We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Nearby Hotels
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$184
MGallery
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fraser Residence Budapest(Budapest)
US$238
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$711
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$671
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$227
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$280
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$310
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (5,851)
Filter reviews
5,851 results
Traveller rating
3,968
1,428
312
85
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,968
1,428
312
85
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschain bridgeparis restaurantluxury roomriver viewthe club loungefamous chainperfect locationexcellent hotelbreakfast buffetbuda castleacross the riverroyal palacean upgradechristmas marketjunior suitefour seasonsbeautiful city
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,253 - 3,258 of 5,851 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We stayed in this hotel for three nights on a short break holiday. The staff were attentive, pleasant and helpful in all instances. The pool and spa were clean and well maintained and the massage my wife had was very beneficial and effective. Our room was superb with every conceivable requirement catered for; had a huge and very comfortable bed and an en-suite with both bath and separate shower. All the complimentary toiletries were of a high quality and replenished daily.The buffet breakfast was without doubt the best we have ever experienced and I cannot imagine any visitor being unable to find a breakfast to suit them. Once again the staff were excellent and all requests managed promptly and efficiently. We have stayed in many hotels around Europe but would class this experience as one of the best.

Room Tip: We had a view of the Chain Bridge which was magnificent.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

I had the pleasure of spending 4 days in Budapest and was very happy to have chosen the Sofitel as my pied-à-terre. The hotel, situated right by the Chain Bridge, has great views of the Danube and of the bridge itself. The rooms are spacious, very nicely appointed, and elegantly decorated. I had a problem with my TV but the front desk sent someone to my room literally 5 minutes after I called to to inform then of the issue; the problem was quickly identified and I actually got a new TV! Room service was fantastic and very prompt, the breakfast buffet amazing, and the hotel boasts a great spa and fitness center. Overall a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sydney82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

we stayed for 3 nights in november. best thing about the hotel is its location, right in the heart of the city nearby the main attractions and transport. very modern and comfortable, spa very nice (pool a bit cold), we didnt have breakfast which was 29 euros per person (!) although it did look nice. staff very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carribbeanfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

There is a certain quality that comes with Sofitel, and Budapest is not in line with it...
Rooms are outdated (specifically the bathroom)...

The restaurant had top notch service... but the food wasn't good (well for my taste, I am picky).

Well located just in front of the Danube.. That we liked.

The inside Casino is also quite mediocre...

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank langlopi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent_Betourne, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking your time to share your feedback about your stay in Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

Your feedback is very important for us to improve our service and make our guest stay unforgettable.

Based on your comments, we would like to take this opportunity to ensure you that these would serve as a base for further improvement of our hotel services.

I hope we can welcome you soon in Sofitel Budapest and make your stay "magnifique" from the beginning to the end.

Best Regards,

Laurent Betourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

This is the second Sofitel I have stayed in , the other being Washington DC. The position of this hotel is superb, being within walking distance of the Iron Bridge and with it many of the sights.It is also within easy reach of the great shiops and restaurants.
We had a wonderful room right in the middle overlooking the Danube. The view to wake up to was breathtaking. It is worth paying a bit extra to be facing the Danube. The rooms were well appointed with luxurious Duvets and we had a King Size bed, which unfortunately was very soft. (worth checking with the hotel before booking if you want a hard mattress).
The bathroom was clean and functional rather than luxurious. Towelling robes and slippers were provided and good quality. We didn't eat in the hotel as breakfast wasn't included in our rate.
The bar on the ground floor opposite the Danube was relaxing and intimate and they offered a great range of cocktails, served by very charming and helpfull staff.
The concierge was brilliant and really helpful.
Only complaint was when hotel organised a taxi from rank outside to go to a restaurant no more than 10 minurtes away, I was charged 2500 ft compared with 1000ft for the return, when the restaurant ordered the cab.
Otherwise great hotel and will definately return

Room Tip: Get a room facing the Danube.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanR80S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews