We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you would expect from Sofitel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Ranked #21 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The hotel is in a very central location on the Pest side of the city and easy to reach when coming by car, it took us only 10-15 minutes after getting off the M7 highway from Slovenia.
Just a couple minutes' walk to the subway station and the 8th district.
"Classic" rooms are not very spacious but still livable, we were offered a 30 euro/night upgrade to a luxury w/ river view. The halls and the rooms were spotless every day and the breakfast buffet has lots of things to choose from.
Garage is sort of expensive (between 25 and 30 euros per day) so my advice is to use StarPark instead.

Room Tip: The higher floor the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asgzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback and recommendation with us.
It is absolutely fantastic to hear that you had an enjoyable stay here at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our beautiful city.

Have a wonderful week ahead!

Your sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,203 - 2,209 of 5,493 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

Would highly recommend. Room clean spacious and comfortable. Breakkfast was excellent. Staff friendly. Great location. We could walk everywhere. Emee staff mgr extremely helpful and friendly. Exceptional value for money.

Room Tip: Stayed on 7th fl. Overlooking rooftop and glimpse of St stevens church
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dz5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and your recommendation. We are glad to hear that you have had a pleasant stay at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. It is nice to hear that the hotel equipment and the friendliness of our colleagues have met your expectation.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The location is excellent. We were able to walk almost anywhere we wanted to go and the public transit stop within a 5 minute stroll.
Our room wasn't quite ready upon arrival so they set us up with wine in the Paris Budapest Bar so we could relax. A fantastic start to a pleasant 3 night stay.
And the view! You really cannot beat the view of the Chain Bridge and the Buda Castle lit up at night over the Danube. Whether through the bar over a glass of wine or my very own hotel room window, I did not tire of this.
The breakfast was by far the best continental breakfast we had our entire trip (out of 5 hotels) with a huge selection and even mimosas one morning.
The staff was extremely helpful and even helped us secure a dinner reservation at a busy restaurant we were dying to try (and probably wouldn't have gotten into had it not been for their call)
Overall, a great stay. Free wifi, SPA, spotless rooms, comfortable beds.

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the Buda Castle and Chain Bridge. You'll be happy you did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback and recommendation with us.
It is absolutely fantastic to hear that you had an enjoyable stay here at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and you were more than satisfied with our well-trained staff; especially the Concierge and that you liked our breakfast selection as well.

Your feedback is a great encouragement for our future work and we are pleased to pass it over to our colleagues.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our beautiful city.

Have a wonderful week ahead!

Your sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We booked a room with a "City View" on Expedia. When we arrived at the hotel, after an overnight international flight, we were given a room on the 6th floor that had a very little window that was placed so high, I could not see out of it. There was no view except the back of another hotel. The bellman went downstairs to see if there was another room. There was, one with a river view, but of course it had a much higher price .
The rooms were very hot and stuffy and it was too noisy to open the window. The A/C could not be turned on and having a heavy duvet made it hard to sleep. There were no plugs to use a hair dryer or curling iron by a mirror. The "man" type hair dryer found in the bathroom was difficult to use as you had to hold the button down the entire time it was on. Ladies, beware!
The hotel has a great location. Just do not allow them to put you in a room on the 6th floor.

Room Tip: Do not take a room on the 6th floor. "City view" does not necessarily mean you will have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank californiaheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge as well as for the taking the time to tell us about your experiences. However I was very concerned to read that your experiences regarding the room did not meet your expectations and I would like to sincerely appologise for any inconveniences caused. Your remarks are especially valuable for us in a continuous effort to provide better service quality.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. For this reason we will take high attention to prepare your stay according to your personal preferences.


Your sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Room, bed, staff, breakfast and position all excellent. The staff were most attentive and really went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and well looked after. Thank you Sofitel Chain Bridge for making our stay in Budapest so enjoyable. I will recommend you most highly and hope to be back.

Room Tip: The tram runs right out front of the hotel and is very convenient particularly for the central marke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.
We were delighted to read that you had a nice stay at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge - that you were more than satisfied with our well-trained staff and that you liked the selection of the buffet breakfast.

Your feedback is a great encouragement for our future work and we are pleased to pass it over to our colleagues.
Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Your sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The location is very good, close to the Vaci Utca, metro station 5 min walking distance, tram station in front of the note. Breakfast is excellent, the room is big and equipped, the bed is so soft ,free wifi , free SPA. So what else we need? Forgot the service, excellent, so polite and kinds. This is a big recommendation for this hotel.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank peretzb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. It was nice to hear that our location, the free Wi-Fi and the spa area exceeded your expectations.

We would be very happy if we could welcome you back soon in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Claudio B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 334 in Budapest
3,440 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#31 of 334 in Budapest
3,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#16 of 334 in Budapest
388 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#11 Family Hotel in Budapest
#11 Business Hotel in Budapest
#18 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#19 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £115 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, ACCOR, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing