We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Ranked #20 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the Sofitel at the end of Nov. The hotel is superb in every respect. It is modern spacious and airy.Our room was on the fifth floor and overlooked The Danube and The Chain Bridge. The view was magic especially at night when the illuminations came on.The bed was very large and possibly the most comfortable we have ever slept in.
All the staff were efficent and helpful. The breakfast buffet was excellent and left nothing out.
The swimming pool was excellent and provided a very relaxing swim at the end of our day.
The Hotel is very well located for all the local tourist attractions We experienced no downsides and had a wondeful time.

Room Tip: Make sure that you get a river view
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WWSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to provide us with your feedback. We are glad to hear that the service we have provided has met with your expectations. Your positive comments will encourage us and our colleagues to keep up the good service.

It was good to hear that you found our spacious room and the breakfast selection to your liking. We are proud of our Spa where you can relax after a long day or enjoy a massage or a beauty treatment.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Your sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,460)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,234 - 2,240 of 5,460 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

We flew in for a long weekend just before Christmas which is great in Budapest and was delighted with this hotel. It is modern but very well appointed and the rooms were comfortable, spacious and well equipped. Most have fabulous views over the Danube and Chain Bridge and so well situated for the sights of Budapest. A very good breakfast was included and the staff were all really friendly and genuinely pleased to see us.
Thoroughly recommended .

Room Tip: Ensure it overlooks the River. It is well worth it but most rooms do. There are some rooms at the b...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monksrisborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. It was nice to hear that our location, the breakfast and the spacious room exceeded your expectations.

The Christmas season is always delightful in Budapest and this year we also have special Sofitel Christmas houses in front of the hotel where you can enjoy delicious mulled wine and the famous chimney cake.

We would be very happy if we could welcome you back soon in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed 4 nights B&B in early November and got a fantastic deal. Location was main attraction as the hotel is right next to the Danube and overlooks the Chain Bridge with the castle and the Fishermans Bastion on the opposite side of the river. Voresmarty Square with its shops and tube station was only 200 metres away and tram/bus stops were all nearby. Rooms and Service were excellent as was the extensive breakfast. There was even a swimming pool, sauna and fitness suite if the weather was unkind. The concierge was especially helpful booking tables in restaurants and offering tickets to other tourist attractions. A memorable stay in a beautiful city.

Room Tip: We were offered an upgrade to a room overlooking the bridge, castle and river for 15 euro a night...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K5262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.
We were delighted to read that you had a nice stay at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge - that you were more than satisfied with our well-trained staff; especially the Concierge and that you liked the quality of our room service and the breakfast as well.

Your feedback is a great encouragement for our future work and we are pleased to pass it over to our colleagues.
Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Your sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

A very nice hotel, with great location next to the Chain Bridge. We walked to the Gellert Bath, the Castle, the Parliament and to Andrassy. The hotel is a two minut walk from the main shopping street Vaci Utca.

We had breakfast included in the rate, and the breakfast was perfect with lot of choices.
The staff were service minded and helpful. The rooms were OK. Nice rooms, but we had difficulties with the AC, it was a bit to hot at night...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hegeul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for positive feedback you provided us with. We were very glad to hear that you were so very much pleased with the standard of our hotel, the location, the quality of the breakfast and the level of hospitality you have experienced in our hotel during your stay.

We sincerely hope to see you back at Sofitel Budapest in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed in the Sofitel when away with work and really enjoyed my stay. Staff were so helpful - they literally couldn't do enough for you.
The room was clean, comfortable and had a great view of the river. On my second stay, they even moved me to a higher floor, meaning the view was better and the quality of the room was amazing.
The hotel was a good location for shopping as well, as it was right on the tram line meaning you could stay local or go further away if you wanted. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the comfortable room and view to the river, but we were especially happy, that you have mentioned the attentiveness of the staff. We are always strive to provide an excellent service to our guests, so it will serve as great encouragement to our team.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I was on a business conference and I was very impressed with the hotel. Room was impeccable with very comfy bed. Service was very good. Decor sas elegant with a hint of glitz. Breakfast was a huge spread and good enough to get up early for! We had lunch and dinner on separate occasions and was staggered that such fabulous quality food be catered en mass. I would heartily recommend

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank SophieW5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for such a wonderful comment of your experience with us at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

Your comments of our food offerings at the breakfast and restaurant will only encourage our team to continue to provide superior service for all of our guests.

I wish you a very nice Christmas ahead, and wish to welcome you back to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge once again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed at the Sofitel in September 2013 with gf and have to say what a great hotel!! , please don't be put off by the outside of the hotel as its not the best looking building!
The room we stayed in was great! Over looking the river and the chain bridge! Amazing at night when all lit up! Def pay extra for a frontal room you won't be disappointed!
Food - especially desserts (banana split!) soooo tasty but soooo expensive but just like any city hotel prices.
Hotel itself is surrounded by bars, restaurants, cafes and clothes shops so no taxi fares to think about if that's what your after :)
Love this hotel def would go back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hillsy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for such a nice review of the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge on your stay with us.
We are glad that you were fond of the location of the hotel.
I wish you a very nice Christmas ahead, and only hope that we could have the chance to welcome you back to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge once again in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 333 in Budapest
3,417 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#32 of 333 in Budapest
3,013 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#15 of 333 in Budapest
4,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#11 Family Hotel in Budapest
#11 Business Hotel in Budapest
#18 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#18 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £116 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing