We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, nice people, good pool--but not pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Ranked #22 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank 4ChevyChaseTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,312 - 2,318 of 5,566 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

On the plus side : great location, beautiful views on the Danube and Castle Hill (depending on the room you book), good value for money.
On the down one : the breakfast area is small and was very crowded when we were there (people had to stand in line for a long time before they were shown to their tables). No real "wow factor".

Room Tip: If you want to book a 'superior' room (Danube view), you might want to ask for one directly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramillies64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.
We were delighted to read that you had a nice stay at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge - that you were more than satisfied with the location and that you liked the stunning view from your room.

However I am terribly sorry that you had less comfortable impressions regarding the breakfast, I will personally inform the concerned departments about it.

Your feedback is a great encouragement for our future work and we are pleased to pass it over to our colleagues.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Your sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We had a deluxe room with a river view. Room was very good, spacious, comfy bed and stunning view. The hotel is quite old so the bathroom was fine but not very modern. Our rate included breakfast, many don't and it is expensive so consider this when booking. Location was perfect, service always very good. Concierge sorted some excellent tickets for the ballet, what better than a fabulous grand opera house and Nutcracker at Christmas time! Would definintely return here if the price was right.

Room Tip: All Deluxe rooms came with river views, but best to still ask just in case.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JB30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the spacious and comfortable room and the beautiful view to the river. It was also nice to hear that you had the time to watch the Nutcracker ballet as well, it can always bring you in lovely Christmas mood.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I received marketing Brochure for Christmas Markets and booked Budapest without checking marklet dates as brochure stated 16th November, thinking it might be slightly warmer than December we went early, NO MARKETS (Internet says 30th November).
A phenomenal amount of pedestrian walk ways and road works are being carried out in Buda and Pest I am not convinced all works will be completed by then.

We did enjoy walking round Old Buda and New Pest despite all on going works although lots of extra walking around diversions, Sturdy Flat shoes required...
We Stayed at the Sofitel Chain Bridge Hotel, excellent Locations, House keeping for rooms had to be asked for, although we were told this should have happened daily. Restaurant and Bar Excellent food and service. Reception Lobby staff Good Overall enjoyable weekend.

Room Tip: Tourists buses excellent, hop on hop off next bus 30mins, BUY ONE DAY GET NEXT DAY FREE bus goes to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nichola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

I am terribly sorry that you could not visit the Christmas Market yet. They have just started the preparations.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I spend two nights in the hotel during a business event. Unfortunately I as a non-smoker – got the last room, because something went wrong with the registration upfront. The room smelled terrible, beds were not fixed, and power supply was not working properly … some smaller things which didn’t satisfy me. The food in the restaurant had a high standard. Breakfast was good.
Inside the lobby the hotel is really impressive. The location is good – directly on the river and close to the center.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wagnerjoerg1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. However, I am terribly sorry for the inconvenience you have experienced regarding your room.

We truly hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

fantastic location, all the staff are friendly the paris restaurant is excellent and the breakfasts are wonderfull ideal for the hop on bus and boat trip, the bedroom was overlooking the Danube and the chain bridge, and was more than comfortable all in all I would highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: room 514overlooks the danube
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and recommendation with us.

It is absolutely fantastic to hear that you had an enjoyable stay here at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our beautiful city.

Have a wonderful weekend!

Your sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The number of 5-stars hotels with a good ratio between location/services/room quality and ultimately price is limited in Budapest (perhaps as in any other place).

Nevertheless I found out that Sofitel is a such hotel, so let me give a few details:

1) Outstanding location and marvelous view from Duna-face part of the building.
2) Smooth communication with the hotel via email when a few options of accommodation were offered.
3) I took pre-paid offer with a Duna-view room on 8th floor and executive package - a perfect combination of lounge access (with complimentary coffee/tea/juices/champagne/snacks during a day and 5-8pm light dinner) as well as included into the price breakfast on the same lounge or main lobby - where we actually had all 4 our breakfasts (breakfast is pricey if taken separately).
4) A comfortable room with some useful things available (eg, coffee/tea, stereo system, umbrella, etc) as well as pleasant king size bed and well-equiped bathroom.
5) Well rated hotel restaurant Paris-Budapest is always an option for the lunch or dinner as well as their bar for late evening drink (pricey, but relevant).
6) As a small note to management: cleaning ladies don't seem tracking if guests are in the room at all and knock to the door too early (it was at 9am).

Overall it is a well maintained and solid 5-stars hotel with the flexible price policy which I'd recommend to anyone (and particularly if you tend to stay in rooms with Duna view).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rower1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for positive feedback you provided us with. We were very glad to hear that you were so very much pleased with the standard of hospitality you experienced in our hotel during your stay, especially that the executive package exceeded your expectations.

We sincerely hope to see you back at Sofitel Budapest in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#28 of 334 in Budapest
3,483 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#31 of 334 in Budapest
3,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#15 of 334 in Budapest
7,393 reviews
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#16 of 334 in Budapest
4,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#11 Business Hotel in Budapest
#11 Family Hotel in Budapest
#18 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#19 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £113 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travelbag, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing