We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional Place to Stay!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Ranked #26 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Exceptional Place to Stay!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

The location is excellent. We were able to walk almost anywhere we wanted to go and the public transit stop within a 5 minute stroll.
Our room wasn't quite ready upon arrival so they set us up with wine in the Paris Budapest Bar so we could relax. A fantastic start to a pleasant 3 night stay.
And the view! You really cannot beat the view of the Chain Bridge and the Buda Castle lit up at night over the Danube. Whether through the bar over a glass of wine or my very own hotel room window, I did not tire of this.
The breakfast was by far the best continental breakfast we had our entire trip (out of 5 hotels) with a huge selection and even mimosas one morning.
The staff was extremely helpful and even helped us secure a dinner reservation at a busy restaurant we were dying to try (and probably wouldn't have gotten into had it not been for their call)
Overall, a great stay. Free wifi, SPA, spotless rooms, comfortable beds.

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the Buda Castle and Chain Bridge. You'll be happy you did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback and recommendation with us.
It is absolutely fantastic to hear that you had an enjoyable stay here at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and you were more than satisfied with our well-trained staff; especially the Concierge and that you liked our breakfast selection as well.

Your feedback is a great encouragement for our future work and we are pleased to pass it over to our colleagues.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our beautiful city.

Have a wonderful week ahead!

Your sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,066 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,418
    1,273
    262
    68
    45
See reviews for
725
2,547
238
693
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,097)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We booked a room with a "City View" on Expedia. When we arrived at the hotel, after an overnight international flight, we were given a room on the 6th floor that had a very little window that was placed so high, I could not see out of it. There was no view except the back of another hotel. The bellman went downstairs to see if there was another room. There was, one with a river view, but of course it had a much higher price .
The rooms were very hot and stuffy and it was too noisy to open the window. The A/C could not be turned on and having a heavy duvet made it hard to sleep. There were no plugs to use a hair dryer or curling iron by a mirror. The "man" type hair dryer found in the bathroom was difficult to use as you had to hold the button down the entire time it was on. Ladies, beware!
The hotel has a great location. Just do not allow them to put you in a room on the 6th floor.

Room Tip: Do not take a room on the 6th floor. "City view" does not necessarily mean you will have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank californiaheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge as well as for the taking the time to tell us about your experiences. However I was very concerned to read that your experiences regarding the room did not meet your expectations and I would like to sincerely appologise for any inconveniences caused. Your remarks are especially valuable for us in a continuous effort to provide better service quality.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. For this reason we will take high attention to prepare your stay according to your personal preferences.


Your sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard QLD Aus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Room, bed, staff, breakfast and position all excellent. The staff were most attentive and really went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and well looked after. Thank you Sofitel Chain Bridge for making our stay in Budapest so enjoyable. I will recommend you most highly and hope to be back.

Room Tip: The tram runs right out front of the hotel and is very convenient particularly for the central marke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.
We were delighted to read that you had a nice stay at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge - that you were more than satisfied with our well-trained staff and that you liked the selection of the buffet breakfast.

Your feedback is a great encouragement for our future work and we are pleased to pass it over to our colleagues.
Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Your sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
332 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

The location is very good, close to the Vaci Utca, metro station 5 min walking distance, tram station in front of the note. Breakfast is excellent, the room is big and equipped, the bed is so soft ,free wifi , free SPA. So what else we need? Forgot the service, excellent, so polite and kinds. This is a big recommendation for this hotel.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank peretzb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. It was nice to hear that our location, the free Wi-Fi and the spa area exceeded your expectations.

We would be very happy if we could welcome you back soon in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed one night Dec 3rd before boarding our AmaWaterways River Cruise. I wish I had booked 2 nights there. A very modern hotel with wonderful comfortable beds and spotless rooms. The concierge desk was very helpful with our questions about attractions close by. The breakfast the next morning was a wonderful buffet that had everything you could want. Nice view of the river and chain bridge where we walked over and went up the vehicular to view the palace. At night we went to the Christmas market at St. Stephen's square and that was wonderful. Had our first taste of Gluhwein (hot mulled wine)..wonderful. We needed that to warm up. Had great red cabbage and sausage outside at the market. They did a laser show about the nativity on the Cathedral and that was a wonderful experience. Would definitely go back to Budapest.

Room Tip: Try to get a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lsellars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time in Budapest before Christmas time.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge you really have to see it in the summer as well.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#22 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,176 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#33 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,751 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Property: Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#11 Business Hotel in Budapest
#11 Family Hotel in Budapest
#18 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#23 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, ACCOR, Southall Travel, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing