We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay”
Review of art'otel budapest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
art'otel budapest
Ranked #41 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our stay”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed twice. First room perfect overlooking river and parliament with balcony. Second room similar but with no balcony. Second room air conditioning did not work and shower inefficient. Ordered food and took to room. Burger undercooked in middle. Went back down and asked for it to be cooked further. Told "I'm too busy now". Told him rest of food getting cold. Eventually someone else sorted it out. Not good enough. Staff not very friendly. Good breakfast.

Room Tip: Pick one overlooking river but make sure air conditioning works as you need to shut the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonesram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamas M, Front Office Manager at art'otel budapest, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear valued Guest,thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Tripadvisor. I was very sorry to learn that the service level of our staff was below your expectation.
Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences caused. Please rest assured that this was an exception and not the usual standard of service,upon which we have built our high reputation.
On behalf of our entire staff at art'otel budapest we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Kind regards,
Tamás Márton
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,404
    1,079
    192
    50
    24
See reviews for
318
1,178
130
487
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel is nicely located on the Buda side of the Danube river. The surrounding area is rather quiet with old little streets below the Buda castle, but you can walk ten minutes and find yourself next to the historical funicular and Chain Bridge. The views are spectacular on both sides of the hotel. Danube river with Parliament and Chain Bridge or Buda castle all nicely illuminated during the night. Rooms are of a good size with simple furniture and nice design and artistic decoration but to some the overall perception can be a little bit cold. The breakfast area at the historical part of the building is more exciting than the bar next to the reception desk, food is ok but there are much better places to dine in Budapest.

Room Tip: Pick high floor, which will somewhat eliminate the morning rush from the street, but mainly ensure a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jakub M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamas M, Front Office Manager at art'otel budapest, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear valued Guest, We appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.
I was delighted to read your kind words about our excellent location , the design and decoration of the rooms.
On behalf of the entire team I would like to thank you for your visit and hope to see you again when you will be back in Budapest.
Best regards,
Tamás Márton
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

great location, great rooms, great breakfast, great prices.
we stayed there 5 days and enjoyed everything.
it was very close to the parliament building snd next to chain bridge and metro station so we could go everywhere we want on foot or train fast fast fast

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dimvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamas M, Front Office Manager at art'otel budapest, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear valued Guest, thank you for taking time to leave such a great feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
On behalf of our entire staff at art'otel budapest we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Kind regards,
Tamás Márton
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights on a biz trip. Small lobby a but busy and crowded, but rooms spacious and had an awesome view of the Danube, Chain Bridge and the Parliament Building (room 112).

Breakfast okay - lots to eat but not very tasty. Not bad, just bland. Had a good lunch in their restaurant - white asparagus with prosciutto that was excellent.

Most staff friendly except one front desk guy who was not friendly or very helpful to anyone.

Good location for exploring Castle Hill, walking the bridges (especially Chain Bridge and Margit Bridge), and for getting easily to other locations through the close-by subway station and train station a little further on.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dbl_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamas M, Front Office Manager at art'otel budapest, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear valued Guest, we appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.
I was delighted to see that you enjoyed the views, the location of the hotel and you found our rooms spacious, clean and comfortable. I was pleased to hear that in general you found our staff friendly however I was very sorry to learn that the attitude of a front desk clerk was below your expectation. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences caused.
On behalf of our entire staff at art'otel budapest we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Kind regards,
Tamás Márton
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The hotel is situated right next to the Danube river and has a great view of Budapest’s most prominent building, the Parliament. Even though I had a room on the back-side of the hotel I enjoyed a nice view. Beware though that most rooms on the back side have no view at all. The room was spacious, including a comfortable desk to work. The decoration was very modern and all the usual hotel amenities were provided. Breakfast buffet had a big variety of products, all of good quality. The service was efficient and friendly. Given that I also experienced business meetings organized in the hotel, I would also like to note the good organization and the convenient premises for such events.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thada18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamas M, Front Office Manager at art'otel budapest, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear valued Guest, I appreciate thevery kind feedback on the room, on our breakfast offerings and specially on our staff members.
On behalf of our entire staff at art'otel budapest we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Kind regards,
Tamás Márton
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Misc
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel is average in absolutely every respect. Rooms are average sized and neither clean or dirty. The location has its pluses and minuses. The value for money is neither here or there.

One thing that makes the hotel stand out, however is the views. It is practically across the river across from Budapest's most recognizable landmark--the House of Parliament building. Sticking your head out of the window or balcony is extremely rewarding and makes the stay worth it, just from that perspective.

The place is a bit off the beaten path, you need to walk a few minutes to a restaurant (one of very few vegetarian, organic cafes in Budapest is just 5 minutes away), a few minutes to the metro, or a grocery store. I wouldn't stay here for business, but for a family visit, if you like to see a little of real life in a strange city, this place is pretty good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sine_Patria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamas M, Front Office Manager at art'otel budapest, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear valued Guest, I would like to thank you that you have taken the time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor.
On behalf of our entire staff at art'otel budapest we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Kind regards,
Tamás Márton
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QCPhilippines
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The location was good. The mammut mall was a 20 minute walk. It took us around 30 minutes to walk to the river cruise. Our double room was very clean, quite new with a huge LCD TV. We had a great view of the Danube river and the parliament building. Bathroom was also very clean , no bathtub. Breakfast spread consists of different kinds of bread, cold cuts fruit, juices and salad. I specially liked the multivitamin juice. The staff were all accommodating and I noticed most
of the male staff were quite buffed. This hotel was included in our tour package. I saw online that a double room costs around 93 euro per night.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelafeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamas M, Front Office Manager at art'otel budapest, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear valued Guest, thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us here in the art’otel budapest. I was delighted to see that you enjoyed the views, the location of the hotel and the breakfast, and that you found your room perfectly clean.
On behalf of the entire team I would like to thank you for your visit and hope to see you again when you will be back in Budapest.
Kind regards,
Tamás Márton
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#12 of 334 in Budapest
2,419 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#39 of 334 in Budapest
4,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
#30 of 334 in Budapest
923 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#5 of 334 in Budapest
2,208 reviews
District I / Buda
Lanchid 19 Hotel
Lanchid 19 Hotel
#58 of 334 in Budapest
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to art'otel budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about art'otel budapest

Property: art'otel budapest
Address: Bem rakpart 16-19, Budapest 1011, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Budapest
#30 Family Hotel in Budapest
#33 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#39 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — art'otel budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Striking Hotel set in 4 renovated Baroque houses dating from the 18th century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your art'otel budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art`Otel Budapest Hotel Budapest
Artotel Budapest
Art Hotel Budapest
Park Plaza Budapest
Budapest Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing