We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good hotel and location, bad service”
Review of art'otel budapest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
art'otel budapest
Ranked #42 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The rooms and the beds are just amazing. So is the location with the greatest views. The room we had was a bit noisy from the traffic but ok.

Service was really poor. The receptionist didnt welcome us or give us any attention. We waited forever to just keep our bags in the baggage rooom!

Room Tip: Views to the river but high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmerer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamas M, Front Office Manager at art'otel budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear valued Guest, We appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was delighted to see that you enjoyed the views, the location of the hotel however I was very sorry to learn that the service provide by our receptionists was below you expectation. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences caused.
Our hotel normally only receives very positive comments regarding our staff so i was a bit surprised that you had such a negative experience. Please rest assured that this is definitely not the service we are operating on as you can see on all the positive statements posted here and I really hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.
On behalf of our entire staff at art'otel budapest we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Kind regards,
Tamás Márton
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,866)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,258 - 1,264 of 2,866 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

This was our second visit to Budapest and we had to come back to the Artotel as it was so good last time.

We found the stay to be just as good, making this our hotel for Budapest trips in future.

As previous posters have said, the staff are so friendly and helpful. Our room, a Danube view room, had opening French windows and a seating area, so we could sit and have fresh air and the wonderful view.

Last time we noticed few places in the immediate area which looked attractive to eat, but this time there were more places open, with seating outdoors. So, if you don't want to eat in the hotel (and the food really is good and well served there), there are a number of bars and restaurants within a couple of hundred yards. We recommend the Sailor Inn, which has a wonderful menu and the food is beautifully presented and very reasonable, plus a two page beer menu.

If you don't want to walk over the Chain Bridge to the busier Pest side, walk behind the hotel and head upwards to the Fisherman's bastion and Buda castle - really worth a look and the walk isn't too difficult.

On check-out we asked for a late checkout and were given until 1400 free, which made a big difference to us. Wi-Fi is free, the login sheets are valid for 3 days and easily available from the reception desk (one sheet per device, so pick up a few if you need them). Wi-Fi speed was fine for browsing and messaging, but video messaging didn't quite connect properly.

One other thing - the rooms overlooking the Danube are beautiful, but they also overlook the road and tramline, so be prepared for noise at times.

Room Tip: Asking for a lovely view means accepting a level of noise you won't get from the older rooms at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonJan_Wirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamas M, Front Office Manager at art'otel budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear valued Guest, thank you for taking time to leave such a great feedback regarding your second stay at art'otel budapest. We feel very proud to read that you like our hotel.
Regarding the internet I am glad in informing you that we recently upgraded our internet services and we are offering a complimentary 512kb/s connection which is enough for basic activities like checking e-mails, browsing the web, etc. We offer however also a 3 or 5Mb/s connection as an upgrade which allows our guests even streaming and downloading media files if needed.Also in all bedrooms the TVs are fitted with high speed internet access features at no additional charges. Hopefully you will be able to benefit from this new service upon your next visit.
With kind regards,
Tamás Márton
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This hotel is modern and clean, but the best part is the location. If you want to be in the middle of the bustle of Pest, then it is not for you. It is on the quieter Buda side. Easy access to Mathias Church and Fisherman's Bastion in the castle area.

It is a nice walk over the Chain bridge to the Pest side for whatever else you want to do.

The service at the hotel was very good. They secured cabs for us in minutes and told us what to expect for fares for where we were going.

First morning, no hot water, but they informed us that it would be fixed shortly and by the time we returned for dinner it was.

The lobby, bar and rooms are fresh and modern. Great restaurant a couple of blocks away called Angelika.

Room Tip: We had a room with a perfect view of the Parliament, but even the rooms in the back have a great vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaryScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamas M, Front Office Manager at art'otel budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.com following your recent stay with us here in the art’otel budapest. I was delighted to see that you enjoyed the views, the location of the hotel ,and that you were satisfied with the service provide by our staff.
On behalf of the entire team I would like to thank you for your visit and hope to see you again when you will be back in Budapest.
Kind regards,
Tamás Márton
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Clean, quiet, great location with an amazing view of Pest. The staff is efficient and professional. Great transit options nearby. Easy to walk to the major sights on the Buda side. Interesting decor. Nearby are some good restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djsmjem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamas M, Front Office Manager at art'otel budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear valued Guest, thank you so much to post your review on TripAdvisor.com ! I was very glad to read that you were so satisfied with your expereience at art'otel budapest.
On behalf of our entire team we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Kind regards,
Tamás Márton
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Art'hotel is with no discuss a lovely hotel placed in one of the best locations in Budapest.

BUT - there is a huge BUT:

Even we now are in 2014 the wi-fi is like we were in the 90tees. I simply can not understand why the hotel don't want to fix it. I have seen comments in Trip Advisor where this issue was raised more than a year ago - and it is still the same - poor poor connection!!!!

I stayed two nights in another hotel i Budapest before i moved to Art'hotel and my experiense is that WIFI can work in Budapest - but obviosly not in Art'Hotel. If I were you - I would not stay at this hotel if you need a proper WIFI access.

Room Tip: WIFI needed - don't choose this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Totoreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamas M, Front Office Manager at art'otel budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear valued Guest,
First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.com.
I was very pleased to read that you found our hotel "lovely with one of the best location in Budapest" I was very disappointed to learn however that you were not satisfied with the speed of the wifi connection we were offering. Regarding the Internet I am happy to inform you that we recently upgraded our internet services and we are offering a complimentary 512kb/s connection which is enough for basic activities like checking e-mails, browsing the web, etc. We offer however also a 3 or 5Mb/s connection as an upgrade which allows our guests even streaming and downloading media files if needed.
Also in all bedrooms the TVs are fitted with high speed internet access features at no additional charges.
Hopefully you will be able to benefit from this new service upon you next visit.
Kind regards,
Tamás Márton
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We have just returned from Budapest having spent 7 nights in this superb hotel. Firstly, the staff at Reception just couldn't be more charming and helpful. They are always cheerful and ready to assist with advice and bookings of trips. Our room was very spacious and overlooked the courtyard at the back - very quiet and comfortable. The artwork is just great. We had a very good breakfast each morning with a very varied choice of fruits, yoghurts, cereals, teas, coffees, breads and hot buffet.Delicious and excellent quality.
The position of the hotel is wonderful with stunning views across the Danube. This was our 5th visit to Budapest and we think that it is preferable to stay on the Buda side. There are excellent restaurants within walking distance - Andante, Angelika, Marvellosa.........
Sincere thanks to all the staff at Art'otel , catering staff & cleaning staff included.
We would certainly return.

Room Tip: The rooms with a view of the Danube are certainly great but we loved the peace and quiet of our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamas M, Front Office Manager at art'otel budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear valued Guest, I can not be grateful enough for your generous comment left on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at art'otel budapest. Reading such a nice review our entire staff is very proud for the hotel and for the service we provide.
On behalf of the entire team I would like to thank you for your visit and hope to see you again when you will be back in Budapest.
Kind regards,
Tamás Márton
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I had the pleasure to stay here for one night on business. The room was comfortable and interestingly decorated with unique art. But the best surprise was the beautiful window view overlooking the Danube, Parliament, and Chain Bridge.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamas M, Front Office Manager at art'otel budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear valued Guest, thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor following your rstay at art’otel budapest. I was delighted to read your kind words about our location, the view from our rooms and our unique design.
Hope to see you back soon.
Kind regards,
Tamás Márton
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#39 of 335 in Budapest
4,469 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#14 of 335 in Budapest
2,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Budapest Danube
#64 of 335 in Budapest
1,756 reviews
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#47 of 335 in Budapest
758 reviews
K+K Hotel Opera
#41 of 335 in Budapest
3,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to art'otel budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about art'otel budapest

Address: Bem rakpart 16-19, Budapest 1011, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Budapest
#30 Family Hotel in Budapest
#35 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#39 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £51 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — art'otel budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Striking Hotel set in 4 renovated Baroque houses dating from the 18th century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your art'otel budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art`Otel Budapest Hotel Budapest
Artotel Budapest
Art Hotel Budapest
Park Plaza Budapest
Budapest Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing