We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Budapest Buda
Ranked #114 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this hotel in June. It is located at the foot of the buda hill with the view to the castle. The bridge is also within walking distance. Clean room and good service. Highly recommended!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shuoqing Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Shuoqing Z,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your staying in Hotel Mercure Budapest Buda! I greatly appreciate the compliments on the location, cleanliness and staff. I will be sure to share your comments with the entire team! We have a unique location only a few steps away from the Budavár Castle ( World Heritage Site ) and 15 minutes walk from the Chain Bridge.
Once again, thank you for the positive feedback and for taking the time to write about us. We look forward to having an opportunity to be of service to you in the future.

Best regards,
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    681
    362
    108
    72
See reviews for
230
563
137
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

An excellent hotel, very nice everything worth seeing, very friendly staff, great location. Cleanliness excellent in hotel, in room, wonderful places near Hotel Mercure Budapest Buda, which can be visited.
Thank you for your hospitality. I highly recommend . We had a great time during stay and we will definitely return:-)

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Florina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Florina A,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us regarding your stay in our hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Among the advantages of our hotel there is the good location, the helpful staff. Thank you for your remark again and we sincerely hope to see you back in our hotel in the near future.

Best regards,
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We recently stayed at the Buda Mercure and had a very pleasurable stay. The staff were very helpful and professional and the rooms were comfortable although a little cramped by having an office desk in the corner. The reception area was constanly busy but was so large coach parties were easily swallowed up. On entering the bar someone quickly came to serve and all glasses were immediately cleared away. We did not eat in the hotel as we wanted to see as much of the city as possible (also breakfast was 14 euros).
The hotel is also well placed for trams and is only a couple of minutes from the metro which means the centre of Pest is only 10 minutes away.
Turning right at the front of the hotel, a short walk brings you to Deryne Bistro an excellent place for atmosphere, food and drink. Other places we enjoyed eating were Bonnie on Ferenciek tere, and Cafe Intenzo on Kalvin ter and for lunch try the market (a huge two floor indoor market)
Walking straight across the park facing the hotel and climbing the stairs to the right at the end of the park brings you to the Palace and Fishermans Wharf overlooking Pest and the Danube. Here also is the start of the Buda tour - one of the free tours given with a Budapest card allowing travel on trams, buses and metro along with discounts and two (must do) free walking tours .

Room Tip: The view from the back of the hotel overlooks the railway station and the city climbing up the Buda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PenceOsborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear PenceOsborne,

Thank you so much for choosing Mercure Budapest Buda during your stay in Hungary. We appreciate your nice comments. It is always a pleasure to know that our Guests are satisfied with our services. We really do hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
167 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

The air conditioning in this hotel is inefficient both in the bedrooms and in the public areas resulting in an uncomfortable stay in the summer heat.

Breakfast is served in two different restaurants: one pleasant and one unpleasant. Tour groups are put in the unpleasant one: overcrowded, understaffed, and poor food quality. This hotel does seem to treat groups as second class citizens, insisting on a 10 am checkout if you are booked in a group compared with 12 noon for others, and providing inferior dining facilities.

But they do provide free Wi-Fi which is one positive.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TowerTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear TowerTwo,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on Trip Advisor. We do value both positive and negative feedback from past guests as we genuinely want to know what our guests think about our facilities and service. Our goal is to provide a totally satisfying experience to each and every person who visits Hotel Mercure Budapest Buda. Regarding restaurant: our á la carte restaurant „Budavár” is reserved for á la carte guests. The capacity of this „Budavár” Restaurant is limited.
I hope that we get the chance to replace your negative experiences with far more favorable ones in the future at some stage.

Best regards,
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Budapest hotels

Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We were here for only one night in July with a tour group. Rooms were old but clean and average in size (with space for luggage even with two persons in room) ,good enough for one night stay. It is obviously not a new hotel or newly refurbished but there was wifi and enough electrical outlets in the room. No tea kettle or coffee/tea fixings. Nothing elegant or fancy, just an average 3 star business hotel.

Service however, was not average. It was terrible. Asking for an estimate of how far was the St. Stephen's Cathedral and approximate cost of taxi there elicited only shrugs and I don't know. After having asked 4 different people at the counter and returning insistently to the first one (time was running, we were already late for the concert and we had only one night in Budapest), she deigned to look at her computer and give me the right answer . What should have taken a minute took all of 10 minutes.

A taxi can be requested at reception and the hotel tie-up is good and reliable. When I asked for the hotel address for the return trip, the guy who I requested the taxi from said, back of keycard. Ok, but note that the address on back of keycard is extremely small and it turns out there are several Mercure properties in Budapest. Took sometime for the taxi driver on return trip to figure out the correct one.

Returning from the Cathedral and short of local currency, having been bilked by the 2nd taxi who asked for triple the correct fare (lesson : always ask a hotel or restaurant to call for a reliable taxi - don't pick up from the streets in Budapest), I left taxi at entrance and went to hotel cashier to exchange some money to pay him, obviously in something of a rush. Upon arrival at the counter, cashier was idly chatting with someone at the counter. Initially thinking the person in front of the counter was a guest (because he was in a suit and not dressed like the front office staff), I waited patiently. When it took longer and longer, I looked closely and saw as that it was another hotel personnel with a name tag and not a customer; I said excuse me, but was told rudely to wait. Ok wait, then, what choice do I have - only to be told after all the waiting that foreign exchange was "out of order". No service.

Buffet breakfast was mediocre but filling. I will not consider staying here again. Should management be able to correct staff attitude, congratulations and good luck to future guests.

Room Tip: Our room had a view of the rail yard. I saw some reviews with beautiful views. Good luck consulting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Nina C,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at the Mercure Budapest Buda. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies.
Your remarks are important to us and will enable us to improve the quality of our offer and services in a matter to satisfy our guests' needs. We have already shared your feedback with our Team and we have carefully investigated your case. So please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.
We appreciate again that you have shared your concerns. We sincerely hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Please contact me directly on your next visit and I will ensure that we take care of you.

With best regards,
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Excellent hotel, good location. It's close the metro station, so you can quickly go to the city centre. It's across the hill from the old city, so it's a short 10 minute walk to the castle.

Breakfast was good, the selection of food wasn't that huge, but reasonable.

Free parking in the hotel carpark if they have space, otherwise you need to pay to park in the garage.

Rooms are good, slightly outdated, but still very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onlygod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear onlygod,

Thank you so much for choosing Mercure Budapest Buda during your stay in Hungary. We appreciate your nice comments. We are very delighted to read your positive experience about the location. It is always good to read that our guests found our staff friendly and helpful. Special thanks for staying with us next time when you come to Budapest.

Best regards,
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

The hotel has a perfect location, very close to the main tourist attractions and metro station. It is comfortable, clean and hotel's staff is always friendly and helps with advices. The breakfast is nice and meals in the restaurant are fabulous. The view from the hotel is nice, just opposite of the castle place! the price level is acceptable.

Room Tip: Higher floors have wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gergana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Gergana B,

Thank you so much to the author for such a nice feedback on the location, restaurant and staff of the Hotel Mercure Budapest Buda. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that everyone well looked after you. I will share your comments with the whole team who will be glad to hear them.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future!

Kind Regards,

A.Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest City Center
Novotel Budapest City
#88 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Hotel Castle Garden
Hotel Castle Garden
#44 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Leonardo Hotel Budapest
#117 of 342 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Styles Budapest Center
Ibis Styles Budapest Center
#62 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Budapest Buda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Budapest Buda

Property: Mercure Budapest Buda
Address: Krisztina koerut 41 - 43., Budapest 1013, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Business Hotel in Budapest
#80 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#95 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Budapest Buda 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished, centrally located 4 star hotel, just 5 minutes walk from the Castle District, 4 metro stations from the city centre (Deak ter station) and with direct access to the southern station (Deli palyaudvar). Easy to reach from the M1 and M7 with coach parking. 7 conference rooms for up to 300 people ideal for meetings, seminars, training days and family functions. WiFi internet, business corner, 24 hour reception, two restaurants, lobby bar, souvenir shops, friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Budapest Buda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Budapest Buda Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Buda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing