We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, not far from Fisherman's Bastion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Budapest Buda
Ranked #121 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,049 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 429 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, not far from Fisherman's Bastion”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed here as part of a tour.

The hotel seems to be popular with tour groups as there were 2 other tour groups staying her at the same time.

The hotel is not in the city centre, however is close to Fisherman's Bastion and Chain Bridge, and you can walk to the other side of the bridge (Pest) for shopping in 20 minutes.

Whilst there aren't cafés or restaurants nearby, there is a cheap supermarket directly behind the hotel and the supermarket allows you to pay in Euro.

I ate in the hotel for breakfast and dinner, and the goulash soup for dinner was delicious and reasonable at HUF2190 (approx 7 Euro). Breakfast is ample as well.

Room is standard and ensuite is a tad small, all works well.

Staff were wonderful - I had a minor issue (bed hadn't been made properly on arrival, mattress was exposed), and they were very apologetic and happy to fix it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank KylieIsTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear KylieIsTravelling,

Many thanks for the nice words which you posted to TripAdvisor. We are very glad to read your positive remarks regarding your stay in our hotel; we will share them with our team. We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Best regards,
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    699
    386
    119
    78
See reviews for
244
581
144
263
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Recently, while holidaying in Hungary, I had opportunity to stay in Hotel Mercure Budapest Buda. Having had a pleasant stay in a Mercure property earlier at Paris, I was looking forward to similar experience here. I could not have been more wrong. Hotel looks impressive from outside but the rooms are rather cramped. It was a rather warm afternoon when we checked in. I found AC not working. Upon taking up the matter with reception, I was told, rather rudely, that hotel's AC plant was malfunctioning! I then requested the lady manning the reception to allow us to open the window (It could be opened only partially, as it was locked for full open). To my surprise, I was told that I would have to give a written undertaking that for any mishap (due to opening of window), I would not hold the hotel responsible!. When dug deeper, she informed that few months ago, a guest's laptop had fallen (how?) from the open window and he had created a ruckus! She also added that it was sufficiently cold outside and no AC was needed. So window stayed only partially opened. Fortunately, weather turned cooler and we could sleep somehow.

Room Tip: There are better 4 star hotels in Budpest in more convenient locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Varshago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Varshago,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments. We are sorry that your experience did not meet your full expectations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Best regards,
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Budapest hotels

Carrollton, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is a standard hotel, and is apparently popular with tour groups, as there seemed to always be a big bus loading or unloading when I came and went. The room is a standard hotel room, nothing especially good or bad. The location is right next to a subway / rail station, so you can easily get to other things, but there is very little in the way of cafes and shops within walking distance - you have you take the subway across the river, or climb about 500 steps up the hill to the Castle District.

Customer service was not great: I requested a wake up call for the morning I was set to leave, since my driver was picking me up at 5:30AM. I got no wake up call, and when I mentioned it to the desk clerk when I checked out, his response was that since I was awake, it was no problem. Good thing they were my backup for the alarm, and that I was awake anyway.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shari V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Shari V,

We thank you for your comments. Your remarks are important to us and will enable us to improve the quality of our offer and services in a matter to satisfy our guests' needs and expectations. I already shared your feedback with my Team and made the necessary steps to prevent such an inconvenience in the future. We sincerely hope to see you back in our hotel.

With best regards,
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel looks outside new and clean but the room we stayed in was disappoitment. The room was non-smoking but there was clear smell of tobacco the entire time we stayed there (4 nights). Airing the room didn't help. We had to wash and air our clothes after we came home to get the smell off. The bathroom was pretty bad. The tub clogged couple times and the shower had low water pressure. The interior was otherwise average. The location was pretty good. Walking distance to chain bridge.

I wouldn't stay there again. For 40? per night there has to be better options.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments. We are sorry that your experience did not meet your full expectations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Best regards,
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Not quite the 4 star it boasts but very pleasant. Staff extremely helpful. Breakfast expensive & not very hot - later found breakfast in Lobby Bar - cheaper and better value eg fresh orange juice not squash. Very near to Metro line and good transport links. Room overlooking Castle - rear of hotel backs on to station. Have seen reviews saying rooms are noisy - can't comment as use earplugs. However, room was very hot and stuffy even with air on. Would recommend for its transport links.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janehelen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Janehelen2013,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us regarding your stay in our hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Among the advantages of our hotel there is the good location, the helpful staff. Thank you for your remark again and we sincerely hope to see you back in our hotel in the near future.

Best regards
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a good hotel with the metro located very close to the hotel. Receptionist were helpful although some of them could be more friendly. I noticed two employees who were just inside the hotel standing. They should be greeting the tourist but they were busy talking to each other. The room are pretty good but we noticed that the room temperature must be centrally regulated since it is much warmer at night in the rooms and they pump cooler air around 0630. Breakfast is adequate with decent buffet. They refilled the breakfast better today compared to yesterday. Will definitely stay in this hotel gain.

Room Tip: Very close to the metro lines and only 4 stops to the Pest center.easy to come back since this is th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa20002014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Teresa20002014,

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to pass on your comments on your stay with us at Mercure Buda. We are all delighted that the hotel met your expectations and that you had a great time with us in Budapest. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest City Center
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel
Novotel Budapest City
#90 of 334 in Budapest
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Terézváros
ibis Budapest Heroes Square
ibis Budapest Heroes Square
#100 of 334 in Budapest
741 reviews
Ibis Budapest Centrum
#62 of 334 in Budapest
1,506 reviews
Leonardo Hotel Budapest
#128 of 334 in Budapest
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Budapest Buda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Budapest Buda

Property: Mercure Budapest Buda
Address: Krisztina koerut 41 - 43., Budapest 1013, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#60 Business Hotel in Budapest
#84 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#95 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Budapest Buda 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished, centrally located 4 star hotel, just 5 minutes walk from the Castle District, 4 metro stations from the city centre (Deak ter station) and with direct access to the southern station (Deli palyaudvar). Easy to reach from the M1 and M7 with coach parking. 7 conference rooms for up to 300 people ideal for meetings, seminars, training days and family functions. WiFi internet, business corner, 24 hour reception, two restaurants, lobby bar, souvenir shops, friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Budapest Buda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Budapest Buda Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Buda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing