but they were within 200 meters of art 'otel. One name was easy to remember the Carne di Hall...get it? Another was an outdoor grill with a nice duck breast and great steak, even if we did have to box it up to go see the fireworks from our room. It was St. Stephan's, and they were slammed. The third was a Belgian bier place. All had outdoor seating, but you might have to reserve those tables. The grill was all outdoors with maybe 20 tables. The location made the city wonderful and we walked from 10-10 each day eating unhealthy wonderful food and still lost weight!

Room Tip: Must have river view. That means street view, but, hey, it is the Danube. Higher is better. 612 i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank my356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel last month for National Hungarian Day which is on the on 20th August every year.The hotel is in an amazing location facing Parliament Building.We had a room looking over the Danube which we would recommend highly.The check in was fine we had to wait a little while for our room to be ready but it was a lovely room.Mini-bar was expensive for example 750huf(£3.00) for a bottle of water which you can buy for 129huf(30p) in the shops.Staff were helpful.We walked everywhere because we were there on a bank holiday.We did not eat in the hotel so cannot comment on the food or bar.We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandra047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We arrived late (train delays) but on leaving the metro at Batthyany Ter we were greeted by the sight of the Parliament building across the river, floodlit in the dark. A lovely introduction to Budapest. It was a short, straightforward walk to the hotel where we were checked in. Both rooms were in the old part. They were modern and well-appointed, with the kids' room having a view of the castle and cathedral. Beds were comfortable - bathrooms had a (very effective) shower over the bath. Our room was the smaller of the two (a double - the kids was a twin) - but none the worse for that. good quality furniture and comfy beds. Reception staff very helpful - we were interested in a restaurant nearby which we were not sure how to find having left the crucial page of notes at home! They googled it, showed us on streetview and described how to get there, and said they would like our feedback on what it was like! The rooms were kept clean and housekeeping was efficient. It was a good location in Budapest - easy to get to the main sites, although we did use some public transport - for a family of four, a good deal - for the price of 2 passengers, you get a 24 hour group ticket which up to 5 people can use travelling together. Breakfast was varied, plentiful and fresh, and the restaurant was lovely - in the old bit - you could sit in the food area, in a roofed atrium, or in a little courtyard outside (weather permitting). We booked online with a special deal and I thought it was good value - much better than Prague. We also used the bar - perhaps a little soulless, but good views over the river. Prices not too bad. for those in search of a

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hipposWiltshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile


The hotel overlooks the Danube and ia opposite the Parliament building. It is a short walk to Fisherman's Bastion and the Hospital in the Rock, and close to a Meteo station. It is possible to walk into the Pest area as the Chain Bridge is 5-10 minute walk along the Danube, but the walk is unpleasant due to a large number of cyclists weaving around pedestrains.

We arrived a bit early, but we were not allowed to check in until 2 o'clock. When we got into our room, we noticed it was a smoking room and asked to be moved to a no smoking room. We got a much nicer and larger room, with a sofa, in an elegantly decorated part of the hotel. My only criticism of the room and hotel was that the carpet looked stained and worn.

The shower and hairdryer were poweful and toiletries were provided. There was a mini bar, but it was quite expensive.

The staff at the front desk spoke excellent english, and were helpful. They let us borrow a plug adaptor and booked a Danube cruise for us.

We ate in the hotel bar twice and found it to be reasonably priced for a hotel and the food of good quality.

Breakfast is expensive at 14 euros per person, and the buffet selection seemed rather limited compared to other hotels, but the croissants were big and delicious. Unfortunately there are very few places to get breakfast near the hotel as most of the restuarants and fast food places are in the Pest area. We tried the only cafe we found open near the hotel and the hygiene was so poor, we decided to pay for breakfast on the hotel the next day!

3  Thank vanadia7
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#40 of 334 in Budapest
4,453 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#14 of 334 in Budapest
2,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Budapest Danube
#63 of 334 in Budapest
1,741 reviews
K+K Hotel Opera
#41 of 334 in Budapest
3,303 reviews
Fraser Residence Budapest
#18 of 334 in Budapest
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to art'otel budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about art'otel budapest

Address: Bem rakpart 16-19, Budapest 1011, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Budapest
#27 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#30 Family Hotel in Budapest
#39 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £54 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — art'otel budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Striking Hotel set in 4 renovated Baroque houses dating from the 18th century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Prestigia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your art'otel budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art`Otel Budapest Hotel Budapest
Artotel Budapest
Art Hotel Budapest
Park Plaza Budapest
Budapest Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing