We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Ranked #26 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“Great Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

I stayed here for three nights in December 2013 and was impressed by several things:
1) The beds were exceptionally comfortable
2) The location was wonderful
3) The hotel restaurant was very good
4) The staff were all friendly and efficient

When I left the hotel, I received an email about an item found in my room. While the item had actually been from another room (these things happen; housekeepers have to clean lots of rooms and the occasional confusion is understandable), the staff communicating with me were especially accommodating, even sending pictures so I could ensure the item was not mine. I was very impressed with the way they handled that.

The one criticism I did have of the hotel was that the room itself was a little run down; an update or freshening of the paint and tiles would do wonders for the rooms. It wasn't bad, don't get me wrong, but it was not up to the standards of the striking lobby.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Kasandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for positive feedback you provided us with. We were very glad to hear that you were so very much pleased with our My Bed system and with the service of our restaurant you experienced in our hotel during your stay.

We sincerely hope to see you back at Sofitel Budapest in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,421
    1,273
    262
    68
    45
See reviews for
725
2,549
238
694
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,097)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Stayed here in early December on the eight floor, with access to the Business Centre & Lounge, and even the Champagne check in takes place here for Business Clients.

The level of service at this hotel, especially from the Management was exceptional, rooms are superb & the Restaraunt with food is best quality.

In fact, so impressed already booked to return on Jan 20th, can't wait, although on business, taking my wife here in the Spring.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the Danube brilliant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidwblackwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback and recommendation with us.
It is absolutely fantastic to hear that you had an enjoyable stay here at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

We will warmly welcome you back on the 20th of January.


Your sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Budapest was our second stop on a very recent European holiday and the starting point for a Viking River Cruise along the Danube to Passau in Germany. Budapest was never on my husband's or my bucket list of places to visit however as fate would have it we did and we were not disappointed. This charming city is an eclectic mix of old and new where supermarkets play second fiddle to fresh markets selling anything your heart might desire. We had the pleasure of staying at Sofitel Chain Bridge for 3 nights in a Danube view room with breakfast included and we were thrilled with our choice. The room itself was large as was the dreamy kingsize bed. Great ensuite with LanVin products and a very large bay window to soak in the view over the Danube to the Palace and St Matthias on the far bank. Due to a flight diversion we arrived at the hotel at 4.30am. We were travel weary and very disorientated, having been bussed from Vienna Airport in the thickest fog we'd ever seen and dumped in the middle of Buda to look for our own taxi!!! ! ( We originally had airport transfers which we lost when we were diverted to Vienna) So we were not looking too sharp. However, before we even had our luggage out of the taxi a concierge was beside us guiding us to the front desk where everything was awaiting our arrival Thanks goes to our son for alerting them to our flight diversion. Our luggage was delivered to our suite in record time and with out a lie we were both nodding off in a blissfully comfortable bed by 4.45am. Big ticks for everything this hotel has to offer from the cleanliness of the facilities, the friendliness of the staff and the choice of breakfast treats. 5 star all the way.

Room Tip: Go for a Danube View Room. A little extra cost but worth it if you like sunshine to pour in to you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gAzntOnsO83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.
We were delighted to read that you had a nice stay at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge - that you were more than satisfied with our well-trained staff; especially the Concierge and that you liked the quality of your bed.

Your feedback is a great encouragement for our future work and we are pleased to pass it over to our colleagues.
Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Your sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

It is our honeymoon stay. Before our trip, we carefully selected hotels based on the helpful feedback by other travelers, location and reputation. We stayed in a Sofitel in Berlin about 6 years ago, and we were happy then and we were confident with Sofitel. As I write, I am still staying here.

Now I tell you about the positives and some negatives.

Positives:
1. As we arrived to our room, we received a bottle of champagne to congratulate us on our honeymoon. This was a very nice gesture and we were happy as we were made to feel special.

2. Cleaning team do a good job of the room every day. We have stayed in many amazing hotels, and we are certainly happy with the standard as you know cleanliness is one of the most important things

3. Breakfast selection and breakfast staff are good here, I am a picky person due to dietary problems but I can eat here. Staff are hardworking here, and you never have to wait for long before someone offers you a drink or picks up your empty plates


Negatives:
1. I rarely write reviews when I am on holiday, but I cannot sleep. We have booked here for 8 nights, and at first I thought it was my fault, so I just tried to sleep again, but couldn't. I then realized it was the noise of some mechanical things thar keeps me up every night. I don't know if it is just my room or if it is some sort of a service lift for the staff, but I cannot sleep , which is a serious problem.

2. The sofa in the room is so soft (perhaps too old?) that when you sit nit you sink right at the bottom and you can feel the wood of the fabric sofa. It means we cannot use one of the features in the room.


As you can see, lots of positives, but I cannot sleep due to noise. :-(((((

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to leave us a feedback. However I was very concered to read that your experiences regarding the room was not entire pleasant and I would like to sincerely apologise for any inconveniences caused. Your remarks are especially valuable for us in a continuous effort to provide better service quality.

I have forwarded your comments to the Head of department of our maintenance in order to ensure that we will investigate the cause of the noise.

I hope to have the chance to welcome you again in our hotel, and it would be my pleasure to assist you with your future booking.

Your sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

We decided to stay in the Sofitel whilst visiting the Christmas market abs we were really happy we did. Firstly, the location is everything you are smack bang in the middle of everywhere you could possibly want to visit. We took advantage of using the free pool and sauna on the first day after shopping where the staff were very attentive at all times but not over bearing which is pleasant for a 5 star, of which this hotel certainly is 5 star of course even down to the breakfast. They add the little touches which a lot of major chains seen to forget these days.
The fisherman bastion is a must see for some fabulous views over Budapest with a lovely little restaurant that serves a good mulled wine, you can but bus tickets from business services in the hotel. My most important tip is too be careful purchasing cooked food from the markets they sell by weight and we were slightly taken aback when a plate of sausage and potato set us back £20 each.....but Saying that we loved Budapest and would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmaian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.
We were delighted to read that you had a nice stay at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge - that you were more than satisfied with our well-trained attentive staff and our location.

Your feedback is a great encouragement for our future work and we are pleased to pass it over to our colleagues.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Your sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Absolutely first class in every respect. Oh, those beds: they would have to be the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in. We cannot fault the hotel. I learnt how to prepare a great omelet by closely watching the young lady as she went about her business of preparing various egg dishes!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Excellent Hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. Good restaurant and wine selection. Good location with most attractions within walking distance. Good view of the Chain Bridge from the hotel restaurant and an easy walk to the Buda side over the bridge. An enjoyable long weekend stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for positive feedback you provided us with. We were very glad to hear that you were so very much pleased with the friendly and helpful staff, the good restaurant and the wine selection you have tried in our hotel during your stay.

We sincerely hope to see you back at Sofitel Budapest in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#22 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,178 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#33 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,753 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Property: Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#11 Business Hotel in Budapest
#11 Family Hotel in Budapest
#18 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#23 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda, ACCOR, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing