We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable location, but rooms are tired.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Ranked #21 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I stayed for 4 nights at the Sofitel and I was pleased with my choice. I am a Sofitel fan and that's my first choice when I travel. So I can say that it is not the best. In fact, it is the one I liked the least.
While the location is unbeatable and breakfast was standard (in a good sense), the amenities are first class (Hermes) the rooms are tired.
Change the carpets and the shades, do away with the furniture. Then it'll be a 5 star.
As I could see in another review, the rooms are too warm, and my companion and I had to sleep with the windows open while the temperature outside was 5 degrees centigrade.
Another complaint is the bathroom. There's no separate shower (unlike all other Sofitels I stayed in), and the tub is extremely high. It is quite dangerous climbing out of it, after a soapy shower.
If there is a next time in Budapest, I will certainly stay at Sofitel, but I would choose a room with a shower.

Room Tip: A room facing the bridge, and with a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macktheknifeBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback provided to us about your stay. We are concerned to hear about your inconvenience regarding the room. Unfortunately as the weather is changing we are trying to reach the most comfortable temperature in the hotel, however it takes time to set properly and we will take serious steps to check the showertub as well.
Apart from that I hope you enjoyed your stay and we can welcome you back again soon!

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,146 - 2,152 of 5,500 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2014

Our stay in the Sofitel was excellent. Comfortable bed, fantastic location that was central to everything we wanted to see. Only complain was that the room was a little too warm, though it would not stop us from staying here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a river side room for fantastic views across the Danube to Budapest Castle and Ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sassenach-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you have experienced great service and you have enjoyed our my MyBed which is unique in all Sofitel hotels.

I was really concerned about your remark of the room temperature. I forwarded your notice to Maintenance Manager who will investigate the issue.
Please rest assured we will do our very best to avoid this situation in the future.

We hope to welcome you back in Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
São Paulo
381122
Reviewed 13 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank mipl
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Geert V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The most relaxing stay from start to finish.
Great hotel in the best location right next to chain bridge and within walking distance of all attractions.
Breakfast a little steep but great selections of foods would definitely return.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank 153hayleya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive review of the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. We are contented to hear that you were satisfied with the location of the hotel and also with the selection of the breakfast we served to you.

We sincerely hope to see you back at Sofitel Budapest in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

hotel was great, good staff,, great entertainment, went for a stag, brilliant

the only down side was breakfast was very exspensive, don't get much for the bed

bedrooms are very clean, great entertainment in the room,

recommend!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sexyav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments about your stay with us. We were very glad to hear that you were so much pleased with the work of the staff and also with the cleanliness of the bathroom. We are always on to make your experiences as pleasant as it can be, so we appreciate much your review.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 334 in Budapest
3,443 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#31 of 334 in Budapest
3,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#15 of 334 in Budapest
390 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#11 Family Hotel in Budapest
#11 Business Hotel in Budapest
#18 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#19 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £116 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travelbag, Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing