We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star stay in Budapest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Ranked #26 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
wigan
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“5 star stay in Budapest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Just back from our first trip to Budapest, and really enjoyed our stay at the Sofitel. Location was perfect, within walking distance of all the main attractions, and the main christmas market. Rooms were compact, but more than adequate, with the most comfortable beds! Breakfast was superb with a fantastic selection of food, and service throughout the hotel was excellent. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aud347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for using your time to post a nice review of your stay at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

We are all very much looking forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful city once again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,478
    1,287
    267
    69
    46
See reviews for
749
2,576
243
705
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,110)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Sofitel Hotels are the best hotels we have stayed in, have travelled the world stayed at some fantastic hotels but Sofitel hotels are the best.Check in first class rooms are very good quality especially the bed,the best nights sleep ever.Excellent view.

Room Tip: Higher floors are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackgodess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to provide us such a positive feedback. We are honored to have loyal guests like you.

Our beds are part of the MyBed practice therefore our they are the same in every Sofitel which seems to greatly satisfy our guest. Granting the beds are the same, the view from our rooms are unique and remarkable.

We hope to welcome you back in Budapest in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed 3 nights to visit the Chritmas markets. This was our first time in Budapest and chose the Sofitel because of the location and price. The views from the hotel were unmatched. The hotel is right next to the Chain Bridge and Danube and had a fabulous view of the Castle from the restaurant and bar. It only took a few minutes to walk to the main square where the Christmas stalls and eating places were set up and there were many other areas within easy walking distance including an ice rink in front of the beautiful basilica. Tip - check when the markets start as they started about a week later than advertised.Our city break was made memorable by the fantastic staff at the Sofitel who were all equally helpful and friendly. We had champagne in our room on arrival because 3 of our group were celebrating a special birthday year. Breakfast was very good and relaxed and staff could not have been more helpful. The freshly cooked omelettes were delicious. We hadn't booked a river view but our rooms were very comfortable light and spacious. We ate at the restaurant on our last night and were so glad as the food was fantastic. We sat looking out at the castle which was lit up whilst we tried the hotel's wine from their own vineyard. We would not hesitate to stay at The Sofitel if we came back to beautiful Budapest.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that we were able to make your time memorable here in Budapest. Your positive feedback will reassure our commitment to provide the best service for each one of our guests.The Chef and our colleagues are pleased that you enjoyed our cuisine.

We hope that the Christmas market brought you joy and the ambience of the Christmas season.

We hope to see you back in Budapest soon.

Your sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the start of our vacation in Europe a few months ago. This hotel is one of the best hotels we stayed in during this trip. The hotel itself looks very nice, with a view of the Chain Bridge and the Danube. Our room is spacious and has a very strong WiFi signal, which is very important to us when traveling. Breakfast is also great, with a wide selection of food to choose from, special mention goes to the very delicious warm bread pudding. But the thing that we like most about this hotel is its location. You can walk everywhere. You can head to the direction of a shopping area and a good variety of restaurants and cafes. We had our fill of authentic Hungarian dishes like goulash, chicken paprika, stuffed cabbage etc. if you like to take a leisurely stroll beside the river, you just have to cross the street. A very satisfying stay, indeed!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire Sofitel team, I would sincerely like to thank you for such a wonderful review of the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. Your comments are very encouraging to all of our staff members to continue to strive for superior service.

I wish you a very nice Christmas ahead, and hope to have the chance to welcome you back to Budapest once again the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunmow, UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

My friends and I stayed there last weekend. The check in didn't start well, as a mistake had been made with our booking. However the receptionist did all she could to help, and we were offered two suites overlooking the Chain Bridge at no extra cost. Beautiful rooms.
The hotel has a lovely gym and pool, very quiet and clean.
All of the members of staff we dealt with we're very friendly and keen to please. Definitely recommended.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are glad to hear that our colleague has efficiently handled the small inconvenience at the check in. We aim for our service to be the highest quality and take pride in pleasing our guests.

It is good to hear that you were satisfied with our Spa facilities and with your suits as well. The view of the Chain Bridge is one of our treasures.

We hope to see you soon back in Budapest.

Your sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the Sofitel at the end of Nov. The hotel is superb in every respect. It is modern spacious and airy.Our room was on the fifth floor and overlooked The Danube and The Chain Bridge. The view was magic especially at night when the illuminations came on.The bed was very large and possibly the most comfortable we have ever slept in.
All the staff were efficent and helpful. The breakfast buffet was excellent and left nothing out.
The swimming pool was excellent and provided a very relaxing swim at the end of our day.
The Hotel is very well located for all the local tourist attractions We experienced no downsides and had a wondeful time.

Room Tip: Make sure that you get a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WWSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to provide us with your feedback. We are glad to hear that the service we have provided has met with your expectations. Your positive comments will encourage us and our colleagues to keep up the good service.

It was good to hear that you found our spacious room and the breakfast selection to your liking. We are proud of our Spa where you can relax after a long day or enjoy a massage or a beauty treatment.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Your sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We flew in for a long weekend just before Christmas which is great in Budapest and was delighted with this hotel. It is modern but very well appointed and the rooms were comfortable, spacious and well equipped. Most have fabulous views over the Danube and Chain Bridge and so well situated for the sights of Budapest. A very good breakfast was included and the staff were all really friendly and genuinely pleased to see us.
Thoroughly recommended .

Room Tip: Ensure it overlooks the River. It is well worth it but most rooms do. There are some rooms at the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monksrisborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. It was nice to hear that our location, the breakfast and the spacious room exceeded your expectations.

The Christmas season is always delightful in Budapest and this year we also have special Sofitel Christmas houses in front of the hotel where you can enjoy delicious mulled wine and the famous chimney cake.

We would be very happy if we could welcome you back soon in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#24 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,218 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#33 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,789 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#18 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Property: Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#11 Business Hotel in Budapest
#11 Family Hotel in Budapest
#18 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#23 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, ACCOR, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing