We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location - wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Ranked #21 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is a lovely hotel with most rooms having a view of Danube. Suite rooms have complimentary Executive Lounge, hosts and WiFi as useful extras, which when you clock up the potential extra costs represent good value. The location is beautiful and very central. I cant compliment the staff enough they are wonderful - a true asset. Housekeeping could be fractionally better and the TV in one room did not work, hence the 4 rating otherwise it would be 5. Great breakfast too!

Room Tip: If you are holidaying, make sure you get a room with river view. Most do have this but I understand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review of Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. We are content to read that you were satisfied with the building and the equipment of the hotel as well as the attitude of our colleagues.

Your feedback holds a great importance for us therefore I would like to thank you for sharing your review about what we can improve in the future. Please rest assured that we will take the necessary steps to improve in those areas you have mentioned.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,059 - 2,065 of 5,502 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

My husband and I are spending our last night in Budapest (four night stay) in the Sofitel, Chain Bridge. The hotel has been perfect. The hotel itself is clean and very well appointed, free and reliable wifi and very helpful staff. The location could not be better to the point where we have chosen to buy a bottle of wine and some cheese and crackers from the local deli and had dinner in our room enjoying the beautiful view of the Danube (see photo).
It is close to all major locations - historical, shopping, eating, walking. Beds and pillows are great and I have had the best sleep of the trip.
I would highly recommend the hotel for location, comfort and value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms from 16 to about 28 should have a river view. Check first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToniOstwald-Brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review of the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. We are pleased to hear that you were mesmerized by the view from your window and that it made a perfect scenery for a romantic dinner in your room.

Furthermore we are content to read that the location of the hotel made your time discovering the city much more easier.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This is a great riverfront locale with top notch service. The breakfast and views from windows in dining room are wonderful. The hotel is walking distance to many eateries and shops. It really felt like a luxurious experience. Its a happening spot with a vibrant outdoor patio area for cocktails and people watching. I would stay here again- no doubt.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrzSHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for kind words and for providing us such a nice feedback from your time at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.
All we strive is your comfort and well-being for this reason we are pleased to read that the attitude of our colleagues and the location succeeded your expectations.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We recently stayed at the Sofitel for three nights prior to an AMA Danube River cruise. The rate included an excellent buffet breakfast as well as the fabulous Executive Club. The Club and our room had a wonderful view of the Chain Bridge that will remain in our memories for years to come. The staff, including the concierge, could not have been more helpful. We appreciated their guidance on entertainment options as well as dinner reservations. The Sofitel was one of our many highlights of our visit to amazing Budapest!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HomieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review of Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. We are more than delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay in Budapest and named our hotel as one of the highlights of your journey.

Our most important priority is your satisfaction, therefore we are glad to know that you have found our colleagues attentative and friendly and they made your journey easy and pleasant.

We hope to welcome you back soon to Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely big room, good temperature control, super pillows and a great location in the heart of everything. Didn't eat at the hotel (so many wonderful restaurants to enjoy in Budapest) but the outside terrace served lovely cocktails. Would recommend.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Connells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. We are pleased to know that the location of the hotel was just perfect for your plans and made your trip more comfortable.
Furthermore we are delighted to know that you have enjoyed the cocktails in the Paris Budapest Bar. Our colleagues at the bar are highly skilled and some of the cocktails are their own creation thus unique not only to the Sofitel Budapest but Budapest as well.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Budapest in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed overnight at the Sofitel Chain Bridge the night before our AMA Waterways River Cruise - it was booked for our group by our Travel Agent and AMA -- breakfast was included. We arrived late due to a flight problem, but the hotel staff was very attentive and helpful to all of us even at the late hour. Breakfast in the morning was wonderful. I would recommend this property without a second thought.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Chain Bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JACKSGIRL47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and recommendation. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.
We always on to provide the highest level of service therefore to be able to read that our colleagues were attentive and helpful after your long journey is the greatest compliment for our team and our hotel.

It was our pleasure to be the first station of your amazing cruise journey. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Although we arrived early morning at the train station, Sofitel welcomed us up to the executive lounge for sign-in and breakfast! By noon or so the room was ready, but to our surprise, the accommodation had been upgraded - complimentary!! (because they felt bad we had to wait on a room when check-in time is clearly stated as early afternoon!) Amazing view of the Danube, plenty of room in the suite, pants-presser!!, yummy room service...but above all: the staff - friendly consummate professionals.

Room Tip: A no-brainer: Reserve a room with "river view" - you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for positive feedback you provided us with.
We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and the amazing view from your beautiful room has met your expectations.
Furthermore, we are happy to read that you have been satisfied with the outstanding work of the staff, it will be a great encouragement for all the Sofitel Ambassadors to continue to provide the excellent service.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 334 in Budapest
3,443 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#31 of 334 in Budapest
3,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#15 of 334 in Budapest
393 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#11 Business Hotel in Budapest
#11 Family Hotel in Budapest
#18 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#19 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £116 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Travelbag, Agoda, Southall Travel, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing