We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Nearby Hotels
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
New York Palace(Budapest)
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Budapest(Budapest)
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$310
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$243
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$231
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Prima Fashion Hotel(Budapest)
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (5,887)
Filter reviews
5,887 results
Traveller rating
3,989
1,440
315
85
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,989
1,440
315
85
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschain bridgeparis restaurantluxury roomriver viewthe club loungefamous chainperfect locationexcellent hotelbreakfast buffetbuda castleacross the riverroyal palacean upgradechristmas marketjunior suitefour seasonsbeautiful city
Filter
Updating list...
3,305 - 3,310 of 5,887 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Great views of the Danube. Very expensive. Good spa.Helpful staff. Rooms good but a bit small.Get a river facing room ....any level is good. The bus is not too far so you can even tour using oublic transport. The station is only 20 minutes away by taxi. Careful of the Taxi drivers. They tend to overcharge.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanujpatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

This hotel is ideally situated near the chain bridge and makes an great location for discovering Budapest on foot. We were there with a tour which included breakfast and this was the best selection of items I have ever seen- including champagne (for those inclined). The 4 Seasons is right across the street and is a good place for lunch (better than at Sofitel); there is a mini market right near the hotel by for last minute paprika purchases.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
1  Thank PPPMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I was looking forward to my stay based on other reviews. Unfortunately, I was extremely disappointed. My room was sterile and I could hear noise from the major roadways and from doors slamming in the hallway. There was a bad smell in the hotel. I'm not an expert, but it was as if the drains were backing up. Some of the workers had a really bad attitude. The housekeepers were pleasant and did a good job, but the other personnel I met were cold or hostile. The breakfast buffet was so-so. It was typical fare for a business hotel.

Next time, I will try another hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rolf L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent_Betourne, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking your time to share your feedback about your stay in Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

Your feedback is very important for us to improve our service and make our guest stay unforgettable.

Based on your comments, we would like to take this opportunity to ensure you that these would serve as a base for further improvement of our hotel services.

I hope we can welcome you soon in Sofitel Budapest and make your stay "magnifique" from the beginning to the end.

Regards,

Laurent Betourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We didn't regret choosing Sofitel as our hotel in Budapest. The hotel is perfectly located, the staff is friendly and breakfast is plentiful and varied. Our room 401 overlooked the Intercontinental hotel, which is located opposite Sofitel, and had a side view of the Danube and the Chain bridge, so actually you do not have to pay extra for the front view of the river if your room is situated from the Intercontinental hotel's side. The room was spacious enough for 2 adults and 2 kids (our little 2 year old daughter shared the same bedding with us) and had all necessary amenities, including l'Occitane cosmetics. We also loved the heated indoor swimmimg pool and sauna. If you go there right after breakfast, you will most likely be there alone and kids will have fun swimming and screaming without disturbing anyone. We definetely recomment visiting Mocca restaurant and Strudel house, which are withing 5-10 min walk from the hotel. The food is delicious, the staff is very kids friendly, no gipsy music. The Gerbeaud cafe is also a must for a cup of coffee with a cake or the famous Gerbaud palatshinken (crepes). In case your kids are tired of the sightseeing program, a nice playground located right oposite the Hip-on - Hip-off bus stop (5 min walk from the hotel) will help desperate parents to enjoy their weekend longer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room from the intercontinental hotels side with a view over the Danube.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katjapetrova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

I stayed at the Sofitel Hotel on my 3 day visit to budapest, Hungary. I love it. Very clean and the staff was very helpful. Oh and probably the best view of the chain bridge.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlwaysOnTheMove944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews