We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay, service and food!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Ranked #21 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the Sofitel for five nights. I reserved a river view room and the view certainly didn't disappoint. It was gorgeous! The chain bridge was in plain site and was very inviting. The bed was so soft it felt like sleeping on a cloud. The bathroom was an average size but had all of the amenities you would want including a hand held shower. I prepaid for a breakfast buffet not knowing what to expect. This buffet is incredible! Guests can enjoy an omelette station, pancakes, various meats and cheeses, fresh fruits, smoked meats, bread puddings, bread station and more! The wait staff are incredibly attentive and the choices are so broad that you can eat a different meal every day. The concierge staff were very helpful when planning day trips and directions. The business office printed our plane tickets and also sold metro station tickets.

This Sofitel is close to Vorosmarty Square. If you are visiting at Christmastime, it's a great location and within walking distance to the main Christmas market. It's a 10-minute walk from shopping, Hard Rock Cafe, clubs, a casino and fantastic restaurants. It's also close to the metro and streetcar locations. Should you need a pharmacy, it's right across the street from the Sofitel, and, an ATM is right around the corner.

This Sofitel does have a spa but my husband and I opted for visits to the local thermal baths instead. If you choose to visit local thermal baths, stop by the Sofitel spa to get towels and take the robes from your hotel room. It will save you from renting these items at the thermal baths.

I thoroughly enjoyed my time at the Sofitel and would stay again if visiting Budapest.

Room Tip: I would recommend prepaying for your breakfast. It's one less thing to worry about and the brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBowerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. It was nice to hear that our location, the breakfast selection and the our MyBed exceeded your expectations.

We would be very happy if we could welcome you back soon in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard

General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,198 - 2,204 of 5,493 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel for three nights at early September 2013.

Pros:
* Good location to walk to all the tourist sites
* Impressive lobby
* Large buffet for breakfast which runs until 11am for late-wakers

Cons:
* The exterior of the building is non-descript when compared to the surrounding histiorical buildings.
* The rooms feel a little dated, could be updated.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidLau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It is nice to hear that our location and the buffet selection at the breakfast has met your expectations. We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We did not stay in the hotel, just popped in for a drink in the bar. Had (2!) Gangsman Style The friendly and knowledgeable sommelier (Zoltan Toth, we made a point of remembering his name) gave us not just advice but after a chat encouraged us to stay and have our meal in the restaurant. I usually avoid hotel restaurants if I can, but on this occasion this was a very good choice. Inventive modern food, well presented, lovely meal. Again, the staff was amazing. It was not the all too common, uninterested, "is everything alright with your meal?" but genuine friendly help with the choice, we felt properly looked after.

We had a Snail mille feuille, and Belly pork starters, Honey chicken and White tuna main courses.

For white wine, ask for their own Ries-Link - a very quaffable cuvee. Try the St Andrea Aldas as your red wine choice, it will not disappoint.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aakem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time with us at the Paris Budapest Reastaurant and Bar. And we are extremely proud to hear that Zoltan, our Bar Manager, as well as our team in the Restaurant exceeded your expectations. We are also very pleased to forward your praises regarding the food to our Executive Chef and his team. Thank you so much for visiting with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Your sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Absolutely wonderful! Our flight was delayed out of Frankfurt by eight hours. Arrived late but the staff cheerful and helpful. We arrived so late that the restaurant had no open tables. After hearing our story, the restaurant manager, Timea Zavecs, set up a table and assisted in serving us. The meal was absolutely delicious. We ate there often during our stay because of the wonderful food and staff. Especially Ms Zavecs. Our room was clean, spacious, , comfortable, and elegant. In all my years of travel, I never saw a breakfast buffet of the magnitude that the Sofitel put out. Anything that you could think of was available. We plan on going back. It is a one of a kind experience!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. I am terribly sorry that your journey took so long because of the delays. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our services, especially the friendliness of our restaurant Ambassadors. It was also very nice to read that the room and the variety of the breakfast exceeded your expectations.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Perfect location, great staff very nice and helpful, great room. Overall one of my best experience into an hotel if not the best (i am frequent traveller).
You should go there in Budapest or you must go there !

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank LAURENT P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very very happy to know that our services exceeded your expectations. As you are frequent traveller it means a lot for us.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back soon for your next stay in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The hotel is in a very central location on the Pest side of the city and easy to reach when coming by car, it took us only 10-15 minutes after getting off the M7 highway from Slovenia.
Just a couple minutes' walk to the subway station and the 8th district.
"Classic" rooms are not very spacious but still livable, we were offered a 30 euro/night upgrade to a luxury w/ river view. The halls and the rooms were spotless every day and the breakfast buffet has lots of things to choose from.
Garage is sort of expensive (between 25 and 30 euros per day) so my advice is to use StarPark instead.

Room Tip: The higher floor the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asgzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback and recommendation with us.
It is absolutely fantastic to hear that you had an enjoyable stay here at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our beautiful city.

Have a wonderful week ahead!

Your sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Would highly recommend. Room clean spacious and comfortable. Breakkfast was excellent. Staff friendly. Great location. We could walk everywhere. Emee staff mgr extremely helpful and friendly. Exceptional value for money.

Room Tip: Stayed on 7th fl. Overlooking rooftop and glimpse of St stevens church
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dz5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and your recommendation. We are glad to hear that you have had a pleasant stay at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. It is nice to hear that the hotel equipment and the friendliness of our colleagues have met your expectation.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 334 in Budapest
3,440 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#31 of 334 in Budapest
3,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#16 of 334 in Budapest
388 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#11 Business Hotel in Budapest
#11 Family Hotel in Budapest
#18 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#19 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £115 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Agoda, ACCOR, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing