We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property, poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Ranked #23 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great property, poor service”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

stayed here last june for 3 nights...great property and location but service was very poor.
Long ques at breakfast and check in quite painful. could be just me but i found it a little lacking. the rooms are great and the wifi was free and fast. Location is good, the casino is not the best but all in all a good stay but could do a little better

Room Tip: river facing rooms the best. also some rooms can be quite far from the elevator so ask for one close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rikhav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion about the hotel. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay here at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with our rooms and with the location of the hotel as well.

Please, allow me to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during the breakfast and the check-in. At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Once again thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us, and it is our hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,527
    1,301
    269
    70
    46
See reviews for
760
2,612
243
715
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,123)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We chose the Sofitel Chain bridge to celebrate my husband's 70th birthday purely because of the position on the Danube. To say that the hotel and most especially the staff on the Executive floor exceeded our expectations is an understatement. We were greeted on arrival by a Guest Relations representative who took us immediately to the Club Lounge and offered us champagne. The ladies in the Club lounge took care of us whilst we sat and took in the panoramic view from the 8th floor lounge. Gabriella and Kinga could not have been more friendly, helpful, professional and caring. They recommended and arranged restaurant reservations in fantastic restaurants within walking distance of the hotel and gave us all the information that we needed to make our visit to the city enjoyable. The view from our room was spectacular taking in the full majesty of the Chain Bridge, Castle and Parliament building in the distance. We were blown away ! On the morning of my husband's birthday they made a huge fuss of him and brought him a cake with a candle and sang Happy Birthday !!! The Guest Relations staff could not have made us feel more special. We are fortunate enough to have stayed in some of the World's finest hotels due to my husband's job in aviation and we can say quite honestly that this hotel provides exceptional service, location and that certain something that it's difficult to quantify. Gabriella, Kinga, Sztella & Emoke are a credit to this hotel. They went that extra mile to make our stay memorable and my husband will never forget his 70th birthday.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and chose a Luxury Club room with a Danube view. It's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Atilla-the-Hen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very grateful about your positive feedback regarding your stay in Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge especially about your satisfaction that you felt due to the staff. Your review will be a great encouragement to them to continue providing such exceptional services.
We do hope that this stay will accompany you and you will keep your pleasant memories in the future. We wish all the best and look forward to welcome you back again!

Yours sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

One of the best hotels we ever stayed. View from the room was amazing, breakfast excellent, stuff of the hotel gave us the feeling that the were doing much more than expected from us. Emmy and Xenia made our stay unforgetable and it was on a time we realy need to do something nice for ourselves.
Sofitel is one of the reasons we will visit Budapest again for a small holiday city break.

Room Tip: It worths to pay extra for Dunabe view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilatravel1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and for providing us such a lovely feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your time in Budapest and you were more than satisfied with the service and standards of our hotel.

We would like to welcome you back for your next stay in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Was torn between the Four Seasons and Sofitel when booking for 4 nights in late March. We've stayed in both in other cities but this was our first trip to Budapest.

Even though we knew the Four Seasons would be top shelf, we chose the Sofitel here for the simple reason we could get a two room suite on the club level for less than the standard room at the Four Seasons.

When we arrived at the Sofitel, the outside is not impressive but we knew that from photos. The interior and lobby are very nice.

And to our delight, the suite was amazing! Two nice size rooms with 4 huge bay windows that wrapped around the corner of the building. We had a great view of the Chain Bridge. Everything about the room was first class from the coffee makers to the bathroom.

And the service was outstanding. I highly suggest the club level if you can do it. The service was five star from the moment we arrived.

We did get to eat twice at the Four Seasons and its a gorgeous property, but if you want luxury AND value together, I highly recommend this property.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank stanj98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to provide us such a positive feedback. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and our standards and the politeness of our colleagues have met your expectations. Thank you for your recommendation and please allow me to share your review with my colleagues and the management team as an encouragement to maintain the excellent service.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We visit Sofitel last February,

+ Location, Nice lobby and restaurant, friendly staff, generally clean rooms,
Nice river view rooms


- The rooms are looking very old - no modern, the breakfast is too expensive!

But I can totally recommend this hotel for a trip in Budapest

Room Tip: upper floor rooms, River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalieprg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. We are glad to hear that you have had a nice holiday in Budapest and enjoyed the services of our hotel.

We also do appreciate your feedback about what we could improve in the future, your opinion is really important to us and I am going to forward your words to our Management team.

We hope to welcome you back to Budapest in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We have just returned from a lovely stay at the Sofitel Hotel and would definitely recommend it. . From the moment we arrived at the hotel to the second we left the staff were amazing! They were very friendly, helpful and attentive. We stayed a total of 5 nights. When we arrived our room was one with a city view not a river view. However as we were in Budapest for a special occasion we asked the reception staff for an upgrade to a river view room for the last two nights of our stay which they arranged for us. We had to pay an extra 30€ per night but it was worth it! They even arranged for our bags to be moved to our new room while we were out for the day.

The hotel is in a fantastic location. right beside the river at the Chain bridge. It is in walking distance of most of the tourist attractions and lovely bars and restaurants. We used the airport shuttle to get to and from the airport to the hotel (which I would also recommend). The reception staff arranged for the shuttle bus to pick us up from the hotel on the way back to the airport too.

The only thing I could fault the hotel about is the bed in the room we were upgraded to - it was massive - it was actually two beds pushed together which left a gap in the middle. there was also two separate duvets on the bed. Considering this was supposed to be a luxury room the bed in the first room we stayed in was much nicer.

Overall we had a wonderful stay at Sofitel Budapest. Well done to all the staff there. They make the hotel what it is!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovemycamera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us such a positive review of the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.
We are delighted to hear that you were contented with your beautiful view and with the outstanding view from there..
Your positive review about our attentive Reception staff will encourage all of them to continue offering magnifique services.
We were happy to hear that the excellent location of the hotel has met your expectations as well.
Let me apologize because of the inconveniences we caused you. I hope next time everything will be arranged for your highest expectations.

We hope to welcome you back and we remain at your kind disposal should you wish to have further assistance.

Yours sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2014

1. I paid our room during check-in in cash. But hotel blocked full sum for room in my card. Sum don't unblock before now.
2. Location is very good, view is very beautiful from window.
3. Breakfast is variousvarious

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Angelina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us a feedback of your stay at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

I was very concerned to hear that you have experienced some inconveniences during the check in. Please rest assured that we are going to investigate the issue and going to take serious steps to prevent this kind of hindrances in the future.

We hope to welcome you back and we remain at your kind disposal should you wish to have further assistance.

Yours sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#25 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,249 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#6 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#32 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,841 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#18 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Property: Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#11 Business Hotel in Budapest
#11 Family Hotel in Budapest
#18 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#20 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing